Author Topic: [Bug report] On some installs PrivDog won't block anything.  (Read 4740 times)

Offline Sanya IV Litvyak

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
  • Lurking
Hello,

Since there isn't a form to follow I will just write in a non-form way.

Sometimes when installing PrivDog it will not block anything, the counter stays at "0" and it will stay this way forever it seems, to fix you must first uninstall it and then install it again.

This has happened at least 3 times throughout my continuous re-installing of Comodo Dragon and Google Chrome, simply disabling and re-enabling the extension doesn't work.

Thank you,
Sanya IV Litvyak.
I support privacy and freedom online - eff.org

Offline Litster25

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
Re: [Bug report] On some installs PrivDog won't block anything.
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2013, 11:11:11 PM »
I'm having similar problems but with IceDragon and Firefox. It'll either be stuck on the number after being initially loaded up on my homepage or it'll just say "Not scanned." I tried uninstalling it and reinstalling but it still isn't working.  ???

Offline HeffeD

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 6827
Re: [Bug report] On some installs PrivDog won't block anything.
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2013, 11:21:12 AM »
I'm having similar problems but with IceDragon and Firefox. It'll either be stuck on the number after being initially loaded up on my homepage or it'll just say "Not scanned." I tried uninstalling it and reinstalling but it still isn't working.  ???

I'm seeing "Not scanned" a lot myself, in both Firefox and Dragon. Just out of curiosity, have you altered the GUI of Firefox in any way?

I haven't tried uninstalling/reinstalling as Sanya suggests, but I'll try that later.

Offline Sanya IV Litvyak

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4214
  • Lurking
Re: [Bug report] On some installs PrivDog won't block anything.
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2013, 11:27:50 AM »
I'm seeing "Not scanned" a lot myself, in both Firefox and Dragon. Just out of curiosity, have you altered the GUI of Firefox in any way?

I haven't tried uninstalling/reinstalling as Sanya suggests, but I'll try that later.
The problem I have with some installs means it will never work until re-installed, it won't ever block anything, so if it at least blocks something then it differs a bit from my problem so I don't know if re-install will work.
I support privacy and freedom online - eff.org

Offline Litster25

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
Re: [Bug report] On some installs PrivDog won't block anything.
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2013, 11:44:35 AM »
I'm seeing "Not scanned" a lot myself, in both Firefox and Dragon. Just out of curiosity, have you altered the GUI of Firefox in any way?

I haven't tried uninstalling/reinstalling as Sanya suggests, but I'll try that later.

I changed the order of some of the add-ons on the top right/took some out, that's pretty much it I think.

Offline HeffeD

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 6827
Re: [Bug report] On some installs PrivDog won't block anything.
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2013, 11:48:59 AM »
The problem I have with some installs means it will never work until re-installed, it won't ever block anything, so if it at least blocks something then it differs a bit from my problem so I don't know if re-install will work.

99% of the time it shows me the "Not scanned" message.

Even if through excessive reloading of a page, I can finally get it to say it has blocked something, all of the original page ads are still there. And not obscure ads either. Major players like Googleads! If it's saying it has done its job and leaves Googleads on there, it's not working...  ;)

This is even with all other extensions disabled.

So I'll try uninstalling when I get some time and see if that makes a difference.

Offline oyaremchuk

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo Loves me
  • *****
  • Posts: 162
Re: [Bug report] On some installs PrivDog won't block anything.
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2013, 11:20:53 PM »
99% of the time it shows me the "Not scanned" message.


Thank you for feedback. Our devs already know about this problem and will try to fix it in near future.
Oleg

Offline HeffeD

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 6827
Re: [Bug report] On some installs PrivDog won't block anything.
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2013, 04:11:46 PM »
This issue is now fixed according to a post Shane made in another thread.

Hi Guys,

The "Not Scanned" issue is now fixed in development, awaiting QA and we'll deploy a version as soon as we can.

If anyone who has the not scanned problem wants to get a non-public beta dev version and assist our testing please PM me and I'll send an XPI version to you.

Shane.

Offline Dch48

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2548
Re: [Bug report] On some installs PrivDog won't block anything.
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2013, 04:56:01 PM »
I'm seeing "Not scanned" a lot myself, in both Firefox and Dragon. Just out of curiosity, have you altered the GUI of Firefox in any way?

I haven't tried uninstalling/reinstalling as Sanya suggests, but I'll try that later.
I have yet to see that message in Dragon. It seems to work perfectly for me.
Avatar FX6327X Desktop
AMD FX-6300 6 core CPU
Sapphire R9-270X GPU
Windows 8.1 64 bit, IE11 & Outlook 2007
Comodo Internet Security 7.0 full package, MBAM on Demand

Offline Litster25

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
Re: [Bug report] On some installs PrivDog won't block anything.
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2013, 05:59:27 PM »
Hi Guys,

The "Not Scanned" issue is now fixed in development, awaiting QA and we'll deploy a version as soon as we can.

If anyone who has the not scanned problem wants to get a non-public beta dev version and assist our testing please PM me and I'll send an XPI version to you.

Shane.

 ;D

Offline HeffeD

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 6827
Re: [Bug report] On some installs PrivDog won't block anything.
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2013, 06:12:29 PM »
I have yet to see that message in Dragon. It seems to work perfectly for me.

That's great.

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek