Can't backup open files

Hi, I am new to Comodo Backup and what I have seen so far highly recommend it. I have been using Cobian for years now which has proved reliabe but the problem is that it hasn’t many of the features Comodo has eg registry and system state backup which is GREAT. I have seen in other posts that some have asked for “wishlist” Volume Shadow Copy service for backing up locked or open files. reading through the replies I see that Comodo does backup open files. Anyway I am putting it to the test and when I use “simple copy” or “synchronize” the open files are not backed up or copied. I don’t get an error message but the files aren’t in the destination folder. It is a bit worrying when backing up to an external drive "file by file’ in simple copy that any files that are open will not be copied or synchronized. There is no problem in Cobian backup as it uses shadow copy. Comodo does backup the open files only if I choose to backup to a .cbu file. The files in question are Quickbooks and Pastel accounting data files. I haven’t tried other open files yet.

Am I missing a setting somewhere? I prefer backing up “file by file” as when the external drive is taken to another premises we only need to copy the files required with explorer and it is also quick to see the files in a folder listing. Once you bring in incremental backup then with the “simple copy” method only the files that have changed whether in use or not will be copied making a lightning fast backup. With cobian backup, incremental and shadow copy selected my backups of fairly large folders are done in milliseconds.

Thanks for a great program - please let me know where I have gone wrong, I don’t want to end up having to use two programs for backing up.