Author Topic: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports  (Read 43412 times)

Offline fbtqycs

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #60 on: October 18, 2012, 07:44:41 PM »
From the log file, it seems that the install path for "Outlook 2003" could not be determined. Unfortunately I can't provide more details because the debug data in debug.cbu is too old. debug.cbu was created six and a half hours later after the error occurred, and it was overwritten since the debug logs have a size limit.

I can provide more info if the debug information would be collected exactly after the error occurs.

Thanks

Hi Emmanuel

I have sent you a PM containing a link to the debug info. This was collected shortly after the CBU backup of my Outlook folders. I have also included the relevant portions of the CBU log file

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #61 on: October 19, 2012, 04:26:21 AM »
Thank you for the debug logs. We found the cause. The issue will be fixed in next release.
Running backups as service mode is causing the issue. This error can happen with any email/messenger client backup job. Until then, you can try to use other run modes.

Thanks
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

Offline fbtqycs

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #62 on: October 19, 2012, 05:26:19 AM »
Thank you for the debug logs. We found the cause. The issue will be fixed in next release.
Running backups as service mode is causing the issue. This error can happen with any email/messenger client backup job. Until then, you can try to use other run modes.

Thanks
Thanks very much. You diagnosed that one very quickly. :)

Offline FAM10

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #63 on: October 26, 2012, 11:32:43 AM »
Hi,
CB 4.1.4.0 (and 4.1.3.51 too) shows a bug with incremental backups with respect to Snapshots.

The case is:
1.   I backup the folder A, with file 1 and file 2, from a saved profile.
2.   The first back is full, resulting in Snapshot 0.
3.   Then I delete the file 1 and add another file: file 3.
4.   I run the backup, resulting in Snapshot 1.
5.   I load Restore for that profile, and in Snapshot 1 there are all files to restore, that is file 1, file 2 and file 3.

In snapshot 1 should appear only file 2 and file 3 because file 1 was deleted before Snapshot 1.
However, when the backup is working, the description is correct, for example “…deleting file 1…”.


It will be interesting that the snapshots only show the folders and files that were present when the backup task was loaded. It seem to be that each snapshot is accumulative, showing all files and folders. I thought the idea with CB was to have a “timeline” folder and files versions.

Thanks.

(Win 7 Professional 32 bit; laptop HP430; CB default configuration)
« Last Edit: October 26, 2012, 11:34:29 AM by FAM10 »

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #64 on: October 30, 2012, 06:36:02 AM »
Yes, it's a known issue in CB 4.1
It will be fixed in next release.

Thanks
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

Offline cohbraz

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #65 on: November 14, 2012, 12:00:54 PM »
Whenever Comodo Backup (4.1.4) is running, even if it is minimized or I switch over the Windows 8 start screen, the screensaver will not work. It is set just to turn the monitor off after 10 minutes and works fine as long as Comodo Backup is not working. As soon as Comodo Backup starts, the monitor is turned on and stays on as long as the backup program is running.

Your Operating System (and whether it's 32bit/64bit): Windows 8 x64
- Other Backup & Security Software Installed: Comodo Internet security Complete 2012
- How you produced the problem: Everytime Comodo Backup runs

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #66 on: November 19, 2012, 09:40:24 AM »
Hi,

Strarting with next version (4.2.1), CB will no longer require the display for backups that are set to run in silent mode or service mode.

Thanks
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

Offline disabled account 9

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #67 on: November 22, 2012, 12:31:04 PM »
I've related some problems with CB in https://forums.comodo.com/help-cb/maybe-cb-is-somewhat-immature-t87784.0.html;msg632966#msg632966.

Please see attached file.

Any help will be appreciated.


[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #68 on: November 23, 2012, 06:04:22 AM »
I think you are referring to the mount issue.
The logs have information starting from 18.Oct.2012 to 25.Oct.2012 .
Can you remember exactly when the issue happened? It seems I can't find anything mount related in logs.

Thanks
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

Offline disabled account 9

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #69 on: November 29, 2012, 12:59:05 PM »
I think you are referring to the mount issue.

Indeed.

The logs have information starting from 18.Oct.2012 to 25.Oct.2012 .
Can you remember exactly when the issue happened? It seems I can't find anything mount related in logs.

Sorry, the mount issue is somwhat old. I reproduced it today. The new logs are attached.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #70 on: December 03, 2012, 05:10:32 AM »
Sorry, the mount issue is somwhat old. I reproduced it today. The new logs are attached.

We found a potential cause that was fixed.
Please place the proper GUI.exe file below in the installation folder, then run it as administrator and try to mount again  (from Manage -> Mounted drives).

GUI.exe (32 bit)
GUI.exe (64 bit)

Thanks
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

Offline disabled account 9

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #71 on: December 03, 2012, 11:07:44 AM »
We found a potential cause that was fixed.
Please place the proper GUI.exe file below in the installation folder, then run it as administrator and try to mount again  (from Manage -> Mounted drives).

GUI.exe (32 bit)
GUI.exe (64 bit)

Thanks

Thanks Emanuel, but I couldn't run GUI_x64_3rd_dec_2012.exe. My system complains that it lacks LIBEAY32.dll. I'll try to fix this. Any tip will be welcome.

By the way, shouldn't the installers you've recommended be included in Defense+ trusted list?

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #72 on: December 03, 2012, 11:14:04 AM »
Did you try to run it from installation folder (C:\Program Files\Comodo\Comodo Backup) ?
These are not installers, but replacements for CBU.exe

Thanks
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

Offline disabled account 9

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #73 on: December 04, 2012, 12:13:33 PM »
Did you try to run it from installation folder (C:\Program Files\Comodo\Comodo Backup) ?
These are not installers, but replacements for CBU.exe

Thanks

Forgive me, Emanuel. I had misunderstood your instructions. Ok, I've just run it from C:\Program Files\Comodo\Comodo Backup. It runs ok, but the mount operation gets the same error: Windows Explorer tries to open the "mounted" drive and says that it doesn't exist. :-(

I don't know wheter it will help, but the new logs are attached.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Emanuel Sescu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
  • Emanuel Sescu
Re: COMODO Backup 4.1.4.0 Bug Reports
« Reply #74 on: December 05, 2012, 10:32:57 AM »
According to the logs :

[04.12.2012 13:53:59:019|001856|000012e4|InitMountThreadBody] Browse: SetInitializationInformation failed with status :8
[04.12.2012 13:54:04:215|002099|00000a64|CManageDriversDlg::MountWithDefaultOptions] AskForPassword failed with status: 62
[04.12.2012 13:54:04:215|002376|00000a64|CManageDriversDlg::OnClickMountBackup] MountWithDefaultOptions failed with status: 62
[04.12.2012 13:54:17:272|004969|00001328|__internReadBackupHeaderFromSpecificCBUFile] Invalid password or header is not found and cbu file is corrupted!
[04.12.2012 13:54:17:272|020409|00001328|OpenExistingBackup] __internReadBackupHeader failed because 8
[04.12.2012 13:54:17:272|000515|00001328|_BACKUP_RESTORE::SetInitializationInformation] Opening E:\teste.cbu error 8

Error code 8 means invalid password or invalid backup file.
Error code 62 means the operation has been cancelled by user.

To translate what happened, according to logs:
1) CBU tried to open the selected backup file ("E:\teste.cbu")
2) It returned invalid password (because no password was provided yet)
3) CBU tried to request a password from user, the operation was cancelled (error 62)
4) The mount operation failed with error code 8

Is the backup password protected?

Thanks
----
Regards,

Emanuel Sescu
Follow Me

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek