Author Topic: Closing a few ports - need help!  (Read 6564 times)

Offline TZer0

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Closing a few ports - need help!
« on: December 10, 2006, 05:43:28 AM »
I ran the Shields Up!! test and I got some minor problems, that I'd ask you to help me with.

Ping port is open, I can receive TCP-packets and port 113 is open.
I read about port 113, it appearently for IRC and some kinds of E-Mail clients use this port as well. Should I block this? and how?

Thank you   (R)

Offline panic

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11825
  • Linux is free only if your time is worthless.;-)
Re: Closing a few ports - need help!
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2006, 06:11:11 AM »
I ran the Shields Up!! test and I got some minor problems, that I'd ask you to help me with.

Ping port is open, I can receive TCP-packets and port 113 is open.
I read about port 113, it appearently for IRC and some kinds of E-Mail clients use this port as well. Should I block this? and how?

Thank you   (R)
:BNC

Firstly, are you behind a router or a modem/router?

The reason I ask this is that Shields Up is actually  testing the first responding device it finds at your external IP address. If you use a router, that's what Shields Up is testing, unless you have all ports forwarded.

Ewen :-)
As your mums would say, "If you can't play nice with all the other kiddies, go home".
All users are asked to please read and abide by the  Comodo Forum Policy.
If you can't conform, don't use the forum.

Offline TZer0

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Closing a few ports - need help!
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2006, 10:16:25 AM »
Modem and router (D-Link Dl-624)

Offline AOwL

  • Comodo SuperHero
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2349
  • Comodo Firewall Pro - Be safe, use protection...
    • NordicNatureMedia
Re: Closing a few ports - need help!
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2006, 01:59:15 PM »
Since you are behind a router, you are testing the D-Link instead of CF.
To test CF go in to your router settings and set your PC in DMZ, or just connect your PC directly to your modem when you do the port scan.
Good luck.

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek