Access problems on LAN

Hi - I’m a newb and not sure if this is the right forum. Please move me if not.

I have a LAN with a desktop PC running Windows 7 and a netbook running Windows XP.
I cannot get access to the Win 7 disk drives from the XP machine.
I can ping the Win 7 and the Win 7 drives all appear in My Network Places on the WP machine but if I click on one to connect and read it I get
“\Desktop\desk d is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the Administrator to find out if you have access permissions”

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Hello Mark,

Are you using CIS? or What Firewall Program are you using?

Hi Jacob
Sorry, don’t know what CIS is - so probably not using it.
Using Comodo Firewall.

Hello Mark,

CIS = Comodo Internet Security

Information You’ll Need
IP Address’s of The XP Machine and IP Address of the Windows 7 Machine
For An Example We’ll say the XP Machine IP Address is 192, and For An Example We’ll say the Windows 7 machine is 101
(Actual IP Address is Longer)

On the XP Machine Open Comodo Firewall; Firewall > Network Security Policy > Network Zone (tab) > Select the Zone with the XP Machine’s IP Address > Add > New Address > IPv4 Single Address > Enter the IP of Windows 7 Machine > Apply > Apply

Stealth Ports Wizard > Define a New Trusted Network (Top Option) > Select the Network Zone that had your IP Address in It > Ok/Apply > Ok

Do Vice Versa on Your Windows Machine

Did this help?

Hi Jacob
Sorry for posting in wrong place: I didn’t know whether it was a CIS problem

I did what you said and then rebooted both machines.

The problem remains

Can you post a screen shots of you firewall application rules and global rules, please. Also, would you post details of any entries in the firewall log.

With regard to the Windows 7 shares, how have you configured the security settings on the share(s)?

Hi