Author Topic: Comodo Firewall and System Restore  (Read 23671 times)

Offline eliuri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« on: April 03, 2010, 08:26:09 AM »
Hello:

I'd like to install the free Comodo Firewall when my Zone Alarm Internet Security subscription expires very soon. The Zone Alarm led to  various system restore failures.

At first I was considering installing both the Comodo Antivirus as well as the Comodo Firewall, possibly in the form of the  Comodo Internet Security. but I read some posts here of similar system restore failures with the CIS:

https://forums.comodo.com/news-announcements-feedback-cis/system-restore-windows-7-cis-t47582.0.html

That thread goes back several months, so I'm hesitant to add my question to that thread above.

Question:

Are the System Restore issues with Comodo limited to those who use the Comodo Antivirus or Comodo  Internet Security?

Do those who  use the Comodo Firewall as a standalone  experience similar issues with System Restore?


Thanks in advance:

-eliuri

Windows XP Professional Edition
SP3
Dell Optiplex GX 260
« Last Edit: April 03, 2010, 08:40:42 AM by eliuri »

Offline kingkiwi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2010, 08:59:28 AM »
As long as you don't install the antivirus you'll be fine. It's the file C:\Windows\system32\drivers\sfi.dat, which is installed with the AV that messes up system restore.
XP Pro SP3 (32-bit)
C2D E6600 2.40 Ghz
Corsair DDR2-800 2 GB
Avira Antivir Free 9
CIS 3.9.95478.509 (Firewall and D+)

Offline HeffeD

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 6827
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2010, 02:28:30 PM »
The tricky bit is that not every user is affected.

You mention that you are using XP Pro SP3. That is what I am using and I have no problems with System Restore. There are other users that have reported the same thing. So there is obviously more to it than just the sfi.dat file.

I would say install the whole suite and see if you happen to have the issue. If you do, you can try running the AV in on-access mode instead of stateful. Stateful mode is what utilizes the sfi.dat (SFI stands for Stateful File Inspection) file. I run stateful, and as I mentioned, I have no problems. If that still doesn't work, uninstall the AV and install Avira or Avast. Both work well with CIS's firewall and D+.

There is a quick way to test if system restore is working for you.
  • Create a restore point.
  • Create a shortcut on your desktop. (The shortcut can be anything, this is just a test)
  • Restore your computer to the previously created restore point.
  • Shortcut will be gone if System Restore was successful.
« Last Edit: April 03, 2010, 02:30:51 PM by HeffeD »

Offline eliuri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2010, 09:18:05 PM »
Thanks for your detailed answer, Heffe:

I might be at 'higher risk" for system restore  problems, since I experience those with several versions of Zone Alarm which I've been using recently.


Questions:

1) How easy is it to uninstall just the AV component of CIS if such problems should arise?

Isn't there a Defense+ component in the CIS as well? Can that component be readily uninstalled?


2) Would you perhaps know if the Comodo Firewall+NOD32 Antivirus combination might work out in terms of this issue. I'm told the NOD32 is among the best AV's.

Thanks again:

-eliuri

Windows XP Professional Edition
SP3
« Last Edit: April 03, 2010, 09:21:37 PM by eliuri »

Offline HeffeD

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 6827
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2010, 12:06:47 AM »
1) How easy is it to uninstall just the AV component of CIS if such problems should arise?

After you install CIS, you can just go to Start -> Programs -> Comodo -> Comodo Internet Security and select Uninstall or Upgrade. This will start the wizard and you can use the Add/Remove feature to uninstall the AV.

Isn't there a Defense+ component in the CIS as well? Can that component be readily uninstalled?

Defense+ is installed with the firewall. This can be disabled at any time. You can also disable it permanently, which requires a reboot.

2) Would you perhaps know if the Comodo Firewall+NOD32 Antivirus combination might work out in terms of this issue. I'm told the NOD32 is among the best AV's.

I've never used NOD32, but I don't see why there would be a problem. If you're interested in reading it, there are some users in the compatibility thread that say they have no issues with CIS and NOD32. How Compatible CIS is With Other Security Products: Your Opinion Needed

Offline debroos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2010, 04:00:33 AM »
Hi

I have recently had system restore failures on both my desktop and laptop which I suspect is down to the Comodo firewall, since it's the only common installation to both machines likely to cause such problems.  The desktop restored to blank wall paper with no icons and was totally unresponsive.  I had to undo the restoration via safe mode. 
The laptop appeared to restore ok despite an announcement en route that a file pertaining to the touchpad couldn't be found and Comodo had discovered a "new" wireless network.  However I was unable to reach any websites despite an active connection - it continually timed out.  I undid the restore which seems to have been successful, although a message did appear just before the wallpaper arrived stating I did not have administrator rights to perform a restore.

Is there a way around this deadly feature of Comodo?  System restore is such a valuable facility that I don't want it jeopardized, but I'm loath to uninstall the firewall which in every other way is brilliant.

 I'm running Avast free AV alongside with XP S3 on both machines. Thanks :-\


Offline kingkiwi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2010, 08:25:06 AM »
Just a quick clarification of what I have found. The sfi.dat problem with system restore and the fact that it could not be defragged, only applies to the 3.xx versions of CIS. In version 4 it seems you can access the file normally.
XP Pro SP3 (32-bit)
C2D E6600 2.40 Ghz
Corsair DDR2-800 2 GB
Avira Antivir Free 9
CIS 3.9.95478.509 (Firewall and D+)

Offline eliuri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2010, 08:34:06 AM »
Would that mean that in CIS Version 4 there should be no problems with System Restore?

I'm also somewhat disheartened by debroos post above, wherein the Comodo Firewall alone seems to be the culprit.

Anyone else find this?
« Last Edit: April 04, 2010, 08:36:34 AM by eliuri »

Offline HeffeD

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 6827
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2010, 10:24:32 AM »
Would that mean that in CIS Version 4 there should be no problems with System Restore?

I'm also somewhat disheartened by debroos post above, wherein the Comodo Firewall alone seems to be the culprit.

I don't know if version 4 has issues with system restore. I'm not using version 4 yet. And since I don't have the problem with version 3.14, I don't think I'd have the problem with version 4 either.

The culprit is the sfi.dat file which is installed with the AV. The firewall doesn't need the sfi.dat file. I suspect debroos has something else entirely going on. 

Offline debroos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2010, 03:30:11 PM »
Thanks for observations HeffeD

I managed to restore back a couple of weeks to comodo V3 and replaced Avast with Windows security - reinstalled Comodo 4 and I've done several restore checks and all seems ok.  I suspect some kind of registry corruption - cause unknown - must have created the problem.  ;D

Offline MetalShaun

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 583
    • Mw Computers
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2010, 05:48:52 PM »
System restore does not work on my windows 7 64bit computer using CIS version 4 or my girlfriends vista 32bit laptop. However I am pretty sure system restore works if your run it in safe mode, Although you cannot undo the restoration if you ran it in safe mode.

Cheers
Shaun

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26525
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2010, 06:43:30 PM »
Although you cannot undo the restoration if you ran it in safe mode.

Cheers
Shaun
How do you mean? You don't get the option after applying System Restore? Or do you mean you can not manually choose to go to the situation you started from?

Offline eliuri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2010, 12:52:08 PM »
System restore does not work on my windows 7 64bit computer using CIS version 4 or my girlfriends vista 32bit laptop. However I am pretty sure system restore works if your run it in safe mode, Although you cannot undo the restoration if you ran it in safe mode.

Cheers
Shaun

*************************************
Hi Shaun:

I wonder if it might work in Normal Mode as well, if you disable the AV and/or Firewall while running the restore.

I haven't installed CIS yet, so I cant test this

Offline MetalShaun

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 583
    • Mw Computers
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2010, 01:28:16 PM »
How do you mean? You don't get the option after applying System Restore? Or do you mean you can not manually choose to go to the situation you started from?

When running the restore (on windows 7 at least) it states that running windows restore in safe mode will not let you undo the restoration, i guess via either method.

*************************************
Hi Shaun:

I wonder if it might work in Normal Mode as well, if you disable the AV and/or Firewall while running the restore.

I haven't installed CIS yet, so I cant test this

Disabling the AV or changing it to on access etc doesn't resolve the issue.

Cheers
Shaun

Offline eliuri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Comodo Firewall and System Restore
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2010, 11:34:50 PM »
Thanks for observations HeffeD

I managed to restore back a couple of weeks to comodo V3 and replaced Avast with Windows security - reinstalled Comodo 4 and I've done several restore checks and all seems ok.  I suspect some kind of registry corruption - cause unknown - must have created the problem.  ;D

============
Hi debroos:

You mention that you replaced Avast with Windows Security. I wonder if it wasn't the Avast which created the problem with system restore in the first place. Rather than the Comodo firewall.  This article describes that glitch and how to prevent it:

http://news.softpedia.com/news/Avast-Antivirus-Breaks-Down-Windows-XP-System-Restore-85438.shtml

I came across it because I'm  looking for an AV which won't interfere with System Restore -as well as a firewall.

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek