CIS 6 blocking ssh for vmware server and bridged networking

I’m a web developer and have been using Comodo Internet Security since version 2. Seeing I’m home for a while, I decided to continue work from my office at home so I installed VMWARE Server, installed Ubuntu 12.02 32 bit server to continue my projects. Connection via bridged networking to the Internet is fine. I can ping the IP address and get successful results both from the Windows 7 host machine to the Linux vm and vice versa. But that’s it. Using Putty or mobaxterm to connect to the webserver in the vm and I get a connection time out. FTP to the server does not work as well.

I said, ok, no problem, just create some application rules and get it done with. Sorry, despite setting up the correct settings, I can’t connect. So, I figured it must be Vmware not playing nice over the wireless connection and so I spent over 8 hours researching online only to get no where. So, I opted to disable the firewall for 15 mins and to my surprised, everything went perfect. FTP, Putty via ssh works superbly, turn back on the firewall and I’m back to square one. Even with an application rule as:

1. Application name: Putty
    TCP In/Out
    Source address: 192.168.138.2
    Destination Address: 192.168.138.15
    Source Port: Any
    Destination Port: 22

still nothing. So, I checked “log as a firewall rule if this event is fired”.

To my surprise, it still doesn’t work and not one event is found in the logs re the connection attempts. Just fails to connect.

Any help would be appreciated.

P.S Webserver can’t be accessed from the Host system but I can access it from anywhere else on the network.

Port 80 problem. I just discovered a VMWare problem in addition to my WAMP problem. Jesus -.-

I don’t see why this is a port 80 problem and VMWare. Had you read my post properly you’d have seen that I do get connection as long as the firewall is off. Besides, ssh runs on port 22, not on port 80.