restored, where are my files?

I’ve been running CTM for 5 months on my Win7 home PC. My PC got f-ed up where I couldn’t access CTM and had to restore to may 9 using Win 7 restore. I assume that the CTM files from July are still on my drive, but Win 7 thinks that its May, so it doesn’t know hoe to let CTM access them. Does anyone know how to get CTM to see backups files “from the future”?

CTM stores the snapshots in the free space of the disk. It’s a restore tool, not a backup. Windows can’t see the files without the CTM driver installed and running. If you use an external DVD to restore the computer, the snapshots are gone and you’ll have only the baseline of May.

For the future, update your baseline from time to time. Use backup for your important backup and data. Don’t f… your computer :wink:

Can I point CTM to the July CTM image?

Did you uninstall CTM? If not, you can.

I ran CTM and got a msg that it needed to be reinstalled, so I did so, I have to think that the CTM images weren’t erased, tho. Can’t I find those? What are the CTM image file extemtion so I can search for it with my recovery tool?

Look, people do a lot of confusion about CTM and does not understand the real technology behind it.
It’s not a backup tool. It’s a system restore one.
There are no images, no backups. CTM is not for that.
You have snapshots of the files in the disk, using the free space of the disk. If you uninstall CTM, Windows cannot see the snapshots, even if you reinstall CTM, the disk state (the snapshots) is lost. Maybe advanced restoration tools (like Recuva, Paragon Backup & Recovery, Easeus Data Recovery Wizard and so on) could read the free space and try to restore some of the files. I’m not sure.

Got it. Thanks.