Author Topic: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!  (Read 3436 times)

Offline blackkatt

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 150
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #15 on: December 07, 2019, 08:18:40 AM »
Are you sure this isn't when you start the system? You're running pretty much the applications I am in that shot and they're always in the log on startup - before CIS 'activates'. If you check the  Task Manager after startup, you'll find they are actually running

???

Offline futuretech

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4589
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #16 on: December 07, 2019, 11:50:32 AM »
Like I said before, any application that attempts an outgoing connection request prior to CIS being fully loaded, will be blocked by the firewall. These blocks do not affect the operation of said applications, so you can really ignore these blocks.

Offline blackkatt

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 150
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #17 on: December 07, 2019, 03:43:20 PM »
Like I said before, any application that attempts an outgoing connection request prior to CIS being fully loaded, will be blocked by the firewall. These blocks do not affect the operation of said applications, so you can really ignore these blocks.

And like I said before, this is not at startup. Everything already fully loaded. Stop blaming everything on something else and fix it instead.
And let's say it is like you said. Then everyday I would still have to manually remove from the Unblock Application so either way it's a problem.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2019, 03:52:52 PM by blackkatt »

Offline Ploget

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1129
  • 'Your best teacher, is your last mistake'
    • CIS Help
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #18 on: December 07, 2019, 05:14:27 PM »
This may help: Blocked Applications There is no problem as you have been advised and shown
And like I said before, this is not at startup. Everything already fully loaded. Stop blaming everything on something else and fix it instead.
And let's say it is like you said. Then everyday I would still have to manually remove from the Unblock Application so either way it's a problem.
Ploget
All Win10x64 Pro 1909 (18363.752) systems  /  CIS 2020 v.12.2.2.7036 RC
Comodo Forum Policy / CIS Help

Offline blackkatt

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 150
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #19 on: December 08, 2019, 03:23:00 AM »
This may help: Blocked Applications There is no problem as you have been advised and shown

No why would it? I'm not talking about HIPS. You can see that on the image.

Offline Dharshu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 446
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #20 on: December 08, 2019, 08:02:37 AM »
So this is why I can't use SafeMode  >:(
Newly installed fresh config and CIS blocks not only its own browser but other signed/safe/known apps too!

PM: The first two entries are before I upgraded/installed latest build.

Hi blackkatt,

Thank you for Reporting.We will check this issue.
Kindly check your inbox for PM and share us the log and other details for further investigations.

Thanks in advance!

Regards,
PD

Offline blackkatt

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 150
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #21 on: December 08, 2019, 03:18:52 PM »
Hi blackkatt,

Thank you for Reporting.We will check this issue.
Kindly check your inbox for PM and share us the log and other details for further investigations.

Thanks in advance!

Regards,
PD

I've sent the details. Note that I'm not using the custom config I did when I first began this thread. That config was deleted (without warning) when I updated to latest Comodo firewall. I had some version saved ofc but thought I would start clean sense you guys added some new to the default config.

Currently I'm using the default with some small changes. Don't feel like investing so much time anymore.

Sometime ago it was possible to find the predefined config files (xml) and by editing them directly it was possible to bulk add files to "File rating/File Groups" I've looked everywhere, cannot find these xml files. And adding 20+ entries one by one is not very fun.

Offline Dharshu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 446
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #22 on: December 11, 2019, 08:00:08 AM »
Hello blackkatt,

Thank you for your co-operation.
I have forwarded your log to our developers and they are working in it.

Regards,
PD

Offline Dharshu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 446
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #23 on: December 27, 2019, 10:39:04 AM »
Hello blackkatt,

In your log it shows that you have changed the settings several times, maybe it blocks the dragon_updater.exe in alert accidentally.
So could you please join in the remote session with our Developers for further investigations.

Please let us know your opinion.Thanks in advance!

Best Regards,
PD

Offline blackkatt

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 150
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #24 on: December 30, 2019, 02:48:47 PM »
Hello blackkatt,

In your log it shows that you have changed the settings several times, maybe it blocks the dragon_updater.exe in alert accidentally.
So could you please join in the remote session with our Developers for further investigations.

Please let us know your opinion.Thanks in advance!

Best Regards,
PD

Hi sry for the late reply. Stupid Microsoft flagged the notification mail as junk...

