Public Directory or Repository for Comodo signature?

I just installed my free Comodo Certificate in Thunderbird e-mail to enable signing and encryption. This certificate seems to be used when I select the S/MIME option of signing or encryption. Please help me understand how others can find my Comodo public key (or digital signature?) in order to receive/send encrypted e-mail from me using this Comodo certificate. I know I can send them the signature in a direct e-mail. But is there a public repository or directory?

The reason that I am asking is this. I have been using Enigmail with OpenPGP. When I generate the key pairs, I can then publish the public key to a repository or directory where others can find it. This doesn’t seem to apply with my Comodo certificate.

As you can tell, I am new to signing/encryption and would welcome your assistance.

Thanks!

Hi,

There is no repository etc.

The only way someone can get your public key is if you send them a signed email.

For more on email certificates please take a look at our Knowledgebase

Garry

should we really build a system like that?

Opinions would be welcome…

Melih

I may be wrong but the central repository for PGP is needed to vet the Web of Trust so adding that to the current certificates only to share a certificate will cause more costs but a marginal benefit.

Thank you for your prompt replies. They are very helpful. I have learned that I seem to be mixing two different approaches to encryption. One involves a CA. The other is more grass roots, or using others to certify your identity as you build your Web of Trust.