Author Topic: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted  (Read 24315 times)

Offline Hewkil

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« on: July 16, 2014, 04:43:13 AM »
Hello. I got a problem. I recently ran into some problems with Comodo and re-installed the entire things and it components, which fixed my problem, but when i try running the initial scan, it runs for a few seconds and then it stops, showing the status "Scan Aborted". This happens with quick scan and full scan. I tried doing a custom scan and only scan one file, which resulted with "scan aborted". A rating scan seems to work without a problem.

So anyone knows how to run a scan without it for some reason compulsively aborts the process?

Offline Hewkil

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2014, 04:50:56 AM »
I might have found a related error. I can't update the software via Comodo Update.
The tasks "Check for program updates" and "Check for signature updates" says "Error" and the "Status" reads "A connection with the server could not be established".

Is it related or just another problem to deal with?

Offline neuralnet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
[Solved] Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2014, 08:23:44 AM »
Hi Hewkil, I just had exactly the same problem. No amount of reinstalling would fix it. I tried using the community uninstaller too. It was seriously wierd that the server could not be contacted by Comodo, given that I could successfully do an nslookup and ping the update server via the command line. I was able to update the database manually by downloading it from this page, (full install instructions here) and then added it to Comodo by clicking on the Question mark (top right in Comodo) > About > Import Virus Database. This made comodo 'Secure' but still automatic updates were still failing.

N.B. This is Comodo 7, (7.0.317799.4142) and Windows 7 Pro. Your mileage may vary..

This was fixed by a support request, but this is what they did;

Open Regedit, and navigate to;

Code: [Select]
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Connections\
Open the DefaultConnectionSettings key, select the contents of this key and copy. Then navigate to;

Code: [Select]
HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Connections\
Open the DefaultConnectionSettings key, select the contents of this key and paste. After a reboot, Comodo was successfully able to contact the server and update. I hope that's helpful!
« Last Edit: August 15, 2014, 08:42:12 AM by neuralnet »

Offline qmarius

  • Star Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3843
  • making simple things complicated
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2014, 10:35:47 AM »
Thanks for the share, neuralnet.

There is a known issue regarding this subject, actually.

Offline neuralnet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2014, 08:23:18 AM »
Hi qmarius,

there isn't a fix in the link you shared (at least not one that I could find) other than the proper way to uninstall comodo, which I already linked to. Perhaps you should be linking the other post back to this one as this has a fix in it, actually.  >:-D

Offline Garrion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: [Solved] Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2014, 12:37:24 PM »
Hi Hewkil, I just had exactly the same problem. No amount of reinstalling would fix it. I tried using the community uninstaller too. It was seriously wierd that the server could not be contacted by Comodo, given that I could successfully do an nslookup and ping the update server via the command line. I was able to update the database manually by downloading it from this page, (full install instructions here) and then added it to Comodo by clicking on the Question mark (top right in Comodo) > About > Import Virus Database. This made comodo 'Secure' but still automatic updates were still failing.

N.B. This is Comodo 7, (7.0.317799.4142) and Windows 7 Pro. Your mileage may vary..

This was fixed by a support request, but this is what they did;

Open Regedit, and navigate to;

Code: [Select]
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Connections\
Open the DefaultConnectionSettings key, select the contents of this key and copy. Then navigate to;

Code: [Select]
HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Connections\
Open the DefaultConnectionSettings key, select the contents of this key and paste. After a reboot, Comodo was successfully able to contact the server and update. I hope that's helpful!

Thank you, neuralnet... this solution worked on at least one computer I tried it on and it should be listed as a viable solution for this issue... since uninstalling / reinstalling doesn't work in most cases.

Offline MisterPonder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2014, 05:31:09 PM »
Hi Hewkil, I just had exactly the same problem. No amount of reinstalling would fix it. I tried using the community uninstaller too. It was seriously wierd that the server could not be contacted by Comodo, given that I could successfully do an nslookup and ping the update server via the command line. I was able to update the database manually by downloading it from this page, (full install instructions here) and then added it to Comodo by clicking on the Question mark (top right in Comodo) > About > Import Virus Database. This made comodo 'Secure' but still automatic updates were still failing.

N.B. This is Comodo 7, (7.0.317799.4142) and Windows 7 Pro. Your mileage may vary..

This was fixed by a support request, but this is what they did;

Open Regedit, and navigate to;

Code: [Select]
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Connections\
Open the DefaultConnectionSettings key, select the contents of this key and copy. Then navigate to;

Code: [Select]
HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-18\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Connections\
Open the DefaultConnectionSettings key, select the contents of this key and paste. After a reboot, Comodo was successfully able to contact the server and update. I hope that's helpful!

Thank you, neuralnet... this solution worked on at least one computer I tried it on and it should be listed as a viable solution for this issue... since uninstalling / reinstalling doesn't work in most cases.


Thank you, neuralnet...+1

My main PC had just started with the "Failed to update the virus database" today. I remembered it had happened on another machine of mine running CIS about 4 months ago. This was the solution to that as well. It took me one hell of a time finding a fix the first time. I vaguely remembered enough to find this thread ( all though a new thread, the same fix )fast when it happened again today. Decided to register just to chime in that this has helped me twice now over a span of 5 months.  This should be stickied or atleast mods should be aware of one possible solution for future reference.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2014, 05:37:57 PM by MisterPonder »

Offline kane026

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2014, 09:46:27 PM »
tryed the solution and it didnt work on my end hopefuly its solved in the next update

Offline Citizen K

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26198
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2014, 07:56:28 PM »
Neuralnet. I tried your solution but cannot copy the data. I am on Windows 8.1.1. Does anybody have a clue?

Offline captainsticks

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11197
    • Comodo Help
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2014, 06:15:05 AM »
Neuralnet. I tried your solution but cannot copy the data. I am on Windows 8.1.1. Does anybody have a clue?
Hi Eric,
Double click the 'DefaultConnectionSettings' key under the name column which opens the edit value window, then you can right click the value data to select all and copy.
After copying, IMO it is best to then choose cancel to close the edit window to cancel out any possible accidental edits.

Kind regards.

Offline Citizen K

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26198
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2014, 11:07:45 AM »
I tried that but no luck.  It allows me to copy put then there is nothing to paste. And that's what's puzzling me...  :-\

What Windows are you on and what version of CIS are you using? I am on In 8.1.1. x64 and using CIS v8 beta.

Offline captainsticks

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11197
    • Comodo Help
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2014, 05:26:00 PM »
I tried that but no luck.  It allows me to copy put then there is nothing to paste. And that's what's puzzling me...  :-\

What Windows are you on and what version of CIS are you using? I am on In 8.1.1. x64 and using CIS v8 beta.
Win 8.1 64-bit.
It allows me to copy and paste it to the 'data value' of the edit value screen.
It is a little strange the way it acts as it doesn't allow pasting into a text file.

Offline Citizen K

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26198
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2014, 05:32:39 PM »
Win 8.1 64-bit.
It allows me to copy and paste it to the 'data value' of the edit value screen.
It is a little strange the way it acts as it doesn't allow pasting into a text file.
The latter hits the nail on the head. I did try to past it to Notepad just for testing and there it fails. But when I copy it to a registry key I made for testing it did work. It is strange indeed. Good catch. :)

Offline captainsticks

  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 11197
    • Comodo Help
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #13 on: October 09, 2014, 05:36:01 PM »
The latter hits the nail on the head. I did try to past it to Notepad just for testing and there it fails. But when I copy it to a registry key I made for testing it did work. It is strange indeed. Good catch. :)
No problem, thanks.  :-TU

Offline boriswart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: After a few seconds after starting a scan, it gets aborted
« Reply #14 on: October 31, 2014, 03:29:20 PM »
My issue with Comodo was fixed as well by the terrific response here. :azn:

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek