Author Topic: Emule and bittorent tuttorials  (Read 356730 times)

Offline pandlouk

  • I love Comodo
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2240
  • Retired Mod
Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« on: June 07, 2006, 04:06:31 AM »
EMULE
A mini tuttorial of how to open ports for emule
First you must go at the "Network Monitor" panel.
There you should click with the right button of the mouse and choose "Add rule"->"add"
at the new window that appear you should put the following rules:

1. Rule for TCP protocol

Action = Allow
Protocol = TCP
Direction = In
Source IP = Any
Destination IP = your computer IP adress (you can also use "Any", if you are using a modem and not a router; by this you won't have to change the IP address every time you connect in internet )
Source port = Any
Destination port = the port your Emule uses for the TCP connections

2. Rule for UDP protocol

Action = Allow
Protocol = UDP
Direction = In
Source IP = Any
Destination IP = your IP adress (or "Any" )
Source port = Any
Destination port =the port your Emule uses for the UDP connections

Bittorent
A mini tuttorial of how to open ports for bittorent and similar p2p programs
Go at the "Network Monitor" panel and add the following rule

Rule for TCP/UDP protocol

Action = Allow
Protocol = TCP or UDP
Direction = In
Source IP = Any
Destination IP = your computer IP adress (or "Any" )
Source port = Any
Destination port = the port your bittorent program uses for the TCP/UDP connections


You must move the rules up, over the default rule "Block IP in". ( CPF "reads/applicates" the rules from the top to the bottom)

ps. Remember that for CPF "Source IP" is the adress of the computer which sends the data and "Destination IP" is the computer that receives them. When your computer sends data is consindered Source, when receives them is consindered Destination.

by pandlouk (R)

edit (27/10/2006)
For using the search in Kad you must disable the feature "Do protocol analysis"
;)

IMPORTANT
you will have to disable the UPnP option from the program you use if you want this guide to work properly. If you don't disable it you will have NAT problems. ;)

example for azureus:
Azureus->Tools -> Options -> Plugins -> UPnP
There uncheck "Enable UPnP"
« Last Edit: November 13, 2006, 11:28:35 PM by pandlouk »

VaMPiRiC_CRoW

  • Guest
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2006, 09:58:03 AM »
It's not possible to create only one rule for TCP and UDP that use the same port?

I can do that in CHX for eMule.

Offline pandlouk

  • I love Comodo
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2240
  • Retired Mod
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2006, 10:14:39 AM »
for using the same port just follow the instructions for bittorent. It is the same thing. (That's why I made 2 tuttorials)

ps. these can work with anyother program not only emule and bittorent ;)

VaMPiRiC_CRoW

  • Guest
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2006, 10:20:31 AM »
I understand, I only thought that you had to choose TCP or UDP.

Nice to see that you can do that with CPF :)

Offline RejZoR

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1172
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2006, 11:53:47 AM »
You have to re-configure Network Monitor rules in order to allow eMule to work properly.

Offline pandlouk

  • I love Comodo
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2240
  • Retired Mod
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2006, 02:43:07 PM »
You have to re-configure Network Monitor rules in order to allow eMule to work properly.

what do you mean with re-configure? Do you refer at the rules posted above? ???

Offline RejZoR

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1172
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2006, 10:04:51 PM »
No they are fine. Network Monitor rules however aren't (default ones).
Do you get HighID for both, ED2K and KAD? Is your upload queue gaining new downloaders or not?

Offline pandlouk

  • I love Comodo
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2240
  • Retired Mod
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2006, 01:05:17 PM »
No they are fine. Network Monitor rules however aren't (default ones).
Do you get HighID for both, ED2K and KAD? Is your upload queue gaining new downloaders or not?
Yes I get high ID both on ED2k and KAD. I also have checked edonkey2000 and I don't have any problems on Overnet network too. No problem also for gnutella, gnutella 2, dc  and other networks.

ps. Have you moved the rules up, over the default block rule? If the rules are bellow the default block rule then you will have problems with low ID which, I agree, is very annoying.

VaMPiRiC_CRoW

  • Guest
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2006, 01:10:03 PM »
Maybe adding the priority feature to the rules will resolve this annoying problem...

Offline pandlouk

  • I love Comodo
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2240
  • Retired Mod
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2006, 01:22:26 PM »
Maybe adding the priority feature to the rules will resolve this annoying problem...

By moving the rules you do give a priority to those rules. That is why the rules are numbered.
#0,#1,#2, #3, etc. The lower is the numberof the rule, the higher is the rules priority.  ;)

The rule with the position-number #0 has the highest priority of all.
 (R)

VaMPiRiC_CRoW

  • Guest
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2006, 09:31:12 PM »
I prefer the priority style of CHX...

Angel

  • Guest
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #11 on: June 20, 2006, 08:34:15 PM »
Thanks pandlouk ;) finally got green light in utorrent.

 (R)

Offline Paulo

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 391
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2006, 07:36:58 AM »
For completeness's sake, here's a link to bittornado configuration as well.
http://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,189.0.html

Offline Wheelie4

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2006, 03:54:39 PM »
I'm using utorrent. In CPF v2.3.2.21beta should I still add the bittorent rule above to Network Control if I'm using the learning mode and choose allow on the "act as server" popup for utorrent?

VaMPiRiC_CRoW

  • Guest
Re: Emule and bittorent tuttorials
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2006, 03:59:51 PM »
I'm using utorrent. In CPF v2.3.2.21beta should I still add the bittorent rule above to Network Control if I'm using the learning mode and choose allow on the "act as server" popup for utorrent?
Yes ;)

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek