Author Topic: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging  (Read 936 times)

Offline cuser

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 282
CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« on: June 14, 2022, 02:53:33 PM »
ISE uses (and has used quite a while) ~15% of CPU and also it's power usage is very high (should send electric bill to Comodo :P), CIS Task Manager says no scanning going on.

Oddly it does that only on 1 comp (which hasn't been rebooted since last month).

CIS 8012 on Win10 Pro.

Offline C.O.M.O.D.O RT

  • Comodo Staff
  • Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 855
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2022, 02:01:45 AM »
Hi cuser,

Thank you for reporting, kindly share us the screenshot of ISE consumes 15% of cpu.
1. Can you reproduce the problem & if so how reliably?
2. If you can, exact steps to reproduce. If not, exactly what you did & what happened.
3. Are you using any other security software other than CIS pro ?

Thanks
C.O.M.O.D.O RT

Offline C.O.M.O.D.O RT

  • Comodo Staff
  • Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 855
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2022, 06:38:23 AM »
ISE uses (and has used quite a while) ~15% of CPU and also it's power usage is very high (should send electric bill to Comodo :P), CIS Task Manager says no scanning going on.

Oddly it does that only on 1 comp (which hasn't been rebooted since last month).

CIS 8012 on Win10 Pro.
Hi cuser,

We have monitored and found no ISE uses high cpu usage.
If you still found ISE uses high cpu usage then kindly provide us the above requested details with ISE version.

Thanks
C.O.M.O.D.O RT

Offline cuser

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 282
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2022, 01:18:24 PM »
Hi cuser,

Thank you for reporting, kindly share us the screenshot of ISE consumes 15% of cpu.
1. Can you reproduce the problem & if so how reliably?
2. If you can, exact steps to reproduce. If not, exactly what you did & what happened.
3. Are you using any other security software other than CIS pro ?

Thanks
C.O.M.O.D.O RT

1. yes just by opening Task Mamager and scrolling until ISE is on screen.
2. Opened Task Manager and and scrolling up and down saw that ISE uses ~15% of processor and Power Usage is Very High.
3. Don't have CIS Pro, I have CIS Free and whatever ISE came when CIS was last time updated but Windows Defender is on on and Spybot Free has it's own protections (don't even think about saying that CIS is enough and don't need other Security softwares).


I'll reboot computer later and see if that solves it.

Screenshot which you didn't request.

Offline cuser

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 282
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2022, 04:32:52 PM »
Rebooting stopped ISE doing whatever it was doing which took that 15% of processor power and very high power usage.

Bit curious as what the heck it was doing.

Offline cuser

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 282
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2022, 01:53:14 PM »
Haven't rebooted since last time Win10 got updates (no reason to reboot) and again ISE acts oddly, occasional ~0.5% of processor usage and constant 291.2 MB memory usage. CIS Task Manager says that nothing going on.

Uninstalling and reinstalling CIS+ISE isn't exactly fast process.

Offline Eric Cryptid

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2902
  • Security Saskquatch
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2022, 03:18:38 PM »
ISE last updated in August 2019. At one point it only worked with Internet Explorer and local certificates. I think browsers these days do a great job at validating certificates particularly Firefox or even Comodo Dragon. ISE subforum here: https://forums.comodo.com/internet-security-essentials-b483.0/

Hopefully the devs will be able to assist you further.

Moderator: Any concerns? PM me and/or review the Forum Policy
System: 64 bit Win 10
Realtime Protection:CIS 12

Offline C.O.M.O.D.O RT

  • Comodo Staff
  • Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 855
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2022, 05:30:36 AM »
Haven't rebooted since last time Win10 got updates (no reason to reboot) and again ISE acts oddly, occasional ~0.5% of processor usage and constant 291.2 MB memory usage. CIS Task Manager says that nothing going on.

Uninstalling and reinstalling CIS+ISE isn't exactly fast process.
Hi cuser,

Thank you for reporting, we have checked and found no issues as ISE is running normally.
Could you please disable if you have other security software installed other than CIS and then check the issue again.
If the issue still occurs, kindly provide the below details for further investigation.
1. cis version
2. Win version along with system bit type ?
3. ISE version ?
4. ISE performance screenshot ?

Thanks
C.O.M.O.D.O RT

Offline cuser

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 282
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2022, 01:50:34 PM »
Hi cuser,

Thank you for reporting, we have checked and found no issues as ISE is running normally.
Could you please disable if you have other security software installed other than CIS and then check the issue again.
If the issue still occurs, kindly provide the below details for further investigation.
1. cis version
2. Win version along with system bit type ?
3. ISE version ?
4. ISE performance screenshot ?

Thanks
C.O.M.O.D.O RT

1.-2. CIS 8012 on Win10 Pro 64bit.
3. 1.6.472587.185 (if there is newer version then not informed), installed when last time CIS got new version aka .................... quite a while ago.
4. see attachment

happens on 2 comps which are 24/7 on besides when update needs reboot (on other comp ISE consumes near half a GB). CIS Task Manager says nothing going on but doubt it tells what ISE does.

Offline C.O.M.O.D.O RT

  • Comodo Staff
  • Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 855
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #9 on: July 01, 2022, 12:15:31 AM »
1.-2. CIS 8012 on Win10 Pro 64bit.
3. 1.6.472587.185 (if there is newer version then not informed), installed when last time CIS got new version aka .................... quite a while ago.
4. see attachment

happens on 2 comps which are 24/7 on besides when update needs reboot (on other comp ISE consumes near half a GB). CIS Task Manager says nothing going on but doubt it tells what ISE does.
Hi cuser,

Thank you for providing the requested information,  we will check and report this to the team.

Thanks
C.O.M.O.D.O RT

Offline cuser

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 282
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2022, 03:28:28 PM »
On work comp (user decides what's installed on his/her computer so TOS not broken) with same things as on home comp (besides workcomp is rebooted daily) ISE had jumped to ~82 MB memory usage after few hrs being on (usage irrelevant).

Today's stats:

Home comp 1: ISE 358.5 MB
Home comp 2: ISE 526.3 MB

Offline C.O.M.O.D.O RT

  • Comodo Staff
  • Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 855
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2022, 05:16:57 AM »
On work comp (user decides what's installed on his/her computer so TOS not broken) with same things as on home comp (besides workcomp is rebooted daily) ISE had jumped to ~82 MB memory usage after few hrs being on (usage irrelevant).

Today's stats:

Home comp 1: ISE 358.5 MB
Home comp 2: ISE 526.3 MB
Hi cuser,

We are checking on this.

Thanks
C.O.M.O.D.O RT

Offline C.O.M.O.D.O RT

  • Comodo Staff
  • Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 855
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #12 on: July 04, 2022, 05:44:56 AM »
On work comp (user decides what's installed on his/her computer so TOS not broken) with same things as on home comp (besides workcomp is rebooted daily) ISE had jumped to ~82 MB memory usage after few hrs being on (usage irrelevant).

Today's stats:

Home comp 1: ISE 358.5 MB
Home comp 2: ISE 526.3 MB
Hi cuser,

Are you getting ISE 358.5 MB memory usage when you are using internet explorer ? as the ISE supports only internet explorer.
or it's just getting high memory without using internet explorer ?

Thanks
C.O.M.O.D.O RT

Offline cuser

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 282
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2022, 08:25:52 AM »
Hi cuser,

Are you getting ISE 358.5 MB memory usage when you are using internet explorer ? as the ISE supports only internet explorer.
or it's just getting high memory without using internet explorer ?

Thanks
C.O.M.O.D.O RT

don't use IE. mostly seamonkey and firefox and occasionally edge. comodo dragon is installed but after flash died it hasn't had any uses.

home comp 1: 677 MB of memory used
hc2: somewhere around that
workcomp with same CIS and ISE: has jumped 10 MB up since start of Win10 (home).

Offline C.O.M.O.D.O RT

  • Comodo Staff
  • Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 855
Re: CIS's Internet Security Essentials bugging
« Reply #14 on: July 11, 2022, 08:41:23 AM »
don't use IE. mostly seamonkey and firefox and occasionally edge. comodo dragon is installed but after flash died it hasn't had any uses.

home comp 1: 677 MB of memory used
hc2: somewhere around that
workcomp with same CIS and ISE: has jumped 10 MB up since start of Win10 (home).
Hi cuser,

Thank you for providing the requested information. we will check and update you.

Thanks
C.O.M.O.D.O RT

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek