Author Topic: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports  (Read 59554 times)

fOrTy_7

  • Guest
WinMTR issue...
« Reply #30 on: November 09, 2007, 03:23:11 AM »
I'm not sure is it a bug or not, but it kinda bothers me so I decided to report this issue.

I've got an application called WinMTR (ping/trace route tool) and it seems CFP doesn't detect all connection atempts made by this application.

Whenever I use Windows' tools such as ping.exe or tracert.exe all the conncetion atempts are reported to me and if not answered or denied then they are blocked and these applications report Time Exceeded.
But WinMTR seems to bypass CFP in some way. Only the DNS Querry popup appers for this application, ICMP packets are sent freely without any user notice.
Well, it seems kinda weird to me so I thought I should mention about this.




[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Stylus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #31 on: November 09, 2007, 06:12:26 AM »
Hi,


1. Intel P4 3.0Ghz, 1.5Gb Memory, Raid 0

2. Windows XP SP2 all updates

3. Nod32 v3 (disabled - when attempting install from D:)
    Spyware Terminator (disabled - when attempting install from D:)

4. Error when attempting default install from Drive D: (after license accept screen)

5. Could only install when setup file was copied to drive C:

Offline adric

  • "Start every day with a smile and get it over with."
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
  • "I am not young enough to know everything. "
Pending Files Status no longer has a 'Deleted' status
« Reply #32 on: November 09, 2007, 07:26:11 AM »
Deleting a file present in the 'My Pending Files' leaves status 'New'. Also, the status 'Deleted' seems to have disappeared in this RC. Previous BETA did show 'Deleted' on some items that I manually deleted.

The 1st item below was deleted with Explorer which is why a new item appeared in the recycle bin.
The 2nd file was deleted with a utility that I use which directly deletes the file without using the recycle bin. In this case I received an Alert that the utility was trying to modify the file that I had selected for deletion. I allowed the alert and the file was deleted. It would be of great help in the decision making process if the Alert were specific enough to indicate whether a file is being deleted or modified. If this is at all possible, please fix this.

Even though the status is wrong, notice that the Company Name has disappeared in the list. Since some logic is there to remove the Company Name (probably can't find it anymore), then I would assume similar logic could be applied to the status no?

Note: the purge function correctly determines what files have been deleted even though the status
indicates something else. I can imagine that this is very confusing to some. Especially when users
are told to use the purge button to remove deleted files from the list 

Al

System Information


[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: November 15, 2007, 10:08:39 AM by adric »

Offline grayhair

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 295
Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #33 on: November 09, 2007, 07:27:12 AM »
   A very minor bug.

   Vista, Home Basic, 32 bit, TrendMicro Internet Suite (installed without the firewall).  The new CFP release candidate installed fine, and is running fine.  I believe this is related to something Gibran brought up in an earlier post about known conflicting software issues, one of them being TrendMicro firewall.  During my CFP install I had a warning window come up.  The 2 warning messages inside the box were cut short, and there was no way to expand them.  It was probably about TrendMicro firewall (which was not installed anyway), but it would have been nice to be able to expand these warning messages out so I could have read them.

   RC1 working fine otherwise.

Offline pnashdc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Problem with login when Defense+ is active and enabled
« Reply #34 on: November 09, 2007, 09:11:57 AM »
System: Dell 2400 (Intel P4 2.2GHz), 760 M RAM, XP Home SP2
Secutiry apps: Avira Antivir, Teatimer, BOClean

No issues with install of RC1. However, when Defense+ is activated AND enabled, the system will (apparently) boot normally, but all login attemps "hang"--desktop does not appear and explorer does not run.

Workaround: call task manager (or reboot in safe mode); manually run cfp.exe and set Defense+ to disabled (but still active); reboot

EDIT: after additional testing, the problem still occurs if all "monitor settings" are off; there are no entires in the Defense+ log.

EDIT #2: The problem seems to be a conflcit with Windows Product Activation (WPA). If I log off (w/o reboot) and log back on with Defense+ disabled, there is no problem. However, when it is enabled WPA complains about not being able to check license (error #0x80070005) and returns to login screen
« Last Edit: November 13, 2007, 12:31:07 PM by pnashdc »

Offline billhuber

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #35 on: November 09, 2007, 10:52:13 AM »
If I try to use my vpn connection(Microsoft PPTP) it will timeout trying to login and post a 721 error message.

If I disable the firewall, I can login via my vpn connection. Once I have logged in I can re-enable the firewall and continue to use the vpn connection without problems

I was able to login via vpn with version 2.4 of the firewall.

**Updated**
I have confirmed that there were no Log entries when the connection fails.

Dell Inspiron 9400 Laptop
Intel® Core™ Duo processor T2500 processor 2.00 GHz
1GB Memory
Windows XP + SP2 + security fixes
Trend Micro Client/Server Security Agent 7.6.1095 ptn 4.819.000
« Last Edit: November 09, 2007, 11:25:20 AM by billhuber »

Offline slobix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #36 on: November 09, 2007, 10:54:35 AM »
Short names bug is still present.

Athlon XP 3200+, 1GB memory, Windows XP sp2 fully patched, Avast Antivirus Home

Offline antonx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #37 on: November 09, 2007, 12:16:09 PM »
hello everybody  (R)

iam french, sorry for my poor english  (:SAD)

Computer information
e6600  2.4 GHz 2Gb Ram

Operating System information (OS version and Service Packs)
WinXP Home SP2 32-bit + online updates

Actively-running security and utility applications
Boclean, Antivir PE 7 free (last versions), (Acronis true image 10, windowblinds, logitech setpoint)

Specific symptoms of the bug, and steps you can take to reproduce it.
since I installed RC1, Everytime  I try to shutdown windows XP, I get a dialogue box pop up with the title 'dwwin.exe   DLL initialization failed' and a critical sound before the logoff

Specific steps you have taken to try to resolve it.
if i disable Firewall and Defense+ and CFP RC1 is closed (exit), and then i try to shutdown XP, it's ok, no message  ;D

somebody has the same symptoms ?  ??? or it's a problem with my computer  ???

before installing CFP RC1, i haven't that with Beta 4......
« Last Edit: November 09, 2007, 12:28:24 PM by antonx »

Offline egemen

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3380
Re: WinMTR issue...
« Reply #38 on: November 09, 2007, 04:29:09 PM »
I'm not sure is it a bug or not, but it kinda bothers me so I decided to report this issue.

I've got an application called WinMTR (ping/trace route tool) and it seems CFP doesn't detect all connection atempts made by this application.

Whenever I use Windows' tools such as ping.exe or tracert.exe all the conncetion atempts are reported to me and if not answered or denied then they are blocked and these applications report Time Exceeded.
But WinMTR seems to bypass CFP in some way. Only the DNS Querry popup appers for this application, ICMP packets are sent freely without any user notice.
Well, it seems kinda weird to me so I thought I should mention about this.


Yes this is a bug and It will be fixed.

Thanks for reporting.

Egemen

Offline egemen

  • Comodo Staff
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3380
Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #39 on: November 09, 2007, 04:32:09 PM »
hello everybody  (R)

iam french, sorry for my poor english  (:SAD)

Computer information
e6600  2.4 GHz 2Gb Ram

Operating System information (OS version and Service Packs)
WinXP Home SP2 32-bit + online updates

Actively-running security and utility applications
Boclean, Antivir PE 7 free (last versions), (Acronis true image 10, windowblinds, logitech setpoint)

Specific symptoms of the bug, and steps you can take to reproduce it.
since I installed RC1, Everytime  I try to shutdown windows XP, I get a dialogue box pop up with the title 'dwwin.exe   DLL initialization failed' and a critical sound before the logoff

Specific steps you have taken to try to resolve it.
if i disable Firewall and Defense+ and CFP RC1 is closed (exit), and then i try to shutdown XP, it's ok, no message  ;D

somebody has the same symptoms ?  ??? or it's a problem with my computer  ???

before installing CFP RC1, i haven't that with Beta 4......

Could you try to find minidumps generated by windows for us to analyze them?

Thx,
Egemen

Offline lurkingatu2

  • Comodo Family Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #40 on: November 09, 2007, 06:13:11 PM »
comodo 3.0.11.246 rc1
running with superantispyware pro 3.9.1008 avira antivir pe classic

i uninstalled comodo 3.0.11.246 rc1 and reinstalled and was letting it learn
defence+ in clean mode firewall in train with safe mode all was going ok
then i get online to my isp (msn dialup) and comodo crashed and needed to shutdown
and wanted to send the error report in a email but msn would not let me so i saved it  :)

 
 



[attachment deleted by admin]
avira antivir pe classic winpatrol counterspy v2.5 superantispyware pro sandboxie spywareblaster zonedout for ie-spyad hostman with mvp hp host file 1.30ghz amd 256 mem xp pro sp2

Offline SpookyET

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • Studio Industry
Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #41 on: November 09, 2007, 09:01:26 PM »
I installed Comodo under Windows Vista with Romanian displayed as a language (Romanian MUI) installed. It worked fine.

Then I switched the display language from Romanian to English. Loged out and loged back in.
Then everything started to be slow, browsing, everything.
I looked at the logs, and Comodo is blocking a lot of ports, even when I set it to disable. It is even blocking itself. If I try to update it, it blocks the update wizard from connecting to the internet.

Even though the paths showed in the GUI are displayed like C:\Program Files\SomeApp, maybe internally it records C:\Fisier Program\SomeApp (localised version). So it goes haywire when you switch.

I don't know. It would be useful if the log showed which rule blocked the action.

I did not uninstall properly and rendered my system useless. It did not remove the hooks. keyboard and mouse do not work when when I reach the Vista login screen.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2007, 09:25:10 AM by SpookyET »

Offline rcbblgy

  • Comodo Loves me
  • ****
  • Posts: 130
Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #42 on: November 10, 2007, 12:35:01 AM »
RC1 and Beta4 take a longer time to give an alert than Beta3 and Beta2 when a new program is executed .
OS: windows xp sp2
AV: Avira AntiVir

Offline antonx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #43 on: November 10, 2007, 06:21:31 AM »
Could you try to find minidumps generated by windows for us to analyze them?

Thx,
Egemen

sorry after several tests of reboot, and also after reading this links and applying the procedures
http://forums.comodo.com/cfp_beta_corner/how_submit_a_bsod_bugreport-t14516.0.html
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/130536

 Windows XP doesn't create minidumps files, no file *.dmp




i obtain the message  :
'dwwin.exe - DLL Initialization Failed -
The application failed to initialize because the window station is shutting down.'


==> the system doesn't crash, an application does not seem well not closed, perhaps it's my computer  ???

« Last Edit: November 10, 2007, 08:54:14 AM by antonx »

Offline HaraldM

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #44 on: November 10, 2007, 08:02:15 AM »
It always forgets the answer that should be remembered after rebooting the machine.
I checked "remember my answer" and gave an application the state of a "trusted application", but it always asks me again.

Win XP Sp2

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek