Author Topic: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system  (Read 12825 times)

Offline bwingler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« on: May 11, 2010, 02:54:32 AM »
I had CTM installed on my Windows 7 Home Prem system.  Everything seemed to go smoothly until CTM was redoing the snapshot.  Midway, I had a loss of power, and upon attempted rebooting I get a black screen with the message "Bootmgr Missing press Control Alt Delete to restart."  This action just brought a repeat of the message.  Nothing I tried would access the hard drive,  Finally, I was able to use the Installaation DVD to fornat and reinstall the OS.  I lost everything, including several hours trying to fix the problem, some hair, a bit of colorful language, all my porn and most definately my composure.  Fortunately I had backups of critical stuff.  But many more hours lost in reinstalling apps.  Will be a while, as in long, befor I try CTM again, if ever. (:AGY)

Offline burebista

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 669
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2010, 03:11:49 AM »
[...] CTM was redoing the snapshot.  Midway, I had a loss of power, and upon attempted rebooting I get a black screen with the message "Bootmgr Missing press Control Alt Delete to restart."
Sorry but I don't see this as a CTM failure. When you're in a middle of BIOS/firmware update and you have a power loss you'll end with a brick MB/GPU/HDD/whatever so that's mean that MB/GPU/HDD/whatever is faulty?
For those situations you have a shield, it's called UPS.  ;)
« Last Edit: May 11, 2010, 03:13:20 AM by burebista »
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

Offline Josh™

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1012
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2010, 03:19:30 AM »
Sorry but I don't see this as a CTM failure. When you're in a middle of BIOS/firmware update and you have a power loss you'll end with a brick MB/GPU/HDD/whatever so that's mean that MB/GPU/HDD/whatever is faulty?
For those situations you have a shield, it's called UPS.  ;)

Hi

Actually, This is a CTM failure - Because this has happened on many computers, including mine, with Windows 7 x32/x64 where when the PC starts... It does not even reach the desktop, and displays Bootmgr errors and other blackscreen errors too, and the only solution is to uninstall CTM and repair Windows files, or in this case, Reformat the drive.

It's a bug in CTM, and this is NOT the first report. Many others have had the same issue - It's only a matter of when this bug, or bugs that cause such issues, are fixed.

Off course this issue does not happen on all PCs. But it's happened on mine, and the others above.

« Last Edit: May 11, 2010, 03:21:18 AM by Josho »
Learn from the past, live in the present, prepare for the future.

Offline burebista

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 669
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2010, 03:30:04 AM »
I've installed an old image of my HDD myself because a bug in Reset baseline option so I know that CTM is not trouble free.  ;D

Here I spoke only for power loss during restoring a snapshot. For me it's obvious that is not good when a power loss occurs during such an important operation which is like a BIOS/firmware update.
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

Offline panic

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11826
  • Linux is free only if your time is worthless.;-)
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2010, 03:36:59 AM »
Will be a while, as in long, befor I try CTM again, if ever. (:AGY)

Will it be as long before you try electricity again?? ;)

This is akin to blaming GM if your car runs out of petrol. While I am sorry that you lost time and data, this can't be blamed on CTM - look to your electricity provider.
As your mums would say, "If you can't play nice with all the other kiddies, go home".
All users are asked to please read and abide by the  Comodo Forum Policy.
If you can't conform, don't use the forum.

Offline Josh™

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1012
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2010, 03:38:47 AM »
I've installed an old image of my HDD myself because a bug in Reset baseline option so I know that CTM is not trouble free.  ;D

Here I spoke only for power loss during restoring a snapshot. For me it's obvious that is not good when a power loss occurs during such an important operation which is like a BIOS/firmware update.

Ah. Did not see the power issue. :) In this case, I only spoke for those with "power working" computers.  ;D
Learn from the past, live in the present, prepare for the future.

Offline doskey

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 123
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2010, 04:36:26 AM »
Hi bwingler.
If you met the problem during restore snapshot, please try to press 'HOME' button during startup. And then restore to before snapshot again. It should fix the problem you met.

Thanks,
Doskey.

Offline bwingler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2010, 06:25:53 PM »
Thanks doskey for your advice. 

I'm not surprised that some other moderators are defensive of this product.  In my view Comodo develops products for the masses of computer users - the experts and those like me who are not quite so expert.  CTM has as it's premise a means of reverting your system to an earlier state in order to resque oneself from a problem, not to be the creator of the problem.  I would expect CTM to have difficulty creating the snapshot due to the power interuption, and I would also expect CTM to not even work at all as a result of it.  I did not, however, expect it to completely obliterate everything on the hard drive.  There are many reports on here of bugs in CTM.  So they apparently exist.  CTM seems, in my opinion, to be still in Beta stage of development rather than a stable release. 

To the responder who suggested I use an UPS, please point me to where I can find one for a laptop and I'll consider it.

Offline Josh™

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1012
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2010, 10:44:25 PM »
Btw: There is a new release coming soon... with a ton of fixes... which should fix this bug. It only relates to Windows 7.

Setup of new release has already been fully tested... So lets hope we see a new version soon with this bug fixed. Looking forward too it.  :-TU :-TU
Learn from the past, live in the present, prepare for the future.

Offline panic

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11826
  • Linux is free only if your time is worthless.;-)
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2010, 11:44:27 PM »
I'm not surprised that some other moderators are defensive of this product.

Please note, I wasn't posting defensively - there are issues with CTM, as is evidenced by numerous posts on these forums. It's not perfect - no software is. But I genuinely don't think it is fair to blame CTM for fouling up when the foul up occurred on what we now know to be a laptop running on insufficient battery power.

There is a strong case for improving the code to cater for situations like this - i.e. where a system suddenly loses power. For starters, I would like to see the addition of a utility to export the MBR and be able to restore the MBR.

Maybe somewhere down the track they could also build in a check to see if the system is running on battery or mains and, if on battery, interrogate what the current battery level and not allow the app to do anything if it is below X%. This shouldn't be too hard to achieve - the battery level are easily determinable. ;)

Cheers,
Ewen :-)
« Last Edit: May 12, 2010, 04:05:09 AM by panic »
As your mums would say, "If you can't play nice with all the other kiddies, go home".
All users are asked to please read and abide by the  Comodo Forum Policy.
If you can't conform, don't use the forum.

Offline burebista

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 669
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2010, 12:17:25 AM »
To the responder who suggested I use an UPS, please point me to where I can find one for a laptop and I'll consider it.
I'm that guy. In your first post you didn't say anything about a  laptop so unfortunately I'm not a fortune teller to guess that you run out of battery on your laptop during restoring a CTM snapshot.  :o
Next time you'll know that it's a bad idea to run a CTM restore/BIOS flash/firmware flash with a dead battery on your laptop.  ;)
If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

Offline marlonvdb

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 74
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2010, 12:49:52 AM »
Btw: There is a new release coming soon... with a ton of fixes... which should fix this bug. It only relates to Windows 7.

Setup of new release has already been fully tested... So lets hope we see a new version soon with this bug fixed. Looking forward too it.  :-TU :-TU

Good news, but they made a lot of promises last time too...

Will the release note again be "Solved a lot of critical bugs and some UI bugs"?
I hope not, i really hope they will tell us now in more detail which bugs have been solved.

Offline Josh™

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1012
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2010, 05:11:09 AM »
Good news, but they made a lot of promises last time too...

Will the release note again be "Solved a lot of critical bugs and some UI bugs"?
I hope not, i really hope they will tell us now in more detail which bugs have been solved.

I spoke to the guy incharge of CTM and the next release sounds pretty promising, despite recent CTM releases, yes this does sound hard to believe... But I believe the CTM team has worked pretty hard to gets bugs like these resolved and Melih's pretty happy with the progress.

As mentioned I am too having issues with CTM, however next release I can't wait to try. :)
Learn from the past, live in the present, prepare for the future.

Offline Masterblaster

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2010, 08:04:59 AM »
How can the CTM be working hard on bugs when they only release 1 patch since CTM has been released? And that 1 patch states it solved issues that that were not solved.
That's failed to me.

Offline LaserWraith

  • pillow fighting fool
  • Usability Study Member
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4590
  • I'm going to go out with a bang
Re: Comkodo Time Machine completely hosed my system
« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2010, 09:58:22 AM »
How can the CTM be working hard on bugs when they only release 1 patch since CTM has been released? And that 1 patch states it solved issues that that were not solved.
That's failed to me.

I knew I would see you in this topic. 88)

Maybe they want to get everything fixed in this new patch, or something drastic had to be changed...  We don't know, you don't know.

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek