Cloud AV: The Good and the Bad

A few moments ago I read about a post asking the good and the bad of cloud based av’s (the thread was of a different subject so I posted a new one instead just to avoid post poisoning[?] :a0 ). I’m no expert, but here’s what I think: The use of cloud computing technology to further antivirus softwares did catch my attention. But it also raised a few concerns especially after I tried out Panda Cloud AV and Immunet Protect.

The Good:
The good news is, there’s no need to go through the labor of having to update. Yes, they offer automatic updates, but this can be taxing for older computers. Signatures, not to mention, take up considerable space as well and take quite a while before a signature for a new virus is made.

Secondly, incorporating the cloud technology and the community-based strategy has a great potential which allows faster and more efficient detection and protection from zero-day viruses.

The Bad:
You’re pretty much ■■■■■■■ when you lose Internet connection and an infected medium (i.e USB, CD, diskettes) is connected to the computer.

If a new virus comes out undetected and cripples the network, well, here comes hell. It’s only good for prevention but it’s still too early to say it is the best.

Anything else you’d like to add?

All is about in how fast you can receive an information from the cloud.
It’s promised on access scanning, but, indeed it depends on uploading, checking, running it to analyze, etc.
Seems all it’s about on how do you manage that in my opinion.

you forgot that a cloud av haves a higher rate for stopping viruses