Author Topic: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports  (Read 62374 times)

Offline rogerval

Re: CPF 3.0.11.246 RC1 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #120 on: November 17, 2007, 03:38:43 AM »
Greetings,
I'm still new to this firewall, but when I tried Gibson Research leaktest.exe it managed to penetrate the firewall's defences, even though I'd specifically defined it as a "blocked application" and said "no" to any requests the firewall alerted me to.
This doesn't sound right to me.
Both the firewall and proactive defence are set to "training with safe mode".
Kind regards,
Roger V.
(XP Home with SP2 and all security patches, PIII processor with 448MB ram; NOD32 antivirus version 3 installed; IE7 web browser.)
"The journey of a thousand miles begins with a broken fan belt and a flat tyre." (anon.)

fOrTy_7

« Reply #121 on: November 17, 2007, 04:29:29 AM »
Greetings,
I'm still new to this firewall, but when I tried Gibson Research leaktest.exe it managed to penetrate the firewall's defences, even though I'd specifically defined it as a "blocked application" and said "no" to any requests the firewall alerted me to.
Kind regards,
Roger V.
(XP Home with SP2 and all security patches, PIII processor with 448MB ram; NOD32 antivirus version 3 installed; IE7 web browser.)

I tested this and firewall blocks this leaktest if it's set properly. You have to switch firewall to 'Custom  Policy Mode' or 'Train with Safe Mode'. The 'Trainig Mode' learns all connection attempts you make and saves it in 'Network Security Policy / Application Rules'. Maybe it would be better if 'Training Mode' would be renamed to 'Learn All Mode'. I see that not everyone read the descriptions.

During this test I noticed another bug.