Author Topic: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup [Closed]  (Read 43924 times)

Offline zoszos

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
  • Taxi anyone!
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup (Vista x32 & x64 and XP x32)
« Reply #15 on: June 29, 2007, 01:18:07 PM »
Thanks getting better all the time. Except Avast Anti Virus wont work with it  :'(.
But I will survive.
Zos
Windows 10 Pro
CIS
Asus P8 77-M
Intel i7 3770[at]3.4 GHz
G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3 12800 (800 MHz)
Gigabyte ATI HD 7700 Series Graphics
Corsair 120 GB  Sata 3 SSD
Seagate 500GB Sata 2 HDD
Power Supply Antec HGC-900 900W
Cooler Master Case

Offline shemeta

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup (Vista x32 & x64 and XP x32)
« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2007, 01:36:16 PM »
Vista Business 32:
I had been running the previous alpha version (but with Defense+ switched off after it forgot the rules I had reconstructed for the fourth or fifth time) and so running the new version's installer offered to uninstall it. Then I had to remove it via 'Add/Remove programs' and then remove the registry entry before I could install the new alpha.

Once that was done, it seems a great deal more polished than the first one and I like the explanations about the different activities. Looks like I need to correct the firewall rules again for our local network as I spent most of the time so far teaching Defense+ about the various programs I may need to run.

Could the setup program offer the choice of not putting an icon on the desktop, especially as it seems to be much lower resolution than the standard (Vista) desktop icons.

where is the registry entry? i can't find it.

thanks for helping a brother out.

Offline Bizarre™

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup (Vista x32 & x64 and XP x32)
« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2007, 02:01:11 PM »
CFP 2.4 is great, but CFP 3 looks very promising.
Can't wait for the final version to come out.
Imagination is more important than knowledge...
- Albert Einstein

Offline kail

  • Randomly Appearing
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11361
  • The future is much like the present, only longer.
    • COMODO's free software!
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup (Vista x32 & x64 and XP x32)
« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2007, 03:30:51 PM »
With the Install problem on XP, I found the registry entries at..

     HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\Software\Comodo\Firewall Pro

PS Hi Bizarre™, welcome to the forums. Glad you like CFP.. and where it is going. It is fairly cool.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2007, 03:32:29 PM by kail »
My System Details: W10Px64 with CIS 10 Beta, Firefox & Becky!
Forum Policy.
____
The problem is not the problems, the problem is people's attitude towards those problems.

Offline shemeta

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup (Vista x32 & x64 and XP x32)
« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2007, 04:38:58 PM »
With the Install problem on XP, I found the registry entries at..

     HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\Software\Comodo\Firewall Pro

PS Hi Bizarre™, welcome to the forums. Glad you like CFP.. and where it is going. It is fairly cool.

Thank you!

Offline wilpower

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 167
  • THINK LIKE YOU CARE LIVE LIKE YOU MEAN IT.
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup (Vista x32 & x64 and XP x32)
« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2007, 09:57:08 PM »
Thanks getting better all the time. Except Avast Anti Virus wont work with it  :'(.
But I will survive.
Zos
Is this problem an isolated situation with this particular user?? Or are all users of AVAST having issues with CFP v.3 Alpha?
I use Avast v.4.7 Pro. Edition and would appreciate any input/insight from any Alpha testers. (:WAV)
Thanks in advance. (:KWL)
Holy Crap!!...More then one star.

"Use of COMODO Security Programs is not only Advised"  Use is Highly Recommend!!

Offline kail

  • Randomly Appearing
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11361
  • The future is much like the present, only longer.
    • COMODO's free software!
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup
« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2007, 10:13:52 PM »
I've had no problems with Avast HE 4.7 & CFP 3. However, since I have CFP, I do not use Avast's Network or Web Shield. And these areas could easily be contentious between CFP & Avast. As far as I know, Zos is only person to report problems between Avast & CFP so far.
My System Details: W10Px64 with CIS 10 Beta, Firefox & Becky!
Forum Policy.
____
The problem is not the problems, the problem is people's attitude towards those problems.

Offline wilpower

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 167
  • THINK LIKE YOU CARE LIVE LIKE YOU MEAN IT.
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup
« Reply #22 on: June 29, 2007, 10:22:29 PM »
Thanks kail.....As always, appreciated.
I'll give it a try soon. (:KWL)
Holy Crap!!...More then one star.

"Use of COMODO Security Programs is not only Advised"  Use is Highly Recommend!!

Offline Stevo

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup
« Reply #23 on: June 30, 2007, 03:34:26 AM »
Thanks for the new version!

Stevo
Windows XP SP2, CPF 2.4, Gdata Antivirenkit 2007

Offline wolfy667

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup
« Reply #24 on: June 30, 2007, 11:57:07 AM »
Hi all

Got avast and cf  working together without problem :)
i had only a prob when i did the first install don't know why everything was stuck.I used safe mode to uninstall cf. restarted normal mode then shut down windows firewall and then installed cf and it works.

:)

Offline zoszos

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
  • Taxi anyone!
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup
« Reply #25 on: June 30, 2007, 12:17:29 PM »
Looks like Avast could work for me will have to find out my problem.
Zos
Windows 10 Pro
CIS
Asus P8 77-M
Intel i7 3770[at]3.4 GHz
G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3 12800 (800 MHz)
Gigabyte ATI HD 7700 Series Graphics
Corsair 120 GB  Sata 3 SSD
Seagate 500GB Sata 2 HDD
Power Supply Antec HGC-900 900W
Cooler Master Case

Offline kail

  • Randomly Appearing
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11361
  • The future is much like the present, only longer.
    • COMODO's free software!
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup
« Reply #26 on: June 30, 2007, 01:15:05 PM »
Zos, mrm1 reports here that he could not connect to the web until he had deactivated Avast's Web Shield.
My System Details: W10Px64 with CIS 10 Beta, Firefox & Becky!
Forum Policy.
____
The problem is not the problems, the problem is people's attitude towards those problems.

Offline wilpower

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 167
  • THINK LIKE YOU CARE LIVE LIKE YOU MEAN IT.
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup
« Reply #27 on: June 30, 2007, 02:36:54 PM »
Thanks kail.....As always, appreciated.
I'll give it a try soon. (:KWL)
Just uninstalled CFP v. 2.4 and went for v.3.0.2.5 Alpha.
NO PROBLEMS installing and NO PROBLEMS with Avast v.4.7 Professional ED......so far!
Was wondering whether the "show Tray Animation" option is available with the Alpha version, as I like that option and I have it Checked, however nothing is showing that I can see ???
Anyway, once I get REALLY acquainted with the new program I'll be in a better place to comment further.
Thanks COMODO (:KWL)
Holy Crap!!...More then one star.

"Use of COMODO Security Programs is not only Advised"  Use is Highly Recommend!!

Offline zoszos

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
  • Taxi anyone!
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup
« Reply #28 on: June 30, 2007, 02:51:48 PM »
Zos, mrm1 reports here that he could not connect to the web until he had deactivated Avast's Web Shield.

Tried that and Network Shield. As soon as CFP3 loads the Avast icon stops spining and most other programmes stop responding. I should mention that all was ok with the first alpha but as soon as I installed the second alpha Avast had it problems.

I will now look for a different Anti Virus till the next alpha/beta.
Zos
Windows 10 Pro
CIS
Asus P8 77-M
Intel i7 3770[at]3.4 GHz
G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3 12800 (800 MHz)
Gigabyte ATI HD 7700 Series Graphics
Corsair 120 GB  Sata 3 SSD
Seagate 500GB Sata 2 HDD
Power Supply Antec HGC-900 900W
Cooler Master Case

Offline mrm1

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
Re: Comodo Firewall Pro 3.0.2.5 Alpha Setup
« Reply #29 on: June 30, 2007, 04:03:39 PM »
To start with, after rebooting, i had not web access at all, and no pop ups from CPF. I change CPF settings to "Learn All" for both fire wall, and defence+. Immediatly CPF started its pop ups, allowing my apps to access the internet. As soon as the first pop ups started, I switch both back to learn safe only. Since then CPF is working very well. Also, if you have not looked in the above thread as kail poited out, I have got over the Avast webscanner issue by inputing a proxy of 127.0.0.1:12080 in to IE & Firefox.

It's Free. Forever. No Catch. No Kidding.

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek