Author Topic: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]  (Read 46924 times)

Offline Mert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
I have a problem with Comodo Firewall 3 on my vista loaded computer. When the OS is starting, it stays on the welcome screen for a long time then the desktop shows up, but the startup programs are get loaded in longer than usual too. It is not little longer, in that case I wouldn't bother but it takes ages. Is there any solution for this? thanks.


AMD X2 3800
2GB 667 Mhz RAM
32 bit Vista Home Pre.

 
« Last Edit: November 20, 2007, 12:31:35 AM by Mert »

Offline amews_aj

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2007, 12:16:29 PM »
After installing the CFP 3 final the boot time is very long on my vista 32bit.
On startup windows says "Please wait" for more than 5 minutes.
And loading the desktop is also very slow.

Why? (:AGY) :THNK

EDIT: It only happens while Defense+ is enabled!
« Last Edit: November 20, 2007, 12:39:40 PM by amews_aj »

Offline amews_aj

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2007, 01:35:13 PM »
I have the exact same problem

Josh123

  • Guest
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2007, 03:00:22 PM »
I rebooted to install CFP 3 Final not long ago... and I see AVAST loads but no Comodo Firewall Pro 3. I knew it was Avast! conflict because this also happened in RC1.

Uninstalling Avast! solves the problem, but I need another AV that works well under vista...

AVG I think has problems with vista "update database is newer then current release data or something" -AVG.

So any help would be appreciated!

tks  Josh.  (:KWL)

Offline helm1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2007, 03:17:34 PM »
I'm using avast with cpf v3. I have no problems...
BTW: I have disabeled VRDB generation in avast......

Offline amews_aj

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2007, 03:27:07 PM »
Updating avast to the latest version (released a few days ago) partly solved the problem!  (:KWL)

The welcome screen is now not a problem, but the background apps. are still loading slowly.  (:SAD)

EDIT: When creating rules that says that all apps are trusted, they are loading quickly too.
So I guess it is just a matter of creating rules for background apps.

 (V)
« Last Edit: November 20, 2007, 03:32:05 PM by amews_aj »

Offline Bros

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2007, 04:17:58 PM »
I am using avast and cfp v3 when i am clicking on installation exes such has cfp installer it reports the system hangs and locks up for a few seconds and the file is added to my pending files.

Additional Information:
comodo firewall version:3.0.1
os: windows xp sp2
internet: adsl shared through home lan
other secuirty program: avast antivirus 4.7.1074
permissions level: admin
« Last Edit: November 20, 2007, 04:30:24 PM by Bros »

Offline amews_aj

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2007, 04:22:01 PM »
Ehm, no, it is still bad after creating rules.
There must definately be some issues with comodo v3 + avast in vista

Offline Coolio10

  • Computer Security Testing Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 464
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2007, 04:25:57 PM »
That is because avast real time scanner is scanning at the same time comodo is adding to the list so there is no incompatibility really.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2007, 04:27:37 PM by Coolio10 »
(\__/)
(='.'=)
('')_('')

Giveaway of the Day" style="border: none

sded

  • Guest
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2007, 04:46:04 PM »
(Vista Ultimate)I have a similar problem where loading stops, just getting a nonfunctional dead Comodo stub, after avast! is loaded and running, but only when I check "run as administrator" on the Comodo properties.  Saw this post and tried killing avast!, but had no impact on the problem-still just get a Comodo stub loaded after restarting comodo when I try "run as administrator".  I am also logged on as administrator.

Offline amews_aj

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2007, 04:59:21 PM »
Well this bug is very annoying,
the computer is booting very slowly.
For now, it is byebye comodo, even though I like comodo, I won't use it with this compatibility issue.
I will give it a try again, when someone fixes this problem.

Offline Coolio10

  • Computer Security Testing Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 464
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2007, 05:08:08 PM »
Well this bug is very annoying,
the computer is booting very slowly.
For now, it is byebye comodo, even though I like comodo, I won't use it with this compatibility issue.
I will give it a try again, when someone fixes this problem.
Have you asked avast? Comodo cannot fix the problem unless avast also does.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
('')_('')

Giveaway of the Day" style="border: none

Offline Bros

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2007, 05:14:34 PM »
This seems to be a conflic between the scanning of exes and defence+
the question is what excatly causes this
maybe its the image execution control...
in my case i know what that causes it is avast executable unpackers.

EDIT: ok now this is serious all the files that i got a hang on got corrupted (:AGY) guess ill install comodo firewall 2 till this is fixed what a disappointment.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2007, 06:17:40 PM by Bros »

Offline Tarun

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 103
  • https://www.lunarsoft.net/
    • Lunarsoft
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2007, 06:22:04 PM »
Having this issue without avast.  No tray icon appears either.

XP SP2 fully updated.  3.4GHz P4 with HT Tech, 2GB RAM.

Offline Mert

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: BootTime/Start Up Hang when using Avast (V3.0.12 x32) [BUGREPORT]
« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2007, 08:34:10 PM »
Everyone who has the same problem with Avast+Comodo combination, please try to update the avast to the latest version, computer's booting will be faster, not so fast but faster. 
« Last Edit: November 20, 2007, 09:10:04 PM by Mert »

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek