Author Topic: Problem updating endpoints  (Read 14906 times)

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11856
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2013, 01:20:40 PM »
OK updated ESM to the latest version and added SMTP email to config as requested.

Unfortunately this is what I get now when  try to update the remote endpoint that is running CES 2731 - a greyed out screen on which I cannot select anything.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline MichelB

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #16 on: August 03, 2013, 04:39:40 AM »
Hi,

Please return to the Computers UI, click on 'Add', select IP Address,add one machine, follow the process through to where you get to 'Packages' and download the latest versions. Keep going until you need to click the 'Finish' button.

This will pull the deploy-able packages down.

Regards,
Michel.

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11856
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #17 on: August 03, 2013, 05:25:52 AM »
Hi,

Please return to the Computers UI, click on 'Add', select IP Address,add one machine, follow the process through to where you get to 'Packages' and download the latest versions. Keep going until you need to click the 'Finish' button.

This will pull the deploy-able packages down.

Regards,
Michel.

Ta Michel will do. Ha you are a hard worker - much appreciated!

Though they we registered as managed computers in the last version, and still get listed on the computers display now. The one marked "Dell" (only)  is the one I just tried to update.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: August 03, 2013, 05:28:53 AM by mouse1 »

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11856
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #18 on: August 03, 2013, 05:37:50 AM »
Frustratingly it just remembers that it is already managing Dell. See screenshot below. Next screen (after I give credentials) is the same greyed out screen as before.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: August 03, 2013, 05:40:00 AM by mouse1 »

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11856
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #19 on: August 03, 2013, 05:42:59 AM »
Aha sorry if I just ignore that and carry on it says ready to deploy on next screen. Silly me. I should carry on at that point?

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11856
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #20 on: August 03, 2013, 06:02:16 AM »
Aha sorry if I just ignore that and carry on it says ready to deploy on next screen. Silly me. I should carry on at that point?

OK I did. I also checked the registry keys as requested by a link and had to add Local AccountTokenFlterPolicy=1. Windows firewall will not be running I guess as CES 2731 is installed? (And it's firewall is switched on)

It did not say "packages" at any point. It just started deploying. Almost immediately it showed deployment complete. But the version number is still the same on the Computers Screen, and the remote machine, so it has not updated.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2013, 06:47:12 AM by mouse1 »

Offline w-e-v

  • Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1503
  • BETA FORCE MEMBER
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #21 on: August 03, 2013, 11:37:03 AM »
Thank you very much for this software which is very useful for managing home networks as well as commercial ones!

Now for my problem. When I try to update the CIS client in either of the endpoints, I get the error below. Both computers have internet access, disabling firewall has no effect. I can ping 91.199.212.171, but get inconsistent results, pinging 91.199.212.171:80 fails (not sure you can ping a port?). Telnet is installed but connection to 91.etc on port 23 fails, on port 80 hangs giving appended error. I do not generally have internet access problems.

I have noticed that when it checks for updates it does not wait long before giving the error below, maybe 0.5 of a second. Is the timeout rather short? Is there a re-try?

If I try manually updating the 2731 CIS version using the offline ESM updater downlaoded onto that machine it reports that it is up to date. Seems unlikely but maybe it is - is it? I realize that the CIS on my admin machine is up to date, I was just checking if the problem was machine-specific.


Win 7 SP1
Admin account
ESM version attached
No other security software installed except various Comodo software
Managed CIS builds: Admin machine 2860, client 2731


Hi mouse1,

Hope you are doing well.

I am having the exact same issue in 2 ESM Servers.
I am getting that "Check your Internet Connection Error".

Could I ask, what version of ESM Server were you using when you got that error?
And if you were able to solved it, how did you solve it?

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11856
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #22 on: August 03, 2013, 01:02:52 PM »

Hi mouse1,

Hope you are doing well.

I am having the exact same issue in 2 ESM Servers.
I am getting that "Check your Internet Connection Error".

Could I ask, what version of ESM Server were you using when you got that error?
And if you were able to solved it, how did you solve it?

Version when I was getting that error is in first post in this topic.

Updating has lead to a different error or different manifestations of the same one, not sure they have not diagnosed it yet.

Are your servers internationally distributed? I am in the UK.

Offline w-e-v

  • Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1503
  • BETA FORCE MEMBER
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #23 on: August 03, 2013, 08:47:52 PM »
Updating has lead to a different error or different manifestations of the same one, not sure they have not diagnosed it yet.
Sad. I haven't been able to solve it either.

Are your servers internationally distributed? I am in the UK.
Yes, they are.

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11856
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #24 on: August 04, 2013, 05:06:48 AM »
Sad. I haven't been able to solve it either.
Yes, they are.

Just wondering if they have a dodgy server. Are any endpoints or servers affected by the problem in the UK?

Downloads are often distributed by some alchemy I don't understand...

Offline MichelB

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #25 on: August 05, 2013, 02:46:58 AM »
Hi,

[at]mouse1 - no alchemy involved :) just a lookup of a URL which lands on a cluster which responds with a version number (http://download.comodo.com/av/updates58/versioninfo.ini). If your version number does not match our version number then CES initiates the download.

[at]all, Please do the following.

In the Computers UI, select an EP that won't update and click the 'Properties' icon on the taskbar. When the display is loaded click on the Endpoint Security tab. Please post the full version number of CES you are using. It should resemble 6.1.276867.2813.

Are you applying any policies to these EPs?

Regards,
M.

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11856
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #26 on: August 05, 2013, 04:06:51 AM »
Appended Screenshot of Tab. Only one Endpoint (DELL) with CES, version is 2731, the ESM server (DELL 8300) has CIS on it.

Also append general Tab for the Endpoint and Server as I thought the networking info on it might give some clues.

Endpoint
It has a tailored policy applied. Basically FW on in safe mode HIPS off

I note ESM has not asked me for a reboot, but it says for the Endpoint, reboot  pending = true.

Server
I also note if I look on properties for the ESM server (DELL 8300) it has the wrong network address. My LAN addresses are 192.168.1.1, 255.255.255.0. It has 5.x.x.x.  Maybe this is the network range ESM uses?

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: August 05, 2013, 04:10:50 AM by mouse1 »

Offline MichelB

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #27 on: August 05, 2013, 04:23:41 AM »
Hi,

2731 is the database version but you have told me what I needed to know, your CES version is 6.0.268128 which is an outdated version.

On the EP "reboot  pending = true" means that new software has been installed/uninstalled or perhaps a Windows Update has taken place, basically the machine needs a restart.

ESM does not use or create a different range, it will accept whatever IP addresses you have created in the 'Server Address' section of the Configuration Tool.

The screeny shows that Dell-8300-PC seems to have no gateway, DHCP or DNS servers configured?

I suggest that one of out support techs contact you via PM to arrange an online assistance session, update your CES software and have a good look around to see what is going on.

Regards,
M.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2013, 07:53:31 AM by mouse1 »

Offline Laverock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #28 on: August 05, 2013, 06:58:55 AM »
Hello. I have a problem with update too. CESM 3.0.60225.3. Failed to check updates ESM agent and andpoint security. I tried disabling firewall and proxyserver. CESM 2.1 worked fine with the same host.

netstat

[CrmSrvService.exe]
  TCP    192.xxx.xxx.xxx:49622   178.255.82.1:80        ESTABLISHED     2460

telnet

telnet downloads.comodo.com 80 --> OK, connects
telnet download.comodo.com 80 ---> OK, connects

wireshark

1423   48.799817000   192.xxx.xxx.xx   178.255.82.1   TCP   54   50455 > http [ACK] Seq=319 Ack=1375 Win=129792 Len=0
1424   48.812688000   192.xxx.xxx.xx   178.255.82.1   TCP   54   50456 > http [ACK] Seq=319 Ack=1375 Win=129792 Len=0
1433   49.131354000   192.xxx.xxx.xx   178.255.82.1   HTTP   160   GET /cesm/download/updates/updates-pe.xml HTTP/1.1
1434   49.132033000   178.255.82.1   192.xxx.xxx.xx   TCP   54   http > 50455 [ACK] Seq=1375 Ack=425 Win=5888 Len=0
1435   49.132232000   192.xxx.xxx.xx   178.255.82.1   HTTP   160   GET /cesm/download/updates/updates-pe.xml HTTP/1.1
1436   49.132705000   178.255.82.1   192.xxx.xxx.xx   TCP   54   http > 50456 [ACK] Seq=1375 Ack=425 Win=5888 Len=0
1442   49.232986000   178.255.82.1   192.xxx.xxx.xx   HTTP   512   HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found  (text/html)
1443   49.233315000   178.255.82.1   192.xxx.xxx.xx   HTTP   512   HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found  (text/html)


What could be wrong?

Offline mouse1

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11856
Re: Problem updating endpoints
« Reply #29 on: August 05, 2013, 07:53:54 AM »
Quote
2731 is the database version but you have told me what I needed to know, your CES version is 6.0.268128 which is an outdated version.
Strange in CIS it is the Build number, the most reliable indication of version

Quote
On the EP "reboot  pending = true" means that new software has been installed/uninstalled or perhaps a Windows Update has taken place, basically the machine needs a restart.
Thanks

Quote
ESM does not use or create a different range, it will accept whatever IP addresses you have created in the 'Server Address' section of the Configuration Tool.
I would never tell it 5.x.x.x so it must have created a default for some reason. The mask makes no sense. 255.0.0.0?

Quote
The screeny shows that Dell-8300-PC seems to have no gateway, DHCP or DNS servers configured?
But it does of course have all of these, they are handled by the router. Just to be clear, the server machine is set to collect DNS server addresses and its IP from the router. In the ESM config details I note that I have the DNS name set up as the local network name of the server (probably a mistake by me? Is this what you intend?), plus 127.0.0.1. I have now added 192.168.1.2, but it appears to make no difference.

Quote
I suggest that one of out support techs contact you via PM to arrange an online assistance session, update your CES software and have a good look around to see what is going on.
Thanks very much for the offer. If you don't mind I'll think about it. I'm running a server on which others rely at the moment, so they'd need to act very cautiously and not reboot for any reason without consultation. Thanks very much for the offer. OK they have PM'd me so we'll see if we can jointly find a way to do this. :)

Best wishes

Mike

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek