CIS won't do software or virus database updates

I have been using CIS on two machines at home for many months without problems and my daughter uses it successfully on a laptop away at university. ;D :-TU

I recommended CIS to my brother-in-law and sister-in-law and they installed 3.13.126709.581 on a desktop and a laptop both running Vista. The laptop works without problems but the desktop has never sucessfully downloaded the up-to-date virus database and gets an error 106 when checking for a software update. :-TD

I have just spent most of the afternoon with my in-laws trying to resolve the problem. I downloaded 3.14.130099.587 manually and installed it after un-installing the previous version. However, still no updates on their desktop PC.

Please can anyone suggest how this problem might be diagnosed and resolved. ???

Thanks

Can you post screenshots of the Global Rules and Firewall logs of the desktop computer?

When trying to do a clean install consider this clean up tool. Run it after uninstalling and subsequent reboot.

I will get my sister-in-law to do the necessary screenshots.

Please can you confirm the commands in CIS to display the screens you are requesting.

Are you recommending we un-install CIS, use the clean-up tool and re-install regardless of what you might detect from the screenshots?

Thanks for your help. :-TU

I gave the uninstall instructions just in case you wanted to try a clean installation. Let’s wait for the screenshots first.

Sorry but I need instructions for how to get to the screens you want to see. :-[

Thanks

No problem.

For the firewall logs go to Firewall → Common Tasks → View Firewall Events.
For the Defense + logs go to Defense + → Common Tasks → View Defense + Events.

How to post a screenshot?