Author Topic: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%  (Read 50547 times)

Offline dkcom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« on: May 26, 2008, 01:45:30 PM »
firewall ver. 3.0.24.368 (and 364 same problem)
win xp2 sp3

cvtres.exe  uses 89-99% constantly and did not load related program wich user .net framework  (for me- an application from USB device)

disable (firewall and defence ) - did not help.
uninstalling  comodo firewall - helps

no such problems with early version of the firewall

Thanks for help or buf fix

Vettetech

  • Guest
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2008, 01:54:56 PM »
What is cvtres.exe first of all. Did you try putting D+ in training mode? Did you try to manually add that exe to D+?

Offline dkcom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2008, 04:06:18 PM »
cvtres i s windows .net framework related program

I try to lunch  program from usb device ("keepass.exe" actually).  it starts  cvc.exe which lunch cvtres.exe and stucks with 99%

cvtres.exe: The resource-to-object converter. This tool is often used to convert a binary resource file to an object file. Native resources usually start life as an .rc file, get compiled to a .res file using rc.exe, get converted to a .obj file using cvtres.exe, and finally get linked into your native application like every other .obj file

csc.exe: The Visual C# compiler.

training code - no help
disabled - no help






Offline dkcom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2008, 04:20:31 PM »
p.s.

manual - cvtres is already a safe application
manual - keepass - without change

Its possible that there is a problem working with USB devises in new comodo ver ?

Offline SS26

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1925
I experience very similar problem.

Description:
Loaded guard32.dll causes some .NET Framework components to not operate properly.


Steps to Reproduce:

1) install AutoCAD 2008, install CF (Comodo Firewall), set D+ to training mode;

2) launch AutoCAD, when all CF components (drivers, service, guard32.dll, gui) are up and running;


Actual Results:
Cvtres.exe hits 100% CPU usage and stays there forever (see screenshot), until terminated.

Build & Platform & Other security apps:
XP Home SP3 x32 (all latest updates), CF 3.0.24.368 (fresh install without toolbar), CMF 2.0.4.20.
.NET Framework 2.0 SP1 + RUS language pack.


Additional Information:
Preventing guard32.dll from loading in memory at system startup (renaming, deleting) completely solves problem for me. Note that other system and CF settings are unchanged, what make me think it is definitely related to guard32 library.
Most likely, CF 3.0.21 didn't have such problem.   

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: May 26, 2008, 06:51:37 PM by Yuriy »

Offline neo2008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2008, 10:49:57 PM »
Me too.

Install Visual Studio 2008, New | Project | Visual C# | Windows | Windows Forms Application, and Build,
then Cvtres.exe hits 99% CPU usage and stays there forever, until terminated.


Offline Searinox

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 537
  • Do you like fire? I'm full of it.
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2008, 04:57:59 AM »
Tell me if all you who've reported the problem have Comodo SafeSurf installed. Back in the CMF forum I reported a bug of this exact same problem.

http://forums.comodo.com/comodo_memory_firewall_beta_corner/comodo_memory_guardian_beta_v1016_bug_reports-t12960.0.html;msg97862#msg97862

Offline jtabos

  • Computer Security Testing Group
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 12
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2008, 12:48:32 PM »
Same problem here with this exe; yesterday I updated the firewall to the last version and soon realized that two different processes were loading ramdomly on memory moments after the start up. One of them was the cvtres.exe, with a 25% of CPU usage; the problem was that after this first one, two and finally three more instances were loaded -25% each- so the CPU usage soon reached  100%.
Today I decided to go back to the old 3.0.21.329 version and so far -3 hours later-, everything is working fine.
Even the port 135 seems to be closed now (at least it´s not listed in the "Active conecctions" window: it was "listening" with the new version). Read this report to see what I mean. http://forums.comodo.com/bug_reports/vista_64_3024368_major_bug_port_135_is_left_open_by_default-t23266.0.html

BTW, I don´t have installed the Safesurf, and the firewall is running with the default config.
Regards
Juan

HP Compaq  Quad Core Q6600 2.40 Ghz -all programs+drivers updated-
W Vista Home Premium Sp1 x32
3 Mb Ram
CMF
CBOClean
Nod32 v3
Defense+ in "Clean Pc mode"
« Last Edit: May 27, 2008, 12:50:32 PM by jtabos »

Offline dkcom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2008, 01:21:48 PM »
no surfsave instaleed - the problem of cvtres exist

I think that the same happens with java.exe too -very high CPU usage

Offline neo2008

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2008, 01:46:03 PM »
Uninstall CFP_Setup_3.0.24.368_XP_Vista_x32.exe, and Reinstall CFP_Setup_3.0.22.349_XP_Vista_x32.exe, everything is OK.
MY OS: XP Home SP3 x32 (all latest updates).


Reproduction :
After install CFP_Setup_3.0.24.368_XP_Vista_x32.exe, Defense+ Security Level set to "Disabled", "Monitor Settings" uncheck all, click Apply button.

Run cmd.exe open a command line window, then save attachment cvtres.txt to anywhere and goto there rename it to cvtres.exe and run it, it will hang.
Uninstall CFP_Setup_3.0.24.368_XP_Vista_x32.exe, and Reinstall CFP_Setup_3.0.22.349_XP_Vista_x32.exe, everything is OK.


Attachment cvtres.txt MD5 hash value:
e0d21bee6dae44a7c6e1896d7a8c7463
It's a C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\cvtres.exe.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: May 27, 2008, 01:52:06 PM by neo2008 »

Offline SS26

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1925
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2008, 02:31:41 PM »
Tell me if all you who've reported the problem have Comodo SafeSurf installed. Back in the CMF forum I reported a bug of this exact same problem.

http://forums.comodo.com/comodo_memory_firewall_beta_corner/comodo_memory_guardian_beta_v1016_bug_reports-t12960.0.html;msg97862#msg97862
No SafeSurf here installed. Didn't try to disable CMF and it's driver though, but don't see any reason, because in my case it is definitely connected to guard32.dll.

Edit: thanks for the tip, maybe one more CF-CMF confict will be revealed (one already reported).
Will try to play with CMF when reach machine with AutoCAD installed.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2008, 06:09:59 PM by Yuriy »

Offline e_1828

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2008, 09:49:51 AM »
Hi,

I have a SOMEWHAT similar problem:

with CFP_Setup_3.0.24.368_XP_Vista_x32.exe or CFP_Setup_3.0.22.349_XP_Vista_x32.exe installed if I try to build a project in Visual Studio 2008 the build process runs forever (VS gets frozen); the cvtres.exe process (launched by devenv.exe, i.e. by VS) takes 50% CPU time; CF does not show any messages and does not ask any questions; if I kill the cvtres.exe process visual studio becomes responsive (but the build remains incomplete, of course). This happens even if d+ is not installed and both VS and cvtres.exe are specified as trusted applications.

With ComodoFW_3.0.16.295_XP_Vista_x32.exe VS builds run without any problems. I have not tried any other versions of CF.


Offline SS26

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1925
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #12 on: May 31, 2008, 08:26:50 AM »
In addition to this  message.

Adding cvtres.exe to CMF exclusion list completely solves a problem for me. It seems it's another conflict between СF and CMF.
Very similar case.

Edit: sorry i forgot about people not familiar with these abbreviations.
So, CF = Comodo Firewall and CMF = Comodo Memory Firewall.
« Last Edit: June 08, 2008, 05:17:37 PM by Yuriy »

Offline gidof

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2008, 11:14:47 PM »
sorry for my poor english

i had same problems with applications loads cygwin1.dll (ex testdisk, cdrtools (cdrecord.exe,
 mkisofs.exe etc..)

Have had these problems once befor (~comodo 3.0.15 or so),but haven't had
3.0.16~3.0.21, and problems again from 3.0.22

Exiting CMF is not enough, I must stop cmfd.sys manualy



Offline jtabos

  • Computer Security Testing Group
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 12
Re: cvtres.exe (netframework) 99%
« Reply #14 on: June 01, 2008, 03:43:09 PM »
In addition to this  message.

Adding cvtres.exe to CMF exclusion list completely solves a problem for me. It seems it's another conflict between СF and CMF.
Very similar case.

Solved for me too.
Thanks for the info.

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek