Author Topic: COMODO Time Machine can not initialize operating system information  (Read 49231 times)

Offline Flykite

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
Re: COMODO Time Machine can not initialize operating system information
« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2010, 09:42:50 PM »
The installation fails with error "comodo time machine can not initialize operating system information" has been fixed, please download the new CTM version(2.9) and try again. You can get it from here: http://forums.comodo.com/beta-corner-ctm/comodo-time-machine-29161985187-beta-released-t61409.0.html

Offline Ryanc814

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: COMODO Time Machine can not initialize operating system information
« Reply #16 on: November 23, 2010, 09:07:27 AM »
Downloading now, going to test it out. Wish this wasnt on a beta version, but hey what can ya do!?

Thanks Flykite.

Offline vik2009

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: COMODO Time Machine can not initialize operating system information
« Reply #17 on: February 28, 2011, 02:17:37 AM »
I am trying "client_setup_2.8.155286.178.exe" on Windows XP SP2 and I'm receiving the same message.
If I install the "client_setup_2.9.161985.187.exe" I obtain a BSOD.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: February 28, 2011, 02:33:30 AM by vik2009 »

Offline james321888

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 266
Re: COMODO Time Machine can not initialize operating system information
« Reply #18 on: February 28, 2011, 02:50:01 AM »
Try update your Windows XP to SP3 and install 2.8 or 2.9beta again !  Also make sure your system has been updated with all relevant Windows patches !
" When someone gives you a horse to ride for free, don't feed it with gas instead of grass, and be grateful ! "         " Folks, pls. SHOW your efforts by reading related Topics on the CTM forum and trust what you read. "

Offline amartires

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: COMODO Time Machine can not initialize operating system information
« Reply #19 on: August 05, 2011, 07:01:59 AM »
Hi everyone,

I followed Mission's advice and went on to check my disk partitions on windows 7. Turns out that windows 7 creates a 100 MB partion with 1 MB free unparttioned space before the partion.
I also had a bit of unpartitioned space on the end of the disk.

I downloaded EASEUS Partition Master 8.0.1 Home Edition
http://www.partition-tool.com/personal.htm

Extended all partions to take on dhe disk's full space.

Rebooted

And installed Comodo Time Machine flawlessly.

Thank's again Mission

--
Armando Mártires
Webdesigner - www.armandomartires.com
Illustrator - www.cosmicboycomic.com

Offline SlimFady

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: COMODO Time Machine can not initialize operating system information
« Reply #20 on: January 24, 2014, 09:17:11 AM »
Hello forum,
 CTM reported I have 0 free space (on a HD with 75G free) and crashed. Now it thinks it has no HD Space to Boot up on a New Dell PC (Win8 x64) and, of course, I can't get to safe mode to delete the Ridiculous amount of snapshots, that are obviously taking up 75G of space (Set CTM to only do User/ Manual Snapshots, btw)?
I understand there's a CTM Defragger out there that will allow you to delete the snapshots, but, that does me no good if I can't get it to boot.
PC dead in the water, after not even a month with CTM installed. >:(

Offline james321888

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 266
Re: COMODO Time Machine can not initialize operating system information
« Reply #21 on: January 25, 2014, 10:12:23 AM »

a New Dell PC (Win8 x64)

Well, SlimFady. That says it all. ( CTM's latest version CTM2.9beta was released in Sept. 2010, and Win8's official release date is in Oct. 2012 )

So why would you think CTM can be installed on Win8 systems ? 
" When someone gives you a horse to ride for free, don't feed it with gas instead of grass, and be grateful ! "         " Folks, pls. SHOW your efforts by reading related Topics on the CTM forum and trust what you read. "

Offline ad18

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 622
Re: COMODO Time Machine can not initialize operating system information
« Reply #22 on: January 29, 2014, 10:29:17 PM »
Might be time to look for an alternative. Not sure of a good one though. :embarassed:

Offline Annuit.Coeptis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: COMODO Time Machine can not initialize operating system information
« Reply #23 on: August 29, 2016, 05:10:22 PM »
I notice nobody's posted a sufficient solution.  Consider it solved.

I'm building a seven-machine crazystation out of early-2000s Dell PCs in XP Pro.  Time Machine is the best thing since sliced bread and fundamental to my evil schemes.  All the machines got up and running, then a Dimension 3000's hard drive crapped over and died.  I swapped in a new one from a curbside trash-pick, FORMATTED it in NTFS and Comodo TM wouldn't load (in the manner y'all've experienced).  "Can't jibe with the OS"? What kind of handicap is that?

Came here.  Read all.

Downloaded "EaseUS Partition Master 8.0.1 Home Edition".  Deleted and recreated partitions.

This ACHIEVED NOTHING.

- I re-installed XP, deleting the partition.
- I re-installed XP with the "repair" option.
- I did a full XP install from a Dell OEM CD, SP2.
- I did a full XP install from a slipstreamed SP3 CD.

(Think about how much more severe this was than what some of y'all were trying.)  Nothing worked.

I was about to image another machine's hard drive and try building from that...

Then I remembered I'd seen a second line in my BOOT.INI file listing "XP Home".  *I* didn't install XP Home.  I'd cropped out that second entry and gone along my merry way.  Now I was having OS recognition issues with CTM... Hmm...

I dusted off my old "Ultimate Boot CD for Windows" (look it up) and ran some (every) disk diagnostic it had.  It checked out fine.  Checked the Master Boot Record of the HDD.  Seemed okay.  Checked the "deeper" option in one diagnostic.  Found "an error written in MBR".  ???  Eradicated the MBR.  Eradicated the "first 63 kB " of the MBR.  OVERWROTE the MBR.  Used every tool on the CD to stomp on the MBR.  Made a new partition.  Put away the Ultimate Boot CD.  Reinstalled XP with deletion of that partition.  Slow-formatted that partition with NTFS.

CTM installed just fine.  Your mileage may vary.

SUMMARY:  It's an MBR thing, which kinda makes sense given where CTM lives it's sneaky life.  Read the CTM Operator's Manual and see its many warnings about dual booting and rearranging drive hardware.  I'm figuring at some point somebody tried to rig my old drive for multi-boot capability and that configuration wasn't being gotten rid of.

Cheers,
  A.C



 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek