Author Topic: Chrome browser prompt  (Read 4045 times)

Offline ReeceN

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 200
  • Paranoid B#st#rd - CIA
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #45 on: February 11, 2019, 03:17:34 PM »
There's a hotfix update for 11.0.0.6744 now.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2019, 03:29:39 PM by ReeceN »

Offline m2stech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #46 on: February 12, 2019, 08:30:28 AM »
Yep I can confirm latest comodo update fixed it.

Offline iamme99

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 231
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #47 on: February 14, 2019, 03:46:21 PM »
Looks like the problem has been fixed.

Thanks!

Offline MajorPayne

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #48 on: February 28, 2019, 12:21:16 PM »
I'm on v 11.0.0.6744 and still getting the Chrome "Browser Protection" pop-up. I'm also getting Comodo "Updates are available" pop-ups = thoroughly confused.

Am I supposed to uninstall Comodo instead of doing an update? And if so, what's the best practice to ensure I'm still protected once Comodo is uninstalled?

Offline ReeceN

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 200
  • Paranoid B#st#rd - CIA
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #49 on: February 28, 2019, 12:48:17 PM »
I'm on v 11.0.0.6744 and still getting the Chrome "Browser Protection" pop-up. I'm also getting Comodo "Updates are available" pop-ups = thoroughly confused.

Am I supposed to uninstall Comodo instead of doing an update? And if so, what's the best practice to ensure I'm still protected once Comodo is uninstalled?

The hotfix is applied to version 11.0.0.6744. So even after updating your CIS version will continue to be 11.0.0.6744. You should update Comodo to receive the hotfix.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2019, 02:46:39 PM by ReeceN »

Offline vinceqt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #50 on: February 28, 2019, 02:43:58 PM »
Im using free internet security, I think its version 10, and getting the error. Will this be fixed in free IS?

Offline ReeceN

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 200
  • Paranoid B#st#rd - CIA
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #51 on: February 28, 2019, 03:09:27 PM »
Im using free internet security, I think its version 10, and getting the error. Will this be fixed in free IS?

I think the hotfix that fixes this issue is only applied to the latest version of Comodo. You may need to therefore upgrade to version 11 to fix this. To do this:

1. Create a system restore (just in case something goes wrong): https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/4027538/windows-create-a-system-restore-point
2. In Comodo go to 'Settings > General Settings > Configuration > click on the settings that is 'Active' and click 'Export. Save this file on your desktop or somewhere safe. This file contains your settings. You can import it using the same method but clicking import instead of export, if something goes wrong and you need to perform a fresh install of Comodo.
3. In Comodo go to Tasks > Update and follow the prompt
4. Once completed, you may need to restart your computer then update Comodo one more time.

Alternatively, if you wish to stay on version 10 you should be able to add the new certificate directly from your Chrome.exe.

Warning: You do this at your own risk, as the following method may not guarantee that the certificate is from Google.

1. Open Google Chrome and keep it open
2. Open Comodo and go to 'Tasks > Unblock Applications' and check that Chrome is not listed (this indicates that Comodo sees the file as safe, but it may not guarantee it has a Google certificate. Although I find it unlikely.)
3. Open Comodo and go to 'Settings > File Rating > Trusted Vendors > Add > From Running Process > Select the first Chrome.exe > click OK
4. Click OK again in your 'Advanced Settings' window.

I think that this should work, but I'm not 100% sure.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2019, 03:19:37 PM by ReeceN »

Offline vinceqt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #52 on: March 04, 2019, 11:37:27 AM »
Finally fixed it on one of my VMs. Unsintalled Comodo free IS 10 and Chrome. Installed Comodo free IS 11 and chrome.
I'll be trying the same tomorrow on another of my computers...

Vincent

Offline ReeceN

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 200
  • Paranoid B#st#rd - CIA
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #53 on: March 04, 2019, 01:13:22 PM »
Yup, the latest version has a fix specifically for that issue. As long as all your machines are updated to the latest version, you should no longer have the issue.

Offline MajorPayne

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #54 on: March 04, 2019, 10:40:59 PM »
The hotfix fixed my Chrome issue!

On a side note, why does Comodo offer a "anti-virus" solution vs. anti-malware? Isn't a virus just one lesser type of malware, meaning Comodo products only protect against viruses?

Offline ReeceN

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 200
  • Paranoid B#st#rd - CIA
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #55 on: March 05, 2019, 08:08:27 AM »
The hotfix fixed my Chrome issue!

On a side note, why does Comodo offer a "anti-virus" solution vs. anti-malware? Isn't a virus just one lesser type of malware, meaning Comodo products only protect against viruses?

Good to hear.

I would guess the product name includes 'Antivirus' because not everyone knows what Malware is. Naming a product Antivirus opposed to Anti-malware is normal practice in the industry.

However if you read the website it does explain that it is anti-malware.

Ref: https://antivirus.comodo.com/
Quote
Comodo's award-winning free antivirus provides unbeatable protection from every type of malware.

Offline vinceqt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #56 on: March 05, 2019, 08:24:32 AM »
The point I was trying to make, in my case, was that I had to reinstall both Comodo and Chrome to fix the popup bug when opening Chrome.

I tried to uninstalled Comodo Free IS 10 and install Comodo Free IS 11 and still got the popup when opening Chrome. Went back to previous state on my VM to try to just reinstall Chrome instead but was still getting the popup when opening Chrome.

Hope this might help other people :)  and thanks to everyone in this thread

Vincent

Yup, the latest version has a fix specifically for that issue. As long as all your machines are updated to the latest version, you should no longer have the issue.

Offline Metheni

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 669
Re: Chrome browser prompt
« Reply #57 on: March 06, 2019, 07:15:14 AM »
Hi vinceqt,

Update CIS 11.0.0.6744 to receive the hotfix.

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek