Boclean and Prevx1

I did ask before, but got no reply. I have never used Boclean before, but have just installed it. Seems good at the mo. I dont want to overdo my progs running in the background so-is it necessary to continue running my Prevx1?

If so, why?

:■■■■

Hi,

This is my take… for what it is worth!

It largely depends on what else is on your system. If you are using firefox (noscript), have a decent AV and a firewall with some HIPS capability (e.g. OA V2, or Comodo) + BOclean, then having prevx1 on your system as well is not adding much (in ABC mode especially!).

Prevx1 is pretty! I like it, the problem is (from what I read) it doesn’t seem to be as effective in what it does as more dedicated software. On the plus side, it does require less user knowledge. In most other software, when a pop-up says, X is using Y to do this that and the other, many users do not know what this means. With Prevx1, at least this decision is made for you!!! This is why I have it on my wife’s PC (pro mode), along with AVS. At least there is outgoing firewall control + detection. I used to have CFP on her PC, but the pop-ups just caused confusion (dont tell her I said that (:WIN)). CFP V3 may well resolve this with it’s safelist. By-the-way, I added BOclean to her system today!

If you want free protection I would go for…

AOL AVS or Antivir
Comodo FW pro
BOclean

Plus perhaps

a-squared (free) for on demand scan

Hope this helps.

Thanks for the reply Roy.Interesting answers you gave.

Im useing AVG Pro Anti virus with Firewall, and AVG Anti Spyware, and just put in Boclean, so I guess I dont really need Prevx1?

:■■■■

Probably not! But it aint half pretty! I don’t think AVG firewall is as good as some mind you… check this out… you may wish to switch it off & download comodo!

http://www.matousec.com/projects/windows-personal-firewall-analysis/leak-tests-results.php

Cheers.

I’m amazed at the response to this question.