COMODO System Utilities 2013

Is System Utilities suitable for novice or just advanced users?

As I’m a novice user, always cautious about the registry, I’ve so far never used Comodo or any manufacturers’ Cleaning programs, due to being very concerned that a fatal mistake removal could delete one or more valid registry entries and corrupt or stop a computer from working.

Having read further up on these types of programs, I’ve read some very good reviews about them going beyond what Programs and Features (formerly Add/Remove Programs) does in removing the remaining scattered traces of deleted programs so the computer can run optimally.

Where it says “Duplicates” are removed, are the duplicates that get deleted located in just the Registry or anywhere?

If I have an identically named file, but different, one each in Word and Excel, would one get removed or would they both be retained?

Like other Comodo products, this sounds an excellent piece of software.

My personal experience has not been very good with this product. I do have an older machine and maybe that’s the problem. I had countless problems with it saving my personal settings, so I didn’t trust it for cleaning my registry. If it couldn’t keep its own settings, I was afraid to rely on it to properly clean my computer. Also, on a lesser note, I really dislike the interface. But, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I’m now using Glary Utilities without a single glitch (free version):

http://www.glarysoft.com/downloads/

While I commend Comodo for its innovative products, of which I so far have just IceDragon, I’m exercising caution with Cleaning Essentials, due to what you’ve said and some site saying that a user once found that it didn’t remove all malware. The user rating may be for an older version, so it may have improved since, probably has, but equally, I understand where you’re coming from. I’ve had my computer for 5 years.