AV Comparitibes Retrospective Results For May 2008

Here you go. Avira still in the top 2 of course.

http://www.av-comparatives.org/

I wonder why they haven’t tested updated versions (Eg; Avira AV 8.1)?

Josh

When I last contacted Andreas, he mentioned that when the tests were started the new versions of those anti-virus had not been released.

Also, I didn’t “understand” this proactive test (2nd part of the test) that was performed by av-comparatives. The first one was an on-demand scan for malware. The 2nd was supposed to be a proactive test, still, it was an on-demand test as well. But this time with total different results.

I’m a security consultant, and one thing is an on-demand test and a completely different thing is a proactive test. Besides, Andreas makes mention to the fact “this test is performed on demand - it is NOT an on-execution/behavorial test[…]”

The 1st one was an on-demand test, so is the 2nd test. How the hell does it make it a proactive test?

Also the number of malware samples is quite different from one test to the other. The 1st one was performed with 1.683.364 malware threats and the 2nd one with 11.509 malware threats. I do realize Andreas mentions “NEW” threats on the 2nd test, but I believe the test should be performed with the same malware threats. Then if they wanted to perform a new test using new malware threats, it would be another situation. But using different malware samples from one test to the other, well, I just don’t considerer it “honest”.

Things are what they are, and that is just my opinion.

Very simple, he/they perform tests with months old AV programs on new virus samples…

max. 1 week old products (from 4th february) were tested against new malware (appeared between 5th and ~12th February), in order to test the proactive detection rate.

Thanks for correction IBK, Did you tried to test CFP D+ capability on some malware samples?

For this many samples, he would need an army of testers.