Author Topic: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system  (Read 12824 times)

Offline marlonvdb

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 74
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2010, 03:24:59 PM »
How can the CTM be working hard on bugs when they only release 1 patch since CTM has been released?

I don't see what the number of released patches has to do with CTM team being capable of working hard or not. You should be happy that they at least try to solve the bugs. At least I am. Maybe now they fixed the uinstall bug, then at least you can remove it from your 3rd (still living) machine.

Offline Jaysin216

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2010, 12:56:04 AM »
I've been using comodo IS for awhile now, on many computers. I love it. Just wondering if virus database is true sometimes. Anyway. I also had this problem that these other users have had. Running windows 7 on my dell dimension 8300, i download installed an was using CTM, it was working. I guess i was kind of testing it. I dont really care for my computer btw. I can reinstall the os, and backup all my data various mean. 1TB remote disk, mostly.

I noticed one day that CTM was trying to take a snapshot or something, and there wasnt enough memory. I checked my disk, pleny of storage. No option in the CTM program for any storage. So, I ignored the issue. My system would shut down VERY VERY slow. So, one day when I was sitting there staring at the computer for about 30 mins, waiting for a restart, I just held the power button and it restarted, but got the error messages and all these things. Couldnt figure it out. So, installed W7 back on it. Worked fine. I was like OMFG! So, basically, I do think its the program, it does do way to much than it really should. But, that might be a good thing. I have no clue when I would ever need a program that does all that CTM does. Backs up the whole nine yards. I love CIS, but I think that is the only thing I would ever need from Comodo. Thanks in advance for honest opinions. <3 CIS, NOT CTM!

Offline Josh™

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1012
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2010, 01:00:12 AM »
I've been using comodo IS for awhile now, on many computers. I love it. Just wondering if virus database is true sometimes. Anyway. I also had this problem that these other users have had. Running windows 7 on my dell dimension 8300, i download installed an was using CTM, it was working. I guess i was kind of testing it. I dont really care for my computer btw. I can reinstall the os, and backup all my data various mean. 1TB remote disk, mostly.

I noticed one day that CTM was trying to take a snapshot or something, and there wasnt enough memory. I checked my disk, pleny of storage. No option in the CTM program for any storage. So, I ignored the issue. My system would shut down VERY VERY slow. So, one day when I was sitting there staring at the computer for about 30 mins, waiting for a restart, I just held the power button and it restarted, but got the error messages and all these things. Couldnt figure it out. So, installed W7 back on it. Worked fine. I was like OMFG! So, basically, I do think its the program, it does do way to much than it really should. But, that might be a good thing. I have no clue when I would ever need a program that does all that CTM does. Backs up the whole nine yards. I love CIS, but I think that is the only thing I would ever need from Comodo. Thanks in advance for honest opinions. <3 CIS, NOT CTM!

Hi mate.

Yes, CTM has been an issue for me also. However, a new release is due soon and there are MANY bugs fixed and the new version will be very stable.

So if you were to give CTM another chance, it would be the next version due out soon. :)
Learn from the past, live in the present, prepare for the future.

Offline Melih

  • CEO - Comodo
  • Administrator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 14692
    • Video Blog
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2010, 11:14:01 AM »
We added few important features that other companies were missing like 2 hd support etc.

As you all know CTM based on the same source code as the other CTM look alike products that you pay a big $$ for.. We added few new features (and fixed a lot of bugs that existed in the original source code). Few bugs crept in with the new features. We are sorry! It doesn't affect everyone. But nevertheless, its important for us to fix these ASAP.

Our guys are busy fixing all these bugs so that you can have the best system recovery tool FOR FREE!!!!

We do appreciate your support and never take it for granted! We will be there for you, all the way!

Melih

edit: we are expecting a new version with all these bugs fixed beginning of june.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2010, 10:04:53 PM by Melih »

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek