Author Topic: Please use Comodo Search  (Read 152658 times)

Offline Melih

  • CEO - Comodo
  • Administrator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 14452
    • Video Blog
Please use Comodo Search
« on: May 13, 2008, 02:59:03 PM »
We would kindly ask all our users to start using our Comodo Search when searching the web.

Best method would be to make this your Home Page please.

Thank you very much

Melih

Offline Eric Cryptid

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2263
  • Security Saskquatch
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2008, 04:29:26 PM »
Search appears to be powered by ask.com

Great for a homepage though!

Eric

Moderator: Any concerns? PM me and/or review the Forum Policy
System: 32 bit Windows Vista SP3
Realtime Protection:CIS 6 / CMS

Offline Melih

  • CEO - Comodo
  • Administrator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 14452
    • Video Blog
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2008, 06:19:25 PM »
yes ask.com powers it.

thank you for using it

Melih

Offline UncleDoug

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2008, 11:17:27 PM »
Melih, wonder if your programmers could take the Comodo Search Window and offer an option were you can place it in the task bar below. 

I used to have a Google Search Window there but then Google required you download the Tool Bar in order to have the search window at the bottom.  I uninstalled and although I have the search window set for Google there is NO Tool Bar.   And I probably would use the task bar search window equal or more often.

Many times there is something on the screen that does not allow a search, with it in the Task Bar I do not have that problem.  Possibly you could also include a small logo link that will allow quick and direct access to these forums or product support.

TOO Many are providing different features only available in a Tool Bar.  If someone had 7-8 Tool Bars it starts getting ridiculous.  I prefer a larger screen area.  So the Task Bar provides opportunities.

Thanks
UncleDoug

Offline Toxteth O'Grady

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2008, 05:36:30 AM »
This is probably a stupid question, but when you start searching an ask.com page with the results opens. There is a search bar on it as well. Can you continue with the next search right there or do you have to return to the Comodo page every time (in order for Comodo to benefit)?

Offline Melih

  • CEO - Comodo
  • Administrator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 14452
    • Video Blog
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2008, 07:46:16 AM »
This is probably a stupid question, but when you start searching an ask.com page with the results opens. There is a search bar on it as well. Can you continue with the next search right there or do you have to return to the Comodo page every time (in order for Comodo to benefit)?


you can continue. will still benefit us.
thanks
Melih

Offline Frosty Port

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2008, 05:19:58 PM »
Hi Melih just set my home page to comodo search no problem in doing that. but the page looks so plain and has no snappy look. is there any way to make the search area more glossy or some thing along them lines or in the colors of comodo FW that just mite make it more eye appealing and get more users.   
{XP-PRO-SP2} {FireFox}  {Avast-Pro AV}  {Comodo FW pro3}

Offline Melih

  • CEO - Comodo
  • Administrator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 14452
    • Video Blog
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2008, 09:13:42 PM »
Hi Melih just set my home page to comodo search no problem in doing that. but the page looks so plain and has no snappy look. is there any way to make the search area more glossy or some thing along them lines or in the colors of comodo FW that just mite make it more eye appealing and get more users.   

because it is the home page for many people, we try to keep it as light as possible to make sure it loads the fastest.

However I will pass your request to our design team.
thanks
Melih

Offline Toxteth O'Grady

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2008, 11:24:35 AM »
http://blog.exalead.com/
I just read this:

"Ask.com, the search engine from the American group IAC/InteractiveCorp, is abandoning its general Web search engine strategy in favor of vertical search focused on specific demographic groups."

It will probably take some time, but I don't know whether that is a good thing for Comodo Search (in the long run).

Offline Melih

  • CEO - Comodo
  • Administrator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 14452
    • Video Blog
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2008, 11:42:20 AM »
http://blog.exalead.com/
I just read this:

"Ask.com, the search engine from the American group IAC/InteractiveCorp, is abandoning its general Web search engine strategy in favor of vertical search focused on specific demographic groups."

It will probably take some time, but I don't know whether that is a good thing for Comodo Search (in the long run).

We'll find out :)

thanks for the heads up

melih

Offline Smallville_EZRyder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2008, 01:37:02 PM »
How about creating a FireFox Add-on to add Comodo Search to their browser search ins.  This would give a lot of exposure as you are hoping for.  Think of all the people who use FF.  Here is a link to their info on this:
http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/Creating_OpenSearch_plugins_for_Firefox

I, myself, get tired of the ones that are listed, so I use metasearch engine.

EZRyder

Offline Melih

  • CEO - Comodo
  • Administrator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 14452
    • Video Blog
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2008, 02:09:40 PM »
How about creating a FireFox Add-on to add Comodo Search to their browser search ins.  This would give a lot of exposure as you are hoping for.  Think of all the people who use FF.  Here is a link to their info on this:
http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/Creating_OpenSearch_plugins_for_Firefox

I, myself, get tired of the ones that are listed, so I use metasearch engine.

EZRyder

Thanks for that EZRyder..

our guys are busy developing our own toolbar that works with FF too..
thanks
Melih

Offline Toxteth O'Grady

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #12 on: June 14, 2008, 03:46:14 AM »
How about creating a FireFox Add-on to add Comodo Search to their browser search ins.  This would give a lot of exposure as you are hoping for.  Think of all the people who use FF.  Here is a link to their info on this:
http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/Creating_OpenSearch_plugins_for_Firefox

I, myself, get tired of the ones that are listed, so I use metasearch engine.

EZRyder


Add a new xml file (Comodo search) to the Firefox searchplugins folder, with this content:

<SearchPlugin xmlns="http://www.mozilla.org/2006/browser/search/" xmlns:os="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/">
<os:ShortName>Comodo Search</os:ShortName>
<os:InputEncoding>UTF-8</os:InputEncoding>
<os:Image width="16" height="16">data:image/x-icon;base64,AAABAAEAEBAQAAAAAAAoAQAAFgAAACgAAAAQAAAAIAAAAAEABAAAAAAAwAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACAAACAAAAAgIAAgAAAAIAAgACAgAAAgICAAMDAwAAAAP8AAP8AAAD//wD/AAAA/wD/AP//AAD///8A+ZmZmZmZmZ+ZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZn///mZmZmZn/+f/5mZmZn/+Z//mZmZmf/5mZmZmZmZ//mZmZmZmZn/+ZmZmZmZmf/5n/+ZmZmZn/+f/5mZmZmZ///5mZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZmZ+ZmZmZmZmZ8AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA</os:Image>
<SearchForm>http://www.comodo.com/search/</SearchForm>
<os:Url type="text/html" method="GET" template="http://www.ask.com/web">
  <os:Param name="o" value="1674"/>
  <os:Param name="l" value="dis"/>
  <os:Param name="q" value="{searchTerms}"/>
  <os:Param name="sourceid" value="Mozilla-search"/>
</os:Url>
</SearchPlugin>


Now Comodo Search will be in the Firefox search bar.

Offline Smallville_EZRyder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #13 on: June 14, 2008, 11:43:18 AM »
I was not successful with the suggestion; here is something else that was posted on the FireFox board; I'm not sophisticated enough to get this to work also; I've installed the extension and have the Comodo Search in the list of dropdown but when I choose it to use the search, it opens with Ask.com instead.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
this was the reply to my post:

Today 05:53 PST
cor-el
9233 posts

Your code only shows an image (favicon) encoded as base64 and an url.
You can try: Add to Search Bar https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3682

Offline Toxteth O'Grady

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
Re: Please use Comodo Search
« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2008, 02:55:29 AM »
That plug-in should do the trick (I have also used that).

Once you have installed it, you can add any search engine to the Firefox search bar. Simply open the Comodo Search page, right click in the "search field" (or whatever that is called) and select "add to search bar".

Perhaps\probably(?) it is necessary to delete the one you added manually (following my instructions that didn't work  :( ).

 

Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek