Author Topic: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.  (Read 112030 times)

Offline JolietJake

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #30 on: February 14, 2007, 07:50:48 PM »
Any chance of a rule for Battlefield 2142?  Cheers. (:KWL)

Offline MainMan B

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #31 on: February 17, 2007, 09:08:43 AM »
I was referred here from the help section of your forum.
When i start the game, Age of Empires II, nothing happens after intro. The screen is just black. When i disable the firewall i can run the game fine. I have added the program to the Applications list. What do i do?

Offline mario620

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #32 on: March 08, 2007, 11:08:55 PM »
any settings for cod, cod uo, cod 2?

Offline panic

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11825
  • Linux is free only if your time is worthless.;-)
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #33 on: March 08, 2007, 11:53:21 PM »
Hey all,

Sorry for the delay in doing more games rulesets, but my time is 100% occupied on a major project at work at the moment. This is due to complete in three weeks, and I'll get back onto them as soon as I can.

Again, apologies for the delay, but work does pay the bills.  ;)

Ewen :-)
As your mums would say, "If you can't play nice with all the other kiddies, go home".
All users are asked to please read and abide by the  Comodo Forum Policy.
If you can't conform, don't use the forum.

Offline JollyRoger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #34 on: April 19, 2007, 01:20:57 PM »
Hello from me.I can find rule for Battlefield 2.
And can u check Lineage2 too pls.
www.lineage2.com
Thx a lot :Beer :Beer

Offline panic

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11825
  • Linux is free only if your time is worthless.;-)
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #35 on: April 20, 2007, 07:25:35 AM »
For Lineage II, you need to add two application monitor rules, one for "l2.exe" and the other for "lineageii.exe".

"lineageii.exe" is C:\Program Files\Lineage II\lineageii.exe".
"l2.exe" is C:\Program Files\Lineage II\system\l2.exe.

In each rule, select "Allow all activities for this application".

Cheers,
Ewen :-)


As your mums would say, "If you can't play nice with all the other kiddies, go home".
All users are asked to please read and abide by the  Comodo Forum Policy.
If you can't conform, don't use the forum.

Offline hjason

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #36 on: May 06, 2007, 07:33:36 AM »
wow this is an old thread wish i seen it sooner.
well i have farcry, empire earth2, swat4, bf2 and bf2 special forces, ut 2004, flight simulator 2004, 18 wheels of steel across america, sim city 4 plus ruch hour expansion pack, simcity 3000, roller coaster tycoon,  and maney others but i rearely play them.
and i just reinstalled all of my games after a format of my hard drives.
so i haven't been able to play them yet.
but i have to say cpf is a great firewall but it is a pain in the but when you want to play a game.
it don't have an entertainment popup box like another firewall has that only lets the game or movie run on your pc and nothing else.
and that should be in all firewalls.

Offline lookcity

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #37 on: May 07, 2007, 10:29:29 AM »
WARCRAFT III  RULE

Application: war3.exe
Parent application: Fronze Throne
------------------------------------------------
General:
Action: Allow
Protocol :  UDP
Direction: In/Out
------------------------------------------------
Destination IP : any
------------------------------------------------
Destination Port:
 Single Port 6112
-------------------------------------------------
Miscellaneous:
Allow invisiable connection attempts.





Offline ampmech007

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Warcraft III over LAN
« Reply #38 on: June 27, 2007, 02:10:52 AM »
Re: Warcraft III, specifically expansion pack Frozen Throne ver. 1.21. So far the only way* I have kept the game from locking up when creating a game on "Local Area Network" is to define war3.exe (parent= Frozen Throne.exe) as a Trusted Application. This means "Allow all activities for this application" & "Allow invisible connection attempts". I don't know the security ramifications of this (sounds too trusting for me) & am trying to figure out limits/restrictions but so far everything I've tried causes the game to lock up (including the suggested setup by 'lookcity' posted May 7, 2007 [the game locked up], sorry)         *I just discovered that despite the "Allow invisible connection attempts" the CFP pops 'under' the War3 screen and therefore becomes unreachable hence the lock  ups. To solve this hold Ctrl and press Esc. That minimizes War3 so that you can interact with the "pop-up" from Comodo Firewall. Check "allow" and 'remember settings for this application' as we are used to doing. What that does is establish two Application Monitor entries for c:\Program Files\Warcraft III\war3.exe with parent c:\Program Files\Warcraft III\Frozen Throne.exe  with settings "allow" , TCP or UDP , "in" , Dest. IP= all ,Dest. Port= all ,Misc= allow invisible. . The second entry is the same except "out".  Thank you, Bullhorn!
« Last Edit: June 28, 2007, 10:26:57 PM by ampmech007 »

Offline ShadowTek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #39 on: July 03, 2007, 08:31:11 PM »
WarCraft III  The Frozen Throne (expansion)

The application control rule that I use is as follows:
Application: war3.exe
Parent: Frozen Throne.exe
Invisible: Allow
Destination IP: Any
Destination Port: Any
Protocol: TCP/UDP In/Out

In order to HOST multiplayer games it is necessary to create an additional network control rule to allow the incoming connections. This is what I use:
TCP In from IP "Any" to IP "Any" from source port is "Any" and destination port is "6112"

Port 6112 is the default multiplayer port for WarCraft3, but you can change it by going to "Options", then "Gameplay" from the first menu you see when you start the game.

This configuration of 2 simple rules has worked just fine for me. Although I only play the expansion and do not know if there are any "hidden obstacles" for joining/hosting games on the original.


The only problem that I have been experiencing is that when I try to play a game right after turning off utorrent, I get a lot of in-game CPU lag due to cpf.exe handling all the hammering connections from former peers that are tring to connect to me.

I disabled "Do protocol analysis" and that helped a lot. But cpf.exe still regularly spikes up to over 50% CPU usage when handling batches of incoming connections.

I will try lowering the settings for TCP and/or UDP flood rates to trigger emergency mode after I begin games from now on. Maybe that will give me some peace and quiet.

I would like to find a more convenient way of solving this particular problem, so if anyone has any suggestions then let me know.

This particular issue is slightly off topic, so maybe we should start another thread if we have any further questions/comments about this. I don't want to dilute the focus of this thread any more than I already have. :)

Offline ivanco07

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #40 on: July 07, 2007, 05:56:03 PM »
Trackmania Nations.

I've tried to play it but it has a great lag. (:AGY)
Mine opinion is it's about firewall.
 
I've played it a lot with another firewall ( Outpost4) and it was running solid.

But with comodo isn't the way.
I would like to see this game running smooth with CPF. :THNK


Offline Leiche

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #41 on: July 11, 2007, 04:18:17 AM »
I would also know how to make Warcraft III Frozen Throne run as smooth as possible and allow me to host a server with Comodo.
 

Offline Nanook1963

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #42 on: August 02, 2007, 09:42:16 AM »
Would like to test BF2, as I still can't get it to get past the firewall.  Where are you posting "confirmed" rules for future reference?

Regards

Offline panic

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11825
  • Linux is free only if your time is worthless.;-)
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #43 on: August 17, 2007, 08:44:13 AM »
G'day,

If you're using CFP V2.4 you'll need to set up the following 4 rules (2 network monitor rules and 2 application monitor rules) to get Call Of Duty 2 running;

NETWORK MONITOR
Action : ALLOW
Direction : IN/OUT
Protocol : TCP/UDP
Source IP : ANY
Destination IP : ANY
Source Port : 28960
Destination Port : 28960

Action : ALLOW
Direction : IN/OUT
Protocol : UDP
Source IP : ANY
Destination IP : ANY
Source Port : A range of ports : 20500 to 20510
Destination Port : A range of ports : 20500 to 20510

APPLICATION MONITOR
Repeat the above network monitor rules in the application monitor, with COD2.EXE as the subject.

Although it might seem redundant to repeat the rules in both monitors, the application monitor rules define HOW an application can get out, whereas the network monitor rules determine WHETHER an application is allowed out. CFP will only open ports according to network monitor rules IF there is an application needing those ports opened. This is how CFP stealths ports adaptively.

Ports are only opened IF there is an app that needs them opened, otherwise they are stealthed.

Hope this helps,
Ewen :-)
As your mums would say, "If you can't play nice with all the other kiddies, go home".
All users are asked to please read and abide by the  Comodo Forum Policy.
If you can't conform, don't use the forum.

Offline DRW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Testers needed to confirm CPF games rule settings.
« Reply #44 on: August 23, 2007, 03:51:07 PM »
I added NHL 07 into Application Monitor:

Application: nhl2007.exe
Destination: Any
Port: Any
Protocol: TCP/UPD In/Out
Action: Allow

When I want to play online, the connection is blocked in logs:
Severity: Medium
Reporter: Network Monitor
Description: Inbound Policy Violation (Access Denied, IP = *.*.*.*, port = *)

Why is this happening when I added nhl2007.exe into trusted applications?

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek