Author Topic: Allowing port access, while blocking internet access  (Read 347 times)

Offline SarahJones

Allowing port access, while blocking internet access
« on: June 07, 2019, 08:34:23 AM »
Hi everyone,

I have some programs for VFX that get their license from a server app running on the same PC. In general using port 5053.

How can I set a rule that will only allow my programs to communicate internally system-wide, correct protocols, using the specific port needed, etc. While not giving them any access to the internet. I'm not much of an IT person, but have an understanding of the basics. I'm new to CIS and coming directly from ESET IS, which felt very similar. I'm just worried that I might have my system too open as I leave my PC on pretty much 24/7 (it's rendering when I'm not using it at night and while away from home in the office).

If it's not asking too much, could you show me with some images how to set it up? As sometimes my dyslexia gets the better of me. But clear steps in text would be just as great!

Thanks.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2019, 08:40:52 AM by SarahJones »

Offline futuretech

• Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
Re: Allowing port access, while blocking internet access
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2019, 10:41:51 AM »
You can pretty much follow this guide but make the rule for the application only and use loopback zone instead.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2019, 02:00:22 PM by futuretech »

Offline SarahJones

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2019, 03:51:51 PM »
Hi Futuretech, my terminology isn't the best, so it's hard to find the right things. Thanks for the link and info, checking it now.

EDIT:
Ok, as I have a few apps. I just add the rule to the main exe file and everything else is fine?

Source and Destination tabs: same settings.
IP details tab: is ANY.

Is this correct: Allow as it's using the Loopback Zone? The app started fine and read my license, I'm just too cautious when it comes to security. lol