Application Behavior Analysis alerts

I’ve been using Comodo on several systems for about 6 months, and even though I like it I am considering a change to another firewall - probably Sunbelt (nee Kerio). But it’s certainly worth wating for CPF 3 before I take such a drastic action.

It’s obviously too late to get involved in feature selection for this release, but these are the reasons that CPF hasn’t been working for me. (FYI: I’m on CPF 2.4.18.184)

• I have the security level set fairly high; I want to know if one program is launching or using another, and I want to be able to set the list of IPs that a system might access. I particularly use this latter facility for mail – I want my mail program to talk to my mail servers, but not to any web or other servers.

The problem is that as I switch between tasks, Comodo believes that the old task is somehow controlling the new one. As a result I get a message that Eudora is trying to do something with Firefox, when what really happened is that I alt-tabbed from Eudora to Firefox and clicked on a link. By now, I almost reflexively click OK on those messages, which makes them next to useless.

• There are problems with application rule order:

[li]Rule order often changes when a rule is edited. This is a big problem if you want the last rule to be “deny everything else.”

• Rules sometimes change order even when you’re not editing rules. This has caused caused some grief when an email app suddenly stops working, and it turns out that the “deny everything else” rule has drifted up. I’m not sure what precipitates this, but it probably caused by creating or denying an ad-hoc (i.e. “don’t remember me”) rule in a pop-up.

• I cannot easily change the order of rules. In order to get the “deny everything else” rule back to the bottom, I repeatedly edit it and save it. This brings the rule up to the top of the list (for that application) and then drops it back to the bottom.
    [/li]