Not sure what you mean by "you have changed the settings several times" All I know is that a bunch of perfectly safe stuff was blocked using the default config.
Is not possible to investigate this anymore I don't think. However I just saw that lots of things was blocked yesterday and I know for a fact that I was playing Forza Horizon 4 at that time. These you see here on the screenshot are perfectly safe apps/programs. There's no reason whatsoever to block these, so why is Comodo doing it?
« Last Edit: December 30, 2019, 02:54:36 PM by blackkatt »

Offline prodex

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 409
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #25 on: December 30, 2019, 10:50:28 PM »
All I know is that a bunch of perfectly safe stuff was blocked using the default config.
Is not possible to investigate this anymore I don't think. However I just saw that lots of things was blocked yesterday and I know for a fact that I was playing Forza Horizon 4 at that time. These you see here on the screenshot are perfectly safe apps/programs. There's no reason whatsoever to block these, so why is Comodo doing it?

It's a mystery to me, too, and I don't know what cis wants to protect us from or is protecting us from.

AdwCleaner for example is blocked by all 3 components: Firewall, Hips and Containment, but still I can use it as well as other blocked programs.

I don't suppose that you are not a bit familiar with Comodo. I set programs I can trust to trustworthy, set it to "allow" in Firewall and HIPS (if enabled),' outgoing only' or something like that. Yes, one has much to do with comodo.   ;D 8)

Otherwise, did you have a look if windows blocks the software if you can't run it? If you do not do a clean installation of a new Windows version (I didn't do that), this can happenIf you don't do a clean installation, it can happen that you don't have access to the program or windows does this and you are surprised that as a registered user you have no access, only the administrator and the system. But this has nothing to do with comodo. I'm just saying that in case a program won't start, but I think you know such problems.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2019, 11:11:12 PM by prodex »

Offline blackkatt

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 150
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #26 on: December 31, 2019, 02:58:08 AM »
It's a mystery to me, too, and I don't know what cis wants to protect us from or is protecting us from.

AdwCleaner for example is blocked by all 3 components: Firewall, Hips and Containment, but still I can use it as well as other blocked programs.

I don't suppose that you are not a bit familiar with Comodo. I set programs I can trust to trustworthy, set it to "allow" in Firewall and HIPS (if enabled),' outgoing only' or something like that. Yes, one has much to do with comodo.   ;D 8)

Otherwise, did you have a look if windows blocks the software if you can't run it? If you do not do a clean installation of a new Windows version (I didn't do that), this can happenIf you don't do a clean installation, it can happen that you don't have access to the program or windows does this and you are surprised that as a registered user you have no access, only the administrator and the system. But this has nothing to do with comodo. I'm just saying that in case a program won't start, but I think you know such problems.

Good morning,

This happens on a clean install of Windows.

"I don't suppose that you are not a bit familiar with Comodo. I set programs I can trust to trustworthy, set it to "allow" in Firewall and HIPS (if enabled),' outgoing only' or something like that. Yes, one has much to do with comodo."

There are two problems here.

1. If you unblock an app from the Blocked Applications/Unblock Applications it will create a rule in this case for the firewall. Allow ALL incoming/outgoing communications. A rules like that doesn't feel safe at all.

2. The same rules will be created for ALL unblocked applications which is stupid, simple as that.

The apps on the screenshot already have Allow outgoing communications rules. They are all included in "Windows System Apps Group" so these blocks has to be Incoming connections.

Are you starting to see what I mean with this thread? "Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!" Predefined rules should be created for safe Windows components for OUTGOING and INCOMING traffic. Else Safe Mode won't work as it should. Also there's nothing called MetroApps anymore. It was renamed WindowsApps many years ago. COMODO really needs an overhaul. It has to be updated.

As for if I can still use the apps. I'm quite sure I can BUT, I don't want to manually have to clean the "blocked application" every now and again.

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25840
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #27 on: December 31, 2019, 04:27:24 PM »
The Blocked Applications function is flawed by design. It is not thought through properly and should in my view be immediately removed from CIS. It causes needless confusion and provides 'sloppy' or no solutions. It is best not to use it.

Offline prodex

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 409
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #28 on: January 01, 2020, 01:34:12 PM »
It causes needless confusion and provides 'sloppy' or no solutions. It is best not to use it.

How can I not use it? There simply delete all blocked files? Is it possible to deactivate it permanently?

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25840
Re: Seriously, Comodo, its time you catch up!
« Reply #29 on: January 01, 2020, 08:24:45 PM »
You cannot deactivate it permanently but you can remove the log entries in Blocked Files window. But CIS of course keep on producing those log entries in Blocked Files. You will simply have to ignore it exists. It's what I do.

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek