Author Topic: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works  (Read 54557 times)

Offline gibran

  • Average User
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5056
  • A bad workman always blames his tools
CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works
« on: November 08, 2007, 07:48:40 AM »
Post here your questions about V3 configuration issues and settings explanations.
Please change the subject to describe your post.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2007, 08:26:06 AM by gibran »
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move."- Douglas Adams

sded

  • Guest
RC1 No Longer Recognizes Proxies
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2007, 08:37:24 AM »
Finally got RC1 firewall working after a few reinstalls-had to select the option of doing everything myself, instead of letting Comodo do it to get it to work.  Noticed one major change from 3.0.10-Comodo no longer recognizes proxies, which it did previously.  I use Stunnel to access email, so that neither Thunderbird or Popman see any IP but 127.0.0.1 .  Neither shows up on Network Security Policy list now, although stunnel still does.  Don't know whether this is a bug or just a change in philosophy-different firewalls (Kerio, Sygate, ...) have handled it both ways in the past.

Offline FireBreather

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
NO CONFIGURATION OPTIONS OFFERED
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2007, 10:48:21 AM »
I am not having any problems.  Diagnostics finds no problems.  But at RC status to still have *no* configuration screens of any kind whatsoever offered at install canNOT be a good thing.  I.E., 'BAM!', it is installed and you are on your own config-wise.  Any ideas anyone?

Offline WilliamP

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
Ver. 3 RC1 and SSM
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2007, 10:59:56 AM »
Can Ver.3 RC1 Firewall only run with System Safety Monitor?

sded

  • Guest
Re: NO CONFIGURATION OPTIONS OFFERED
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2007, 11:13:24 AM »
Try uninstalling and reinstalling.  I got lots of reconfiguration screens, one of which killed the firewall (apparently) if I selected the option for Comodo to manage things.  Vista Ultimate, upgrading from 3.0.10. >:(

Offline gibran

  • Average User
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5056
  • A bad workman always blames his tools
Re: Ver. 3 RC1 and SSM
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2007, 11:28:52 AM »
Can Ver.3 RC1 Firewall only run with System Safety Monitor?

You should disable Defense+ (V3 hips) in order to use System Safety Monitor
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move."- Douglas Adams

Offline gibran

  • Average User
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5056
  • A bad workman always blames his tools
Re: RC1 No Longer Recognizes Proxies
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2007, 11:31:42 AM »
Finally got RC1 firewall working after a few reinstalls-had to select the option of doing everything myself, instead of letting Comodo do it to get it to work.  Noticed one major change from 3.0.10-Comodo no longer recognizes proxies, which it did previously.  I use Stunnel to access email, so that neither Thunderbird or Popman see any IP but 127.0.0.1 .  Neither shows up on Network Security Policy list now, although stunnel still does.  Don't know whether this is a bug or just a change in philosophy-different firewalls (Kerio, Sygate, ...) have handled it both ways in the past.

Maybe V3 does not catch these apps if they start before CFP. Close them and restart these apps. Make them generate some traffic. If there is no alert you should try to uninstall from safe mode or throubleshhot possible conflict with other security apps.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2007, 11:34:03 AM by gibran »
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move."- Douglas Adams

Offline adric

  • "Start every day with a smile and get it over with."
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
  • "I am not young enough to know everything. "
Re: Ver. 3 RC1 and SSM
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2007, 11:36:49 AM »
You should disable Defense+ (V3 hips) in order to use System Safety Monitor

Does the installer warn you when SSM is installed like it does when Process Guard is installed?

It might be of interest to some of us to know what applications the installer currently has on its list that it considers incompatible.

Al

sded

  • Guest
Re: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2007, 11:46:05 AM »
Thunderbird generates a normal network firewall rule response in 3.0.11 if I access the internet directly (a pop3 server, port 995, for example).  If I go through the Avast! transparent proxy and Stunnel (127.0.0.1, port 12111 which is virus checked by Avast! after Stunnel sets up the connection to pop3 server, port 995) Comodo no longer recognizes it as an internet request.  It did on 3.0.10.  And different firewalls in the past have had different policies for proxies-Sygate was famous for this proxy hole, for example.  I have closed and restarted a number of times, and get the same behavior with mail monitoring programs like PopMan, Mailwasher Pro.  And I do get the "Defense+ is learning" messages.  For PopMan D+, for example, only "loopback networking" access rights are allowed, which is correct (others marked ask); just surprised that the firewall no longer deals with it.  An RC is much too late to need to uninstall via safe mode-will wait to see what the next RC brings.  3.0.10 (where proxies were handled correctly) is the only previous Comodo version that has been installed.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2007, 11:52:54 AM by sded »

Offline WilliamP

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
Re: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2007, 12:05:36 PM »
On installation it  does balk about SSM. I only installed the firewall,but it still has a problem.

Offline gibran

  • Average User
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5056
  • A bad workman always blames his tools
Re: Ver. 3 RC1 and SSM
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2007, 12:58:39 PM »
Does the installer warn you when SSM is installed like it does when Process Guard is installed?

It might be of interest to some of us to know what applications the installer currently has on its list that it considers incompatible.

Al
A firewall is currently installed on this computer. Two or more firewalls installed together can conflict with each other.
  • McAfee Personal Firewall Plus 7.1.113
  • Norton Personal Firewall 8.0.5.14
  • Outpost Firewall Pro 6.0.2162.8224
  • Trend Micro PC-cillin Internet Security 15.20.1151 (Firewall)
  • Sunbelt Personal Firewall 4.5.916.0
  • Sygate Personal Firewall 5.6
  • Tiny Desktop Firewall 6.5.92
  • Trend Micro Internet Security
  • Zone Alarm 7.0.408.000

Another product which can conflict with Defense+ is installed on this computer. Install COMODO Firewall Pro as a 'Basic Firewall'
  • Process Guard 3.150
  • Pro Security 1.30
  • System Safe Monitor 2.0.8.583
  • Dynamic Security Agent 1.0.6.27
« Last Edit: November 08, 2007, 01:06:14 PM by gibran »
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move."- Douglas Adams

Offline WilliamP

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
Re: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works
« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2007, 01:23:43 PM »
I installed the basic firewall and still it won't work.

Offline gibran

  • Average User
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5056
  • A bad workman always blames his tools
Re: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Questions about how it works
« Reply #12 on: November 08, 2007, 01:34:59 PM »
I installed the basic firewall and still it won't work.
Please develop the issue or file a bugreport complliant with the bugreporting requirements.
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move."- Douglas Adams

Offline nick55555

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 112
CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Strange Packet Blocking
« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2007, 02:10:31 PM »
Hello,
I have a question based on my firewall log. There are weird entries as it shows on the picture i attached. I'm behind a NAT/Router with no port forwards and UPNP is disabled.  Why CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 blocks inbound connections? i haven't forwarded these ports...

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline gibran

  • Average User
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5056
  • A bad workman always blames his tools
Re: CFP 3.0.11.246 RC1- Strange Packet Blocking
« Reply #14 on: November 08, 2007, 02:39:47 PM »
Hello,
I have a question based on my firewall log. There are weird entries as it shows on the picture i attached. I'm behind a NAT/Router with no port forwards and UPNP is disabled.  Why CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 blocks inbound connections? i haven't forwarded these ports...

Actually there is an issue with logging. V3 log also RST packets (usually sent when an external host attempt to terminate a connection)
The issue would be if that RST is actually blocked or not.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2007, 02:44:31 PM by gibran »
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move."- Douglas Adams

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek