A few basic questions

Hi, I am totally new to Comodo firewall, but so far so good. I have a few questions, so please be patient:

1. I tried uploading a file for analysis but it failed ( something about not being able to connect to the server)
  2. On the main page (Summary) there is a link to test security configuration that does not seem to work i.e. nothing happens
  3. Component Monitor- does this accept all connections or only safe ones? The reason I ask is because Comodo allowed gtapi.dll and GoogleInstall.dll to connect to the internet despite the fact that I have no idea what these are or why they suddenly appeared on my computer after a repair install of WinXP.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated,
    rubi :slight_smile:

Welcome, rubi (:WAV)

A few questions for you, and perhaps some answers…

1. What version of CPF do you have?
  2. Where is the link on the Summary page (describe, as I don’t have it on mine)

Answers…

1. This happens sometimes; glitches in the upload server. The Comodo team is in the forums, and will probably see your post. If you can provide specifics of day/time, size/type of file, that would be great.
  2. The Component Monitor validates the components that are loaded with each application that is allowed to connect. The components are not, in and of themselves, connecting to the internet; they are a part of an application (executable) that is. It’s part of CPF’s protection; if components within an allowed application change (such as through a malware, or even an update), Comodo will give you an alert (based on your frequency settings) that the “libraries” have changed.

Hope that helps,

LM