Author Topic: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu  (Read 40766 times)

Offline chipopo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #15 on: September 23, 2007, 05:11:36 PM »
hi everyone,
i'm new here and it seems i have the same problem as everyone else. the application i'm using that's slowing down my pc is utorrent or so it seems. so i did what angelus said hoping it would end this cpu abuse but unfortunately nothing happened. but then i realized that i haven't restarted utorrent so i closed it down and then just before restarting it i checked to see the cpu usage - and guess what? it was still taking up about 40-50 % !
does anybody have any other suggestion? and please talk to me in simple english as i am not a computer expert.

soyabeaner

  • Guest
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #16 on: September 23, 2007, 05:32:26 PM »
chipopo welcome to your forum

Which is using up your cpu, cpf.exe or cmdagent.exe?

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: September 23, 2007, 05:35:27 PM by Soya Lv. 4 »

Offline chipopo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #17 on: September 24, 2007, 04:49:09 AM »
Sorry, I guess i should have waited some more before i posted. It seems like the problem is fixed because cpu usage got better again (it was cpf.exe btw). Thanks anyway. :Beer
As long as I'm here can somebody explain to me what these logs are and why I need them in the first place? Also, could it be that my e-Mule doesn't succeed to connect (except for kad network) because of the firewall?

Offline Half-Mad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • T-Shirts
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #18 on: September 30, 2007, 03:43:37 PM »
:).  Network Monitor is more than likely to have the most alerts logged because by default all blocked connections are logged by the final block all IP In and Out rule.  To disable that right-click in the Logs window and uncheck it from Log Events From
Perfect!  Thank you.   (:CLP)
I was about to start looking for a yet another new firewall program, but first decided to see if there was a fix.

 (V)

Offline chairborne

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #19 on: October 03, 2007, 01:01:12 PM »
I'm new also, and have tried to right click on the logs box and nothing ...Help, please.. Chairborne


Offline Elf Wizard

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #21 on: October 03, 2007, 02:43:23 PM »
I'm new also, and have tried to right click on the logs box and nothing ...Help, please.. Chairborne
Did you tried right clicking on the above bar? (not on the logs).

Offline daddymo3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2007, 10:53:39 AM »
A couple of newb questions here....
If you shut off your logging,does that affect the warning pop-ups?
I disabled the Network Monitor logging,how about the others,can I disable them aswell?
I can't say I have ever had a need to view the logs.

thanx in advance for any and all responses. (:WAV)

Offline Elf Wizard

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2007, 11:34:03 AM »
A couple of newb questions here....
If you shut off your logging,does that affect the warning pop-ups?
I disabled the Network Monitor logging,how about the others,can I disable them aswell?
I can't say I have ever had a need to view the logs.

thanx in advance for any and all responses. (:WAV)

If you are sure, that you won't dig around  the log files, I think you should disable logging at all. (I have disabled them all too).
As far as I know, logging is a totally  different thing, than setting permissions and such things.

soyabeaner

  • Guest
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #24 on: October 04, 2007, 06:38:01 PM »
Loggin & alertin are 2 diff things.  First focuses on the past, the second focuses on the present.  Alerts has its own toggle option:
security
advanced
miscellaneous
configure
enable alerts
« Last Edit: October 04, 2007, 06:39:43 PM by Soya Lv. ∞ »

Offline berilium16

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #25 on: November 28, 2007, 12:36:34 PM »
Hi, i have tried all the things that were suggested by this forum.  My CPF.exe is still constantly using 15% of my cpu.  Any other ideas?

soyabeaner

  • Guest
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #26 on: November 28, 2007, 12:53:28 PM »
Really?  disabling logging solves the cpf.exe cpu issue 98% of cases I've seen on the forum.  The only other idea is to upgrade to version 3.

Offline HK-

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #27 on: January 21, 2008, 08:02:30 AM »
Really appreciate forum moderators like you Soyabeaner(and all other constructive posters), took the time to register so I could say thanks =) Solved all my CPU problems, sitting on a test network with 20+ computers running port-scans, so it took its toll on my cpu from all the logging.
(R)

soyabeaner

  • Guest
Re: Very strange: Comodo taking 100% cpu
« Reply #28 on: January 21, 2008, 10:43:40 AM »
Awww.  I was more helpful back then (:SHY).  Welcome to the forum, HK- :)

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek