Author Topic: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."  (Read 96693 times)

Offline Maureen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #45 on: October 05, 2006, 01:26:04 PM »
sadly it didn't work on mine.  i'll just have to wait for another version i guess.  all i can do now is just close out and re-start the firewall after a cold boot, which is when this seems to occur most of the time for me.

See my reply above regarding excluding other trusted apps in avast that run on windows startup.

Please make sure you are excluding the apps whole directory and not just the exe.

HTH Maureen

Offline Maureen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #46 on: October 05, 2006, 01:42:54 PM »
C:\Program Files\Comodo\*
C:\Program Files\Spyware Terminator\*
C:\Program Files\Cobian backup\*
C:\Program Files\Rainlendar\*

Check the way your path is displaed!
These are the way the directory paths under Exclusions in Avast should be displayed.

Maureen

Offline Luxor

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 314
  • In The Doghouse
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #47 on: October 05, 2006, 01:58:37 PM »
Had the same problem but right clicking on the avast icon > program settings> exclusions

browse to Program Files/Comodo directory to exclude the Comodo directory from scanning by avast seems to have corrected the problem.

Maureen

Good call Maureen.

I did this yesterday and as of yet have not seen this problem reappear.

Philbee are you sure you are putting this in the correct exclusions list ?

Just asking as I know that some people mistakingly put things in the scanning exclusions list rather than the program settings exclusion list.

I know that I did this myself when I first started using Avast, so thought I would mention it just in case.

Luxor
We say just what we want because we might be right.

Offline Maureen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #48 on: October 05, 2006, 02:07:08 PM »
Good call Maureen.

I did this yesterday and as of yet have not seen this problem reappear.

Philbee are you sure you are putting this in the correct exclusions list ?

Just asking as I know that some people mistakingly put things in the scanning exclusions list rather than the program settings exclusion list.

I know that I did this myself when I first started using Avast, so thought I would mention it just in case.

Luxor

Thanks Luxor.. glad it's working for you  :)

Offline Philbee

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #49 on: October 05, 2006, 10:33:28 PM »
Good call Maureen.

I did this yesterday and as of yet have not seen this problem reappear.

Philbee are you sure you are putting this in the correct exclusions list ?

Just asking as I know that some people mistakingly put things in the scanning exclusions list rather than the program settings exclusion list.

I know that I did this myself when I first started using Avast, so thought I would mention it just in case.

Luxor

i did put it in the program settings exclusion list, and it didn't work.  maybe you can elaborate a little more where that list is in avast.

Offline Philbee

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #50 on: October 05, 2006, 11:21:11 PM »
strangely enough, i find that the problem with comodo seems to have improved once i set avast for manual updates only!  this is a very weird problem, because it seems completely random, with no predictibility whatsoever.  the problem on my computer was unaffected by excluding comodo from scanning by avast in the program settings.

Offline Luxor

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 314
  • In The Doghouse
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #51 on: October 06, 2006, 07:06:16 AM »
Quote
i did put it in the program settings exclusion list, and it didn't work.  maybe you can elaborate a little more where that list is in avast.

Sure though it is probably the very steps you have taken yourself.

Right click on the Avast icon in the task bar.
Select  On-Access Protection Control
On the screen that opens select Standard Shield
Then click on Customize on the next window select Advanced.
Click on ADD and  insert C:\Program Files\Comodo\*
Then click on OK and that's it done.

Luxor
We say just what we want because we might be right.

Offline Philbee

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #52 on: October 06, 2006, 07:49:11 AM »
Sure though it is probably the very steps you have taken yourself.

Right click on the Avast icon in the task bar.
Select  On-Access Protection Control
On the screen that opens select Standard Shield
Then click on Customize on the next window select Advanced.
Click on ADD and  insert C:\Program Files\Comodo\*
Then click on OK and that's it done.

Luxor



thanks!  i'll try it.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2006, 07:57:01 AM by Philbee »

Offline Philbee

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #53 on: October 06, 2006, 07:54:56 AM »
okeedokee i made the change.  now we'll see what happens.  i was using the wrong exclusion list.  the one in program settings, rather than for standard shield.  this might be a good workaround until they come up with a version of CPF that doesn't have the bug.

does it affect manual scans of avast?  if comodo ever contracted a virus, i would want it detected, at least in a manual scan by avast.

Offline Luxor

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 314
  • In The Doghouse
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #54 on: October 06, 2006, 08:28:33 AM »
Hi Philbee

Wrong exclusion list, easy mistake to make. Been there done that.
No this will not (should not) have any affect on your manual scans.
You will still be well protected.

Hope it has the desired effect for you.

Luxor
We say just what we want because we might be right.

Offline Philbee

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #55 on: October 06, 2006, 09:20:37 AM »
so far so good!  after such a long time with no workaround for this, we might have finally discovered one that works till they come up with an update without this problem.  thank u so much, maureen and luxor! :)

Offline Philbee

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #56 on: October 09, 2006, 10:05:21 PM »
so far so good!  after such a long time with no workaround for this, we might have finally discovered one that works till they come up with an update without this problem.  thank u so much, maureen and luxor! :)

just wanted to say that i haven't had the slow initialization problem at all since folllowing luxor's and maureen's workaround.  while i am hoping it will be corrected completely in the next version, in the meantime i am glad to say everything is working perfectly!  thank u, maureen and luxor!

Offline Luxor

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 314
  • In The Doghouse
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #57 on: October 10, 2006, 08:00:32 AM »
Quote
just wanted to say that i haven't had the slow initialization problem at all since folllowing luxor's and maureen's workaround.  while i am hoping it will be corrected completely in the next version, in the meantime i am glad to say everything is working perfectly!  thank u, maureen and luxor!

(:CLP)

Glad to have helped. But most of the credit goes to Maureen.

Luxor
We say just what we want because we might be right.

Offline Philbee

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #58 on: October 10, 2006, 08:45:03 AM »
thank u maureen also!

Offline magic144

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: "Comodo Firewall is being initialized . . ."
« Reply #59 on: February 07, 2007, 09:58:52 AM »
Sorry to resurrect this, but I just noticed this message this morning
(never really looked for it before, so I can't tell you if it used to happen)

I'm using WinXP Home, all latest patches.

I am NOT using Avast - still using AVG

I saw the message stuck on a reboot immediately following the latest Auto Update to 2.4.17.183, although the system 'seemed' to be performing normally anyway.

No significant Log messages during boot time. Just a couple of ICMP Medium alerts 'around' that time, but not until about 5 minutes after boot.

Restarting Comodo Firewall manually made the message go away.

Is anybody else still seeing it?

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek