Author Topic: Comodo and Yahoo Messenger  (Read 23120 times)

Offline Stumbler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Comodo and Yahoo Messenger
« on: December 19, 2008, 07:43:24 AM »
Hi (:WAV)

I have a problem with Yahoo Messenger. I am not able to transfer files to my friends, nor am i able to accept files.
The file transfer process does start, but it interrupts in between and gives an error like "This file transfer could not be completed."

I was just wondering if my Comodo settings got to do something with this problem.
Here is a screenshot of Firewall events blocking something of yahoo ???



The application path is not fully seen in the pic. It is C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\Yahoo Messenger.exe

Why is it blocking UDP ? Does this affect file transfer ? :THNK

Offline -[Red_Oplok]-

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • Bardahl Super Lube Specialist...
    • https://www.facebook.com/karl.j.benz
Re: Comodo and Yahoo Messenger
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2008, 07:50:39 AM »
 (:WAV)

Try Treating YM as WEB BROWSER if you did not done it before.

 :THNK  :THNK  :THNK
            :THNK  :THNK  :THNK
                       :THNK  :THNK  :THNK
CPU/OS:
- INTEL ATOM Dual Core 1.85mHz CEDAR TRAIL[at] Win7 Ultimate

LONG RANGE ANTI MALWARE PROTECTION:
- CIS Premium FULL CONFIG Capable of Listening Malwares and Hackers.

EMERGENCY COUNTER MEASURES and WEAPON:
- SAS and MBAM

CONNECTION:
- LINKSYS E Series WiFi Power by GLOBE DSL

Offline Stumbler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Comodo and Yahoo Messenger
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2008, 08:37:35 AM »
It was already set to treated as Web Browser 88)

 :THNK


Offline -[Red_Oplok]-

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 373
  • Bardahl Super Lube Specialist...
    • https://www.facebook.com/karl.j.benz
Re: Comodo and Yahoo Messenger
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2008, 08:40:09 AM »
It was already set to treated as Web Browser 88)

 :THNK



 (:WAV)

Then What happened?

 :THNK  :THNK  :THNK
            :THNK   :THNK  :THNK
                        :THNK  :THNK  :THNK
CPU/OS:
- INTEL ATOM Dual Core 1.85mHz CEDAR TRAIL[at] Win7 Ultimate

LONG RANGE ANTI MALWARE PROTECTION:
- CIS Premium FULL CONFIG Capable of Listening Malwares and Hackers.

EMERGENCY COUNTER MEASURES and WEAPON:
- SAS and MBAM

CONNECTION:
- LINKSYS E Series WiFi Power by GLOBE DSL

Offline Stumbler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Comodo and Yahoo Messenger
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2008, 11:15:30 AM »
 (:WAV)

I meant it was already set to be treated as a Web Browser and that screenshot of Firewall events is with Yahoo Messenger being treated as a web browser.

So, the problem is that whenever i transfer/accept a file through yahoo messenger it abrupts just before the file transfer/accept completion.

and also, why is it blocking UDP as shown in that screenshot. Is File transfer a UDP thing ?

 :THNK

Offline nalacknick

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Comodo and Yahoo Messenger
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2008, 01:41:29 PM »
Hi (:WAV)

I have a problem with Yahoo Messenger. I am not able to transfer files to my friends, nor am i able to accept files.
The file transfer process does start, but it interrupts in between and gives an error like "This file transfer could not be completed."

I was just wondering if my Comodo settings got to do something with this problem.
Here is a screenshot of Firewall events blocking something of yahoo ???



The application path is not fully seen in the pic. It is C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\Yahoo Messenger.exe

Why is it blocking UDP ? Does this affect file transfer ? :THNK


Have you just started experiencing this since the install of CIS?.....I may be barking up the wrong tree here but I had a similar problem with MSN messenger.......because in the settings I had a deleted AV location (AVG I think it was) still in there so it was trying to use this deleted AV to scan incoming/outgoing files and when it couldn't find it it was stopping the D/L - U/L. Very frustrating until I sussed it.
Anyway just a thought........may be worth a check in Yahoo settings??
Intel Pentium E5800 [at] 3.20GHz
8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 [at] 401MHz
Windows 7 Home Premium 64,
Comodo Internet Security 7.0.317799.4142 premium, MBAM on Demand,  latest Comodo Chromium Secure

Offline Stumbler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Comodo and Yahoo Messenger
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2008, 10:19:00 PM »
My Yahoo settings is alright. I use Avira Antivir

 :THNK

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek