a few questions

Ok so I’m new to comodo firewall and I have a few questions I hoped someone can answer. I just installed comodo and I got a message asking if I should let scvhost.exe except a conection from another computer I blocked it but don’t know if I should have. Also I’m getting intrusion attempts,the application is windows operation system the source ip is 192.168.1.1 and the destination ip is 192.168.1.4 . I was also wondering if its normal for svchost to to have a bunch of udp connections every time i go to a different web page(I can get up to 300 outbound connections if I go to a few sites)? any help is greatly appreciated.

The general thought on these forums in regard to svchost is to have it set to outgoing only in the Firewall Rules. Firewall>Advanced>Network Security Policy>Right click on svchost and click edit and in the box put a tick in the Predefined policy checkbox and from the scroll down list choose outgoing only>Apply >OK and Ok.
I personally would advise any new beginner to apply the Firewall and Defence+ tutors posted by Kyle in the Guides section in these Forums in order to be really secure.

thanks, I’ll read the guides you mentioned

edit-ok so I read the firewall guide ,but I still don’t understand why I keep getting intrusion attempts roughly every 15 minutes, the source ip is the same for all of them.

Can you post a screenshot of the firewall logs?

This might sound stupid but do I go to “view firewall events” to view logs?

Yes

Can you tell us a bit more about your network set up? Are you on cable or ADSL? Is there a router in the network? It may be part of the ADSL modem. Do you have any open ports on your router (in case there is a router in the network)?

Can you post a screenshot with the Firewall Events window being maximised? This way I can see what system file is involved.