Author Topic: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load  (Read 141181 times)

Offline hairbautt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2007, 11:11:58 AM »
It must be the Bricopack, because (as I previously posted) it worked fine up until a point and it just so happens that it ran at 100% after I installed the Vista 2 Bricopack from CrystalXP on a clean version of WinXP Home SP2. I also use windowblinds if that matters...

And I posted this in the last beta report, but got flogged because of SP3 beta  (:TNG) Which does make sense, I guess.

Offline moocow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2007, 01:17:01 PM »
SiSGbR Thanks for the tip. I've restarted with d+ disabled and I can finally use my computer as normal again!

However, I do not use a fingerprint sensor nor use Vista inspiriat or any other pack like that.
The only skinning thing I use is a hacked uxtheme.dll.

I dont have anything like you on my hijack-this log.
for example, I use nod32 (not avast), I use Opera (not Firefox), don't have blue-tooth installed, etc etc.
The only stuff that are the same are the default windows processes.

Offline SiSGbR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • misspellings? its not the keyboard, im german ;-)
    • SiS GbR
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #17 on: November 22, 2007, 01:30:18 PM »
well then it seems to be the uxtheme.dll
had time to do some testing at home.
i have installed v3.0.13.269 on two other systems without any theme-packs.
its running fine. no problems so far.
one system is nearly identical to the one i have the problems with - but without vista inspirat and some tools.



Offline moocow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #18 on: November 22, 2007, 02:27:12 PM »
I know what setting that is causing 100% CPU usage!



Uncheck "protected registry keys" and D+ wont use 100% CPU anymore! (atleast not on my system)

The way I found this: Unchecked everything, and checked them, one by one. The one causing the 100% CPU load is Protected registry keys!

Can anyone else confirm this?
« Last Edit: November 22, 2007, 02:30:02 PM by moocow »

Offline rjl24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #19 on: November 22, 2007, 02:50:13 PM »

Shinobiteno notified me that this topic is active, but I have not seen solutions.

Me:
XP HOME ,SP2.  using Comodo CFP 2 for about 2 years now.  Switched from Norton AV to Avast also.
Have been very pleased with CFP's seeming effect.

HP Pavilion notebook ZE 4230, 1.8Ghz, 512 RAM

Received a message via update in Comodo on Nov. 22, 2007 to update CFP 2 to CFP3 and went ahead, downloaded and allowed computer  to upgrade.  Installed V3 and reboot.

Then my CPU got clogged and 100% was consumed, apparently due to a Defense feature, or some such thing.

I have software called Process Explorer and it showed Comodo Agent doing all the CPU hogging.

Could not use any other software as 100% was being consumed, 96 to 98% of that to Comodo agent!

After one hour got too frustrated and went to System Restore and restored to a point prior to CFP3.

Now back to v 2 and wondering what went wrong?  How long must the Comodo Agent do its thing?

Please advise install settings if it is recommended to install the new version.

OR,

Ought I stay away from v 3 until bugs get taken out?

Afraid to install CFP3 for now.  And my system has crashed once also, not inspiring me to install CFP 3 too soon.  Took up too much time today especially.

Thanks in advance ,
Robert
HP Notebook, Pavilion, ZE 4230, 1.83 GHz, 512 RAM, 40 GB HDD, XP Home, SP2, external: 250 Gb HDD, NEC 3500AG, main security software: Comodo 2.4.18.184, and Avast 4.7

Offline rjl24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #20 on: November 22, 2007, 03:04:31 PM »
I know what setting that is causing 100% CPU usage!



Uncheck "protected registry keys" and D+ wont use 100% CPU anymore! (atleast not on my system)

The way I found this: Unchecked everything, and checked them, one by one. The one causing the 100% CPU load is Protected registry keys!

Can anyone else confirm this?








How did you get to that check/ uncheck box?  Please be detailed as i may reinstall v3 and give it a try.

Robert
HP Notebook, Pavilion, ZE 4230, 1.83 GHz, 512 RAM, 40 GB HDD, XP Home, SP2, external: 250 Gb HDD, NEC 3500AG, main security software: Comodo 2.4.18.184, and Avast 4.7

Offline adric

  • "Start every day with a smile and get it over with."
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
  • "I am not young enough to know everything. "
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #21 on: November 22, 2007, 03:08:31 PM »


How did you get to that check/ uncheck box?  Please be detailed as i may reinstall v3 and give it a try.

Robert

Look at the image. You know what they say .. a picture is worth a thousand words  ;D

Defense+ -> Advanced -> Defense+ Settings-> Monitor Settings

Al
« Last Edit: November 22, 2007, 03:11:57 PM by adric »

Offline SiSGbR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • misspellings? its not the keyboard, im german ;-)
    • SiS GbR
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #22 on: November 22, 2007, 03:36:16 PM »
I know what setting that is causing 100% CPU usage!



Uncheck "protected registry keys" and D+ wont use 100% CPU anymore! (atleast not on my system)

The way I found this: Unchecked everything, and checked them, one by one. The one causing the 100% CPU load is Protected registry keys!

Can anyone else confirm this?

that are great news!

could it really be that you saved my weekend.
i'll try it asap.


Offline SiSGbR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • misspellings? its not the keyboard, im german ;-)
    • SiS GbR
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #23 on: November 22, 2007, 03:53:45 PM »
ok, seems like you got it moocow!  (:CLP)

i enabled d+, disabled the registrykey protection, restart...

and:

system is up and running - and is reliable!

now we just have to find out if its the protection by its self or a key that is monitored under "defense+" -> "My Protected Registry Keys" i guess

greetings from germany!  :BNC
« Last Edit: November 22, 2007, 03:55:17 PM by SiSGbR »

Offline moocow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #24 on: November 22, 2007, 04:25:40 PM »
I'm glad that it worked for you aswell :)

Now it's up to the developers to check what part of the registry key protection that is causing the high CPU load.

Offline seed.helper

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 105
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #25 on: November 22, 2007, 04:47:24 PM »
WOW great news !!!  ;D

lol the version 2 of the firewall  updated today to 2.4.19.185  :)

i will wait a few more time because the firewall is allways asking me things   :P

well i admit is because the strong protection of the firewall...

sorry for my bad english

best regards
david

Offline Cephari

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • iKons by -kol
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #26 on: November 22, 2007, 08:17:56 PM »
I know what setting that is causing 100% CPU usage!



Uncheck "protected registry keys" and D+ wont use 100% CPU anymore! (atleast not on my system)

The way I found this: Unchecked everything, and checked them, one by one. The one causing the 100% CPU load is Protected registry keys!

Can anyone else confirm this?


Yes, I can confirm that this works. I had a very similar problem here, and after following your instructions, my system no longer hanged but started-up very smoothly (perhaps even faster!) Thank you very much, moocow! I am very grateful that I can still have Comodo installed on my system. Thank you again.

I'm glad that it worked for you aswell :)

Now it's up to the developers to check what part of the registry key protection that is causing the high CPU load.
Indeed. I have a feeling that this option was not meant to be disabled. So it would be appreciated if the developers have look at it.

Offline egemen

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3380
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #27 on: November 23, 2007, 12:03:26 AM »
Hi Guys,

It seems the problem is somehow related to modified themes and protected registry key access triggered by this.

I will be trying with the Inspira Pack to see if i can reproduce the behavior.

Can you guys try to find the problematic registry key in "My Protected Keys" section ?

You can test it like this :

* Enable the registry protection if disabled and then delete the entries in My Protected Keys one by one to see if issue is resolved. When the issue is resolved after deletion, the deleted key must be the problematic one that is being accessed.

This would help us to identify the problem better.

cmdagent.exe is simply a file scanner. Something must be being scanned over and over again...

Thx for the cooperation,
Egemen

Offline moocow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #28 on: November 23, 2007, 05:53:19 AM »
Cephari, great news! :)

egemen, Sure, I could test it. However, is there a way to save a backup of the settings?
(Don't really want to remove all of my protected registry keys and not be able to protect them again..)

By the way, this is not only cause by inspirat, it seems to be triggered by other packs aswell (like the Tango shell patcher).
« Last Edit: November 23, 2007, 05:55:05 AM by moocow »

Offline angelinthehell

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: comodo firewall v3.0.13.268 x32 CMDAGENT.EXE 100% CPU Load
« Reply #29 on: November 23, 2007, 11:32:00 AM »
I've just installed comodo firewall 3.0 and i'm facing the same issue: cmdagend.exe uses 100% of CPU.

But some test i've noticed that the ONLY option in Defence+ settings that makes this happen is "WINDOWS / WINEVENTS HOOKS" in "activities to monitor".
Now i have that option unchecked and  ALL others checked and i have no problem of cpu load.

What's the problem with the "windows/winevents hooks" options? What does it mean?
How can i fix it?
Maybe next release will fix it?

---------
Comodo v3.0.13.268 32-bit, WinXP Pro SP2, Nod32 v3.0.563.0
« Last Edit: November 23, 2007, 11:41:51 AM by angelinthehell »
---------
Comodo v3.0.13.268 32-bit, WinXP Pro SP2, Nod32 v3.0.563.0

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek