CFP.EXE eats my CPU

This is getting irritating, because it started again- 3rd time I think.

I’ve been using Comodo Firewall with Avast Antivirus for 3 years without problems. Some bad things started happening this autumn(2010) and I don’t know what that is and why it’s happening.

The problem is simple(in theory): whenever I open a program that’s related to the internet, like Firefox for example, cfp.exe goes to 40%-50%. For what reason it’s doing this?

I had to reinstall my windows 3 times for some reasons, and every time it seemed to be a “calm” period when cfp.exe wouldn’t react like this.
In 31 december- what a luck- I had a system crash and windows would not boot up anymore, only in safe mode. Well, that’s how I spent my last day of 2010… reinstalling windows. 2 days ago cfp.exe started again to annoy me with this 50% cpu consumption.

What’s wrong with it?

Hey and warm welcome to comodo forums Karst!

You can first try to add the complete folder in exclusion of Execution Control Settings (CIS —> Defense+ —> Defense+ Settings —> Execution control Settings —> Detect shellcode injections (i.e. Buffer overflow protection) —> Exclusions —> Add —> Browse…) and in Application rules (CIS —> Firewall —> Network Security Policy —> Application Rules Add —> Select —> Browse…)

This problem that you are having is nothing new and it’s something that avast has to fix.

Tell me if this helps.

Regards,
Valentin N

Do the Defense + logs give us a clue here? Can you post a screenshot of them?

Thanks Valentin N, but that didn’t work. And it seems that cfp.exe does this even when I’m not in Firefox :\ .

Where do I access the Defense+ logs?

[EDIT] And btw, what does the cfp.exe do anyway? I tried killing it in the task manager but it won’t let me. I then tried to at least set the affinity or change the priority but that is not allowed too :frowning: .

Where do I access the Defense+ logs?

CIS → Defense+ → View defense+ events.

what does the cfp.exe do anyway