Author Topic: Activation problem  (Read 3013 times)

Offline kostasxanthi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Activation problem
« on: October 15, 2019, 02:20:15 AM »
I have a license key,and i can't activate cis pro.
i get an message "error 12"
What can i do to solve the issue?

Offline Dharshu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 925
Re: Activation problem
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2019, 09:42:57 AM »
Hi kostasxanthi,

Can you clarify the steps what you have done and Kindly enclose the screenshort of that error. 

Thanks,
PD

Offline grajewski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Activation problem
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2019, 10:43:22 PM »
I hope it's okay if I piggy back on this topic, but I am experiencing the same issue as kostasxanthi when trying to activate the CIS Pro license for 3 PCs on my third machine (i.e., the first 2 machines were activated successfully). I have attached a screen shot for your reference.

What happened was that I clicked the "Subscription: Activate Now" (next to the "UPGRADE" button) which brought up the "Activate License" window. I copied the full license key from my confirmation email and pasted it into the "Enter your license key" field (as I had done for my 2 previous PCs), then clicked the "ACTIVATE" button. A new window pops up saying "Please wait while your license is activated …" but then is followed seconds later by another window stating, "An error occurred while activating the product ... Error 12: Invalid license key".

The only logical explanation I can provide why the 3rd license activation failed is because I previously used the license twice on the same PC when it was running Windows 7 and then again when I upgraded it today to Windows 10. (I first installed CIS on Windows 7 but the initial scan could never be completed because it froze repeatedly. I opened case RSB-406-12642 with GeekBuddy and then closed it after upgrading to Windows 10.) I am thinking that the license server registered the double activation on the same computer as the second and third license activation and interpreted my third PC activation as an attempt to license CIS on a 4th machine.

Does GeekBuddy have the ability to clear the 3rd activation on the server if this is the case?
« Last Edit: November 09, 2019, 10:48:46 PM by grajewski »

Offline Ploget

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2049
  • 'Your best teacher is your last mistake'
    • Schneier on Security
Re: Activation problem
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2019, 04:29:19 AM »
With the experience I've had regarding that - I would advise against contacting Geek Buddy

Just raise a ticket through Support; give them a full explanation and they will be able to reset the activations to match your purchase
Does GeekBuddy have the ability to clear the 3rd activation on the server if this is the case?
« Last Edit: November 10, 2019, 03:54:50 PM by Ploget »
Ploget

Win10 x 64 Pro 21H2 (19044.1826) / CIS Pro 12.2.4.8032 & WiseVector StopX
Win11 x 64 Pro - 21H2 (22000.493) / CIS 12.2.2.8012
Comodo Forum Policy
“If you think you are too small to make a difference, try sleeping with a mosquito”

Offline Dharshu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 925
Re: Activation problem
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2019, 10:05:40 AM »
Hi grajewski,

Thank you for reporting and also enclosing the screenshot.
We will check this & notify you.

Regards,
PD

Offline Metheni

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 758
Re: Activation problem
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2019, 06:36:51 AM »
Hi grajewski,

Could you please email us at subscriptions[at]comodo.com this department can verify and activate the license.

Thank you,

Offline grajewski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Activation problem
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2019, 09:40:40 PM »
Will do ... thanks Metheni ;)

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek