Author Topic: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit  (Read 48357 times)

Offline SS26

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1925
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit
« Reply #15 on: April 05, 2008, 03:12:49 PM »
Hi,

Is apoint.exe (or whatever) allowed to access keybord directly (you can check this looking into computer security policy of Defense+ for apoint.exe permissions)?

If so, does problem disappear if you uncheck "keyboard" under Defense+ → Advanced → Defense+ Settings → Monitor Settings while all other options are checked there?

Offline brorsan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit
« Reply #16 on: April 07, 2008, 02:27:33 PM »
I am also having this problem with Apoint taking about 20% of my CPU.

I can confirm that the problem disappears when I uncheck keyboard monitoring as just described by goodbrazer.

Dell Inspiron 6000, Intel centrino 1.6Ghz, 2Gb ram
32bit XP Pro with SP2 (build 2600)
CFP version 3.0.21.329
Apoint version 5.5.101.156

Having firewall security level at "Custom Policy"
and Defense+ level at "Clean PC" with every monitoring active except keyboard
Apoint.exe is now consuming 0-2% of my CPU.


Offline indianrediff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit
« Reply #17 on: April 18, 2008, 04:45:21 PM »
I have a DELL Inspiron 8500 and canconfirm the exact same behaviour.

APoint version (as reported by Sysinternals Process Explorer - 5.05.0101.0156)

This has XP Home edition SP2 with AVG and Avast anti-virus, Firefox 2.0.0.14 (latest as of April 18th 2008) browser, WinPatrol as well as SpyBot. I am running Doppler.

As soon as I unchecked the keyboard in the Defense+ settings as described in this thread before, processor use dropped stunningly.

I, too, had noticed APoint hogging the CPU for the past few weeks, or is it months - not really sure. I used to remark on how hot my 5 year old laptop was getting and wondered what would happen if the fan stopped functioning!

I am willing to do some troubleshooting if necessary.

IndianRediff

Offline SS26

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1925
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit
« Reply #18 on: April 18, 2008, 04:51:15 PM »
This has XP Home edition SP2
Hi,
Do you have x32 or x64 windows os?
Can you please try latest 3.0.22.349 version of COMODO Firewall Pro and report back with results?

Can anybody else confirm same issue with latest version of CFP (don't forget to mention details of your system etc.)?
« Last Edit: April 18, 2008, 05:22:34 PM by Yuriy »

Offline mrraven

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit
« Reply #19 on: April 26, 2008, 11:36:50 PM »
I can confirm that defense + with keyboard monitoring causes a drastic increase in apoint.exe CPU usage on my Vaio FE770G with 2 gigs ram, core2duo 1.83 ghz.  With keyboard monitoring engaged apoint was using 10% with keyboard monitoring disengaged it goes back down to 1%.  I was wondering what the problem was and a google search brought me to this forum.  The version of Comodo is the version 3 that would have been on your servers yesterday.  I think it's a greet product BTW and good luck getting this problem fixed.

p.s. version x32 3.0.22.349
« Last Edit: April 26, 2008, 11:54:13 PM by mrraven »

Offline jpr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit
« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2008, 06:47:47 AM »
I am having this problem too with the latest version 3.0.22.349 and have had it with all version since I installed Comodo two months ago. I have a Dell Inspiron 6000 with 32 bit Windows XP MCE sp2.  My Alps driver version is 5.4.104.4. Not sure what other details you need from me but I'll check back to see if any questions were asked.

editing my post to add additional info that i've seen other include:
-apoint cpu goes up right after bootup and stays around 40% or higher
-if i uninstall comodo, apoint is 0%-2% at all times.
-if i disable keyboard monitoring in comodo defense, the apoint cpu drops from ~40% to 0% immediately. if i re-enable, it jumps back up immediately.
-i am also running bitdefender for anti-virus protection, but uninstalling that has no effect on apoint cpu
-my system info is: Intel Pentium M processor 1.70 ghz  983mhz  1Gb ram
-comodo settings - Network Defense is Safe mode, Proactive Defense is Clean PC mode. didn't change any advanced settings (except to test the keyboard monitoring for this bug).

 
« Last Edit: May 04, 2008, 05:35:24 PM by jpr »

Offline other1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit
« Reply #21 on: May 27, 2008, 10:22:39 PM »
same problem with ver. 3.0.24.368  as of 5-27-08  (xp pro sp2)
when i disabled keyboard monitor in advanced settings it stopped hogging the cpu
« Last Edit: May 27, 2008, 10:24:29 PM by other1 »

Offline nor_testuser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.25.378) 32bit
« Reply #22 on: June 01, 2008, 07:12:09 PM »

I confirm the same as the others. I run the following config:

Comodo fw v3.0.25.378
on
Dell Inspiron 6000
WinXP media center sp2

Stops eating the cpu when disabling keyb mon.

Offline Como-newb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit
« Reply #23 on: September 14, 2008, 09:49:07 AM »
There's been no posting on this for a several months - has a fix been found?

I have exactly the same problem - D+ causes apoint to use 20-40% of the CPU time as listed in in the task manager.
I have a Dell D-610, XP SP3
My Apoint.exe file is ver 5.5.1.297
Comodo is 3.0.25.378
Disabling all Keyboard checking in Comodo does fix it but disabling keyboard access only for the file in the "Computer Security Policy" settings of Comodo doesn't help.


I have found a workaround


Disabling the "Pointing Stick" option in the mouse properties (double-click the touchpad symbol at the right end of the task bar, go to device select tab, Pointing Stick radio button disabled).

What I find strange is that just selecting the disable button already slows down the CUP usage. The pointing stick still works but Apoint.exe drops the CPU usage to normal levels.

However, to make this work, the changes have to be applied but then the pointing stick doesn't work anymore. Thats fine for me because I don't need or use the stick, but if stick should remain active, just select the Disabled radion buitton and don't hit apply. The Mouse Properties box must remain open of course but it can just be moved somewhere mostly offscreen.

Would sure be great to get this fixed correctly.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2008, 09:50:56 AM by Como-newb »

Offline beartm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.25.378) 32bit
« Reply #24 on: October 24, 2008, 07:19:31 PM »
I can also confirm the same issue everyone else is experiencing.

Comodo Firewall: v3.0.25.378
Dell Inspiron 8600
Windows XP, SP3, latest patches, etc.
Alps Touchpad Driver: v5.4.102.12

Disable the keyboard monitoring, and CPU load vanishes ... otherwise it sits anywhere from 15% to 25%.

Obviously an issue in the Direct Access Keyboard Monitoring.

Would be good to finally get this fixed.

3xist

  • Guest
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit
« Reply #25 on: October 24, 2008, 09:57:30 PM »
COMODO Internet Security 3.5 is here.

You can install the Firewall using the same set up. Let us know if this new version solves this issue. Uninstall CFP 3 then install this one.

Josh

Offline jpr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit
« Reply #26 on: October 26, 2008, 03:45:54 AM »
I installed the new version and still have the issue. At first I thought it had improved but then when I went and checked the defense settings, I found that keyboard monitoring was disabled by default. When I enabled it, Apoint CPU shot back up to 40-60%.

Btw, the Apoint cpu was up a bit even with keyboard monitoring disabled. With Comodo not installed, Apoint stays at 0-2% on my machine. With Comodo latest 3.5 version installed (I did install the whole thing, including antivirus) at the default settings, Apoint was between 10-20%. And then as I said, with keyboard monitoring enabled (no other changes from default) it shot up to 40-60%.

3xist

  • Guest
Re: Defense+ causes CPU load on apoint.exe (v3.0.16.295) 32bit
« Reply #27 on: October 26, 2008, 04:53:20 AM »
Okay.

Can you post a bug report in the bug board in CIS pls.

Josh

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek