Blocked intrusions

Just downloaded and installed Comodo. This is the first time I’m using a non-windows IP and i’m really new to all this. I wouldn’t say i’m completely computer illiterate, but i’m not really an expert either. I looked up some solutions to this problem, but didn’t really understand the answers or if they were specifically the problem I was having.

1. First of all, I have avira, threatfire, and superantispyware on my computer. So, I decided to completely disable defense +.

2. I installed comodo and I haven’t really messed around with any setting besides disabling defense +. Basically I noticed that it says “the firewall has blocked 33 intrusion attempts.” When I go to check to see these attempts here is what I see.

Application: System
Action: Blocked
Protocol: UDP
Source IP: XXXX
Source Port: 138
Destination IP: XXXX (diff. IP that the Source IP)
Destinatio Port: 138
Date/Time: XXXX

Basically, what does this mean? What should I do to stop it or fix it?

Oh and my firewall security level is set to safe mode

Thanks in advance.

Hi jd1010, welcome to the forums.

UDP on port 138 is what’s called a “NetBIOS datagram”. It’s usually related to LAN file-sharing, printing and such like. But, it can be exploited if open to the Internet (which would be unusual & unwise)… which is why CFP is blocking them by default.

Quick question first: Are the masked IP addresses LAN (Local Area Network) IPs or are any of them Internet IPs?

edit: Also, do you have a Home Network (LAN)?

I believe they are LAN. It’s a home network through verizon fios and the router they provided. I also use the computer at school, but I’m not really sure what type of network they use.

Also, there are two source ports that are being blocked, 137 and 138

THIS topic may be of some interest to you.

Matty