100% CPU load when (parallel) installing I/O intensive apps (3.0.25.378, x32)

Additional software info:

• Windows Vista Ultima SP1
  • BitDefender 2008

I have installed CFP and I am very happy with it in daily use. BUT I have one serious (reproducible) problem especially when I am installing new applications:

At that point (especially when I have more than one installation in parallel) my computer freezes for several seconds. Then a CFP warning message comes up (of different type) which I allow and just after a short time the computer freezes again until the next CFP warning message. This way an installation takes a long time.

Using SysInternals ProcMon I monitored what’s happening. It’s definitely the CFP.exe process that sucks up the CPU. In addition this process makes an awful lot of requests to the registry (reading policies and rules…)

As I am a developer myself I would recommend a more clever algorithm when accessing the rules from the registry. For example: Build a hash across all rules and only re-read the rules when the hash has changed. Otherwise buffering them in memory should be the choice. Once you add another rule (to the registry), calculate a new hash and update it in the registry.

What’s really bad: I have not even the chance to disable CFP during such a period. A right click in the try simply is ignored (probably gets lost due to high load / opening the waring dialogs). Updating FF3 from 3.0.0 to 3.0.1 took me ~15 minutes now. :frowning:

Your suppose to use install mode when installing anything. Hope this helps. Also do not post bugs unless you have read all the important topics. When ever I install something I open up Comodo and click “switch to install mode”. Works like a charm.

https://forums.comodo.com/help_for_v3/games_application_installation_comodo_firewall_pro_3-t24179.0.html

Also read the help file system. Here is a quote.