Author Topic: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works  (Read 54761 times)

Offline gibran

  • Average User
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5056
  • A bad workman always blames his tools
Re: Can't export configuration under Vista
« Reply #30 on: November 09, 2007, 10:39:09 AM »
Vista Ultimate on a Toshiba P205, Avast.  Running as Administrator.  Trying to export configuration gives error message "Unable to Export Configuration-Make sure you have enough rights for this path" no matter the path.  What needs to be done?  Didn't work in 3.0.10 either.

Does it fail to save also in My documents folder? Or the shared documents folder?

Anyway this is a sideeffect of Vista privileges handling.
A tester found a workaround. You need to close CFP and run it as Administrator (use right click)
« Last Edit: November 09, 2007, 10:41:30 AM by gibran »
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move."- Douglas Adams

Offline Searinox

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
  • Do you like fire? I'm full of it.
Are Safe Files still saved in RC1?
« Reply #31 on: November 09, 2007, 11:35:47 AM »
There isn't an option to import them from a list so I had to add mine all over again. :( After that I exported all the settings, thinking they must be unified in one single config which makes sense, and then I opened the config in notepad and searched for anything hinding to the names of safe files. I couldn't find anything. Are Safe Files saved or savable anymore?

Offline Dennis2

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 9663
Re: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works
« Reply #32 on: November 09, 2007, 02:11:51 PM »
Vista Ultimate on a Toshiba P205, Avast.  Running as Administrator.  Trying to export configuration gives error message "Unable to Export Configuration-Make sure you have enough rights for this path" no matter the path.  What needs to be done?  Didn't work in 3.0.10 either.
If you use (right click Run as a Administrator) do not tick the box Block all unknown requests if the application is closed because this stops you using the Run as Administrator command.
Dennis
Moderator: Aims Forum a friendly place. Any concerns? Please PM me and/or review the Forum Policy 2012Updated.
System: Centos 7.9 x64, APF, HTTPS Everywhere, ABP, NoScript
 Fedora 33 x64, APF, HTTPS Everywhere, ABP

sded

  • Guest
How to remove the rest of Comodo???
« Reply #33 on: November 09, 2007, 02:37:08 PM »
Vista Ultimate. Avast!, Defender.  Trying to export hit so many snags I think I'll wait for the final.   >:( Tried the "run as adminstrator", and when I rebooted Comodo would no longer load and stopped loading of following processes.  Everything except Comodo seemed to work could manually load the other startup tasks; just no firewall.  Comodo loaded a 44KB stub for cfe.exe along with cmdagent.exe service and stopped.  The process and service could not be terminated and restarted; got an error message saying not authorized.  So unistalled from safe mode.  Went to regedit 32 to remove references to Comodo.  Couldn't uninstall the LEGACY keys though?  Why not?  When I rebooted, there is still a Comodo Firewall Miniport 3 listed as a device in DU Meter, and  Security Center is still getting an indication that CFP is on.  Could have lived with all that, but tried running as adminstrator again.  Forgot to terminate the existing CFP first; executing CFP again spawned a second copy with the same 44KB stub, same problems, same solution.  Currently using Windows Firewall and a false indication of CFP.  So for now, questions are:

1) How do I get the false CFP indicator out of Security Center?
2) How do  get rid of the LEGACY keys?
3) How do I get rid of the CFP miniport as a device?

If I can figure out how to do these things, then I might try the next RC, otherwise wait for final.

Offline Dennis2

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 9663
Re: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works
« Reply #34 on: November 09, 2007, 02:44:08 PM »

1) How do I get the false CFP indicator out of Security Center?
2) How do  get rid of the LEGACY keys?
3) How do I get rid of the CFP miniport as a device?

If I can figure out how to do these things, then I might try the next RC, otherwise wait for final.
I can only help you with the Legacy keys.
You have change the permissions to be able to delete them.
Dennis
Moderator: Aims Forum a friendly place. Any concerns? Please PM me and/or review the Forum Policy 2012Updated.
System: Centos 7.9 x64, APF, HTTPS Everywhere, ABP, NoScript
 Fedora 33 x64, APF, HTTPS Everywhere, ABP

sded

  • Guest
Re: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works
« Reply #35 on: November 09, 2007, 04:34:06 PM »
Thanks Dennis2, but I can't seem to get that right either.  I find the LEGACY key with regedit, go to permissions/advanced and change the owner expicitly to me (sded instead of administrator, since I am logged on that way as the administrator).  Then when I try to change the owners rights to control all, I get another line for owners rights with all the permissions.  But still am not allowed to save the permissions.  Maybe step by step for one of them when you have time?  I'll just get them back when I reinstall Comodo, but would like to know how to do it anyway.  The Security Center is really of most interest.  Thanks; Ed.

sded

  • Guest
Re: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works
« Reply #36 on: November 09, 2007, 05:42:49 PM »
Vista Ultimate.  Tried yet another reinstall of RC1.  This time the firewall was hosed again, and the diagnostics didn't work-back to where I started.  So unistalled it again without going to safe mode.  This time Only the Windows Firewall shows up, along with the Comodo Miniport in DU Meter.   The restored Windows Firewall-the "Advanced" tab only shows the dialup and VPN networks as selectable objects; the LAN networks are not listed.  Also Device Manager stopped working-no longer lists devices.  All the installing and rebooting seems to have wreaked havoc.   So went back to a previous disk  image with 3.0.10.  Tried the right click and admininstrator privileges; rebooted and again got the unusable cfp.exe stub,  Comodo didn't load although this image was otherwise working perfectly.  Uninstalled Comodo and went back to Windows firewall.  See you when it's final (I'll make another Acronis image before I try it). ;)  Too many installation problems for my system.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2007, 01:27:26 PM by sded »

Offline fhkh

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
Re: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works
« Reply #37 on: November 09, 2007, 07:14:42 PM »
In cfp RC1 the defense+ is similar with HIPS, is it true?
In such a case is there an advantage to disable the HIPS Application control at CAVS 2.0.17.58 and trust in CFP RC1 defense+ only?  Or should I activate both of these modules?
Thanks in advance and sorry if such a question already asked before.

Offline The Joker

  • Computer Security Testing Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 564
  • Let’s put a smile on that face!
Comodo Memory Guardian
« Reply #38 on: November 10, 2007, 12:06:41 AM »
Hello all!

I would like to know if Comodo Memory Guardian will be a part of CFP 3.0 or not. Anyone knows?

Thanks! (S)
HP Pavilion DV4 2040BR l Windows 7 SP1 Home Premium x64 l CIS 7.0 BETA (Proactive Security) (AV: Stateful l FW: Safe Mode l HIPS: Safe Mode l Sandbox: Fully Virtualized)

______________________________

It's all part of the plan!

Offline Goose19

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1218
Re: Comodo Memory Guardian
« Reply #39 on: November 10, 2007, 01:45:39 AM »
From what i have read.. Yes Comodo Memory Guardian will be in CFP 3.0
System Specs:  Pentium 4 with HT 3.06 Ghz,  1.5GB RAM, 160 GB WDC HD, Nvidia Geforce 7600GT 256MB DDR3



New Build: AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000 3.1 Ghz  4 Gb RAM 320GB WDC Hard Drive 650 watt quad rail Power supply(overkill :D) 9500GT Hybrid SLi with 8200 (onboard video) Decent Gaming rig :)

Offline rambo

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 530
Updates
« Reply #40 on: November 10, 2007, 04:25:38 AM »
I should be able to find the answer to this,but i can't
Are we,from now on,going to be able to download RC2 or whatever straight on top of RC 1.
Thanks for a great Firewall
I feel sure that it will become the industry standard very quickly
Best Regards

Offline Searinox

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
  • Do you like fire? I'm full of it.
Re: Comodo Memory Guardian
« Reply #41 on: November 10, 2007, 04:40:17 AM »
Is that planned for the final 3.0 version or to be added some time later after CFP 3 is released? Because the firewall's at RC1 and there have been no releases of the two merged programs.

soyabeaner

  • Guest
Re: Comodo Memory Guardian
« Reply #42 on: November 10, 2007, 06:58:11 AM »
That will be after CFP 3 final as stated by Comodo on one of the earlier betas.

Offline Zeus

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
How to set a rule?
« Reply #43 on: November 10, 2007, 08:02:47 AM »
Could anybody tell me how to  set a rule block a EXE was created in  'Temporary Internet Files' folder ?

I cann't find way.

Offline RiGoRmOrTiS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Vista Updates (Still won't install with RC1)
« Reply #44 on: November 10, 2007, 09:07:02 AM »
Hi,

Even with CFW RC1 windows updates for vista won't install. Do we really need to un-installed comodo everytime Microsoft release an update? or is there a work around for this?

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek