Author Topic: cmdagent starting multiple instances of msinfo32 with high cpu usage  (Read 1539 times)

Offline MedNz

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
Re: cmdagent starting multiple instances of msinfo32 with high cpu usage
« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2020, 06:47:52 AM »
Crashing on my other PC now. The frst time it crashed there were more than 20 instances of msinfo32.exe running (most of them taking up only hundreds of kilobytes of memory but 4 or 5 taking up 20+MB each) and it's been crashing ever since, a few times a day for 2 days. On subsequent crashes I don't see any instances running.
Most of the time it will re-check the "Send anon usage statistics..." box once I choose to send logs and the crash popup closes but not always. Would you like me to send logs as per last time? This PC is a 32-bit desktop running Win 7. Everything else is the same as far as CIS version goes.

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26017
Re: cmdagent starting multiple instances of msinfo32 with high cpu usage
« Reply #16 on: April 13, 2020, 08:20:25 PM »
Can you check the c:\ProgramData\Comodo\CisDumps fodler to see if CIS logged the crashes? Comodo will be interested to see them.

Offline MedNz

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
Re: cmdagent starting multiple instances of msinfo32 with high cpu usage
« Reply #17 on: April 14, 2020, 03:27:11 AM »
Empty unfortunately. I will keep an eye on it and let you know if any files are written to that folder.

Online Dharshu

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 843
Re: cmdagent starting multiple instances of msinfo32 with high cpu usage
« Reply #18 on: April 15, 2020, 09:57:50 AM »
Hello MedNz,

Thank you for your support.I had forwarded your logs to our developers for further analysis of the issue and they are working in it.Hope it will be fixed soon.
Have a nice day!

Kind Regards,
PD

Offline GearDoc47

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: cmdagent starting multiple instances of msinfo32 with high cpu usage
« Reply #19 on: April 20, 2020, 04:00:24 PM »
via WMI Performance Adapter  wmiApSrv,  msinfo32.exe runs with this info:
CIMWin32   root\CIMV2   %systemroot%\system32\wbem\cimwin32.dll

"C:\Windows\System32\msinfo32.exe" /nfo C:\ProgramData\Comodo\Cis\telemetry\msinfo32\msinfo_40559132465B13C6978040EDE221C93A0DF05CFB.nfo  (but nothing is in this folder)

My cpu is at 50% until I suspend or kill msinfo32 with process explorer.
This is getting boring after ?years?
Any fix yet?

BTW, I have the net blocked with Comodo's "firewall/block all".
Does the net need to be active for whatever this thing is to work?

Offline EricJH

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26017
Re: cmdagent starting multiple instances of msinfo32 with high cpu usage
« Reply #20 on: April 20, 2020, 08:03:21 PM »
You could use the following workaround for the time being:
You can try to turn off send usage statistics under logging settings.

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek