Author Topic: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works [CLOSED]  (Read 78712 times)

Offline antery

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #210 on: October 24, 2007, 04:37:43 PM »
Sorry for the late reply  :-[

The driver can be deleted and it's not running more.



Aye did test port, still nothing :(:(

And andyman35 cheers! That's a cracking software!  (:CLP)

Offline gibran

  • Average User
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5056
  • A bad workman always blames his tools
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #211 on: October 24, 2007, 05:43:01 PM »
Did you remove KL1 Kaspersky anti-hacker control driver?

please try to restore the original tcpip.sys then launch sigverif.exe and let it scan for unsigned drivers.

Please check your firewall forwarding rules or test it in DMZ mode (only use this mode for few minutes as your pc will become directly accessible from the net)

Setting Up A Default DMZ Server
The Default DMZ Server feature is helpful when using some online games and videoconferencing
applications that are incompatible with NAT. The router is programmed to recognize some of these
applications and to work properly with them, but there are other applications that may not function
well. In some cases, one local computer can run the application properly if that computer’s IP
address is entered as the Default DMZ Server.

Incoming traffic from the Internet is normally discarded by the router unless the traffic is a
response to one of your local computers or a service that you have configured in the Ports menu.
Instead of discarding this traffic, you can have it forwarded to one computer on your network. This
computer is called the Default DMZ Server.

How to Configure a Default DMZ Server
To assign a computer or server to be a Default DMZ server, follow these steps:
1. Log in to the router at its default LAN address of http://192.168.0.1/ with its default User Name
of admin, default password of password, or using whatever Password and LAN address you
have chosen for the router.
2. From the Main Menu, under Advanced, click the WAN Setup link
3. Select the Default DMZ Server check box.
4. Type the IP address for that server (your PC fixed LAN IP).
5. Click Apply to save your changes.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2007, 05:52:34 PM by gibran »
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move."- Douglas Adams

Offline antery

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #212 on: October 24, 2007, 07:01:30 PM »
Yes, I removed it and it's not under device manager anymore.

I have restored tcpip.sys and sigverif.exe found it.

Tried DMZ server, still getting
Starting TCP connection test...
TCP test failed! UDP test will not be performed.
Connection test finished.

:(

Offline gibran

  • Average User
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5056
  • A bad workman always blames his tools
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #213 on: October 24, 2007, 07:51:32 PM »
sigverif list only unsigned drivers. This mean that tcpip.sys is corrupted or patched. :o
is your windows firewall enabled? is emule in your WF allowed list?
what other security software you run (AV, antispiwares...)?
did you test using a clean emule install?
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move."- Douglas Adams

Offline antery

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #214 on: October 25, 2007, 06:32:51 AM »
 :o

Looks like I need a new copy of tcpip.sys then  :o
According to antispy, it's not patched atm.

I run nod32 AV, AVG anti-spyware, and WF is disabled.

Yeah tried clean emule install, still gettint tcp test failed

Offline andyman35

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1579
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #215 on: October 25, 2007, 07:48:19 AM »
:o

Looks like I need a new copy of tcpip.sys then  :o
According to antispy, it's not patched atm.

I run nod32 AV, AVG anti-spyware, and WF is disabled.

Yeah tried clean emule install, still gettint tcp test failed

You can edit this file to remove the imposed limit on the number of connections,by  using the info on here:

http://www.speedguide.net/read_articles.php?id=1497

Alternatively you can download the file from here:

http://www.zeropaid.com/bbs/showthread.php?t=24715

Apparently there have been some issues with malware hijacking tcpip.sys

This may well help your P2P situation.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2007, 08:01:54 AM by andyman35 »

Offline YANKEE

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
COMODO Firewall and KASPERSKY Anti Virus
« Reply #216 on: October 25, 2007, 09:48:50 AM »
I wonder if the beta firewall is comaptible with this AV ?? Present I always get a warning from Kaspersky that it is incompatible with the Comodo Firewall 2.4 ... has this issue been adressed?  ???
"A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on" Winston Churchill

Offline gibran

  • Average User
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5056
  • A bad workman always blames his tools
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #217 on: October 25, 2007, 10:56:12 AM »
:o

Looks like I need a new copy of tcpip.sys then  :o
According to antispy, it's not patched atm.

I run nod32 AV, AVG anti-spyware, and WF is disabled.

Yeah tried clean emule install, still gettint tcp test failed

Try to rename tcpip.original to tcpip.sys try also tcpip.flg
« Last Edit: October 25, 2007, 10:57:55 AM by gibran »
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move."- Douglas Adams

Offline Little Mac

  • Forum Volunteer
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 6303
  • The Colonel told me to.
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #218 on: October 25, 2007, 01:03:35 PM »
Present I always get a warning from Kaspersky that it is incompatible with the Comodo Firewall 2.4 ... has this issue been adressed?  ???
Melih told me some time back that they were working to make sure that v3 would not be "vulnerable" to this problem.  I do not know anything more than that, but I think I recall seeing some report some KAV compatibility problems; perhaps on an earlier version of the Beta?  Not sure...

LM
These forums are focused on providing help and improvement for Comodo products.  Please treat other users with respect and make a positive contribution.  Thanks.
Forum Policy

Offline Searinox

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
  • Do you like fire? I'm full of it.
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #219 on: October 26, 2007, 08:17:52 AM »
Does version 3 have any way toprotect it from 3rd party programs trying to kill it? I can kill both processes via task manager easily, which doesn't happen with NIS or ZA Pro.

Offline StormyMind

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #220 on: October 26, 2007, 09:34:35 AM »


Comodo Beta vulnerability, 6 minutes time for keyloggers and screenshooters from boot up.

Offline panic

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11813
  • Linux is free only if your time is worthless.;-)
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #221 on: October 26, 2007, 06:56:38 PM »
[at] stormymind,

CFP also uses a kernel level driver which is loaded, initialised and running long before a user can login and see the desktop, let alone the CFP UI. I'll see if I can get confirmation of the drivers effectiveness against keyloggers and will post the results back here.

cheers,
Ewen :-)
As your mums would say, "If you can't play nice with all the other kiddies, go home".
All users are asked to please read and abide by the  Comodo Forum Policy.
If you can't conform, don't use the forum.

soyabeaner

  • Guest
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works
« Reply #222 on: October 26, 2007, 07:09:35 PM »
Sorry to close down the party, but now that the new CFP 3.0.10.238 BETA is released, further questions on how it works should be in this new thread: 
http://forums.comodo.com/cfp_beta_corner/cfp_3010238_beta_questions_about_how_it_works-t14007.0.html

Please continue this over there.  Thanks :)

Offline Searinox

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
  • Do you like fire? I'm full of it.
Open ports?!
« Reply #223 on: November 07, 2007, 09:29:49 AM »
I ran many many online scans, all turned out secure. Then I ran radmin's Advanced Port Scanner(note: I do NOT have radmin itself installed), and the following ports were found open.

25 110 135 139 445 912 5101 5357 49152 49153 49154 49155 49156 49157

I went to global rules and created block in/out TCP/UDP from any to any where source port is any and destination is [open port sets from above].

I then ran the scan again, and got the same results. What's going on here? Also the firewall isn't even logging the attempts, although it logs those off test sites.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2007, 09:34:34 AM by Searinox »

Offline panic

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11813
  • Linux is free only if your time is worthless.;-)
Re: CFP 3.0.9.229 BETA - Questions about how it works [CLOSED]
« Reply #224 on: November 20, 2007, 05:24:31 PM »
Are you behnd a router? If so, the router is being tested, not your PC behind the router. check the IP of your PC against the IP being tested.

Ewen :-)
As your mums would say, "If you can't play nice with all the other kiddies, go home".
All users are asked to please read and abide by the  Comodo Forum Policy.
If you can't conform, don't use the forum.

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek