Author Topic: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports  (Read 65505 times)

Offline Coolio10

  • Computer Security Testing Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 464
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #75 on: October 29, 2007, 05:07:17 PM »
Wilders? I don't know, there's too many people on their forum I don't trust anymore.

Well, aren't any programmers here at the Comodo forum?
To have a look inside the code of SnoopFree?

My capabilities in actual pc language (de)coding are not the best ones, I fear.



If you love comodo you will not ask them to break a law. You cannot decompose a program that is under protection by law.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
('')_('')

Giveaway of the Day" style="border: none

Offline gregs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #76 on: October 29, 2007, 07:21:09 PM »
I am far from an expert but I think I may have solved one problem with CPF using 100% of CPU.

When I first installed Beta 3.0.10.238, it used 100% CPU.
I run Windows XP SP2 fully patched along with Nod32, and several other programs that load at start-up. 2gig memory, dual core duo CPU etc.
I also use a "Logitech" cordless desktop which I really like.

By a process of elimination, I have discovered that a file that loads with the logitech package called "Logitech Desktop Messenger" is conflicting with the firewall. Once I stopped this program loading at start-up, the problem has been solved.

I hope this may help others and better yet, maybe lead for a fix.

Regards to all

Greg

soyabeaner

  • Guest
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #77 on: October 29, 2007, 07:39:30 PM »
I spot more spelling & grammatical errors.

Based on Coolio's screenshot in the Stealth Ports Wizard screen:
2nd option --> "If you choose this options,..."

Based on Panagiotis' screenshot in the Configuration Wizard screen:
2nd paragraph --> "In the latter case, instead of clocking automatically,..."
2nd option --> "This option is more suitable for experienced filewall users,..."

Based on adric's second screenshot in the Defense+ Tasks GUI:
Predefined Security Policies --> "In firewall, you can create..." {It's missing some word like the between "In" and "firewall", otherwise it looks awkward}

Side Note:
Not a bug, but an inconsistency on the Stealth Wizard screen: first option uses the term "computer", but the third option uses the acronym "PC".  To cover all audiences, it'd be best to stick with "computer" all the way through.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2007, 08:18:19 PM by Soya »

Offline Coolio10

  • Computer Security Testing Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 464
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #78 on: October 29, 2007, 07:44:32 PM »
I spot more spelling & grammatical errors.

Based on Coolio's screenshot in the Stealth Ports Wizard screen:
2nd option --> "If you choose this options,..."

Based on Panagiotis' screenshot in the Configuration Wizard screen:
2nd paragraph --> "In the latter case, instead of clocking automatically,..."
2nd option --> "This option is more suitable for experienced filewall users,..."

Just about to post this. There are even more gramatical errors and a bug. Check my post http://forums.comodo.com/cfp_beta_corner/serious_bug_in_installer_cfp_3010238_beta-t14089.0.html
(\__/)
(='.'=)
('')_('')

Giveaway of the Day" style="border: none

Offline Stylus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #79 on: October 30, 2007, 09:26:27 AM »
Firewall  - 'View Firewall Events'
& Firewall  - 'View Defense events' ====================================================
These windows do not display the logged information in the new beta 3.0.10.238
Tried reinstalling, clearing all trace registry keys, all reference folders etc - no success.
The  Miscellaneous - Settings - logging - disable options are unchecked

Edit - some logging has finally been displayed - but the function is not working effeciently

Summary - The traffic section
==================
The traffic section continues to show applications which had traffic but are no longer connected, this also does not immediately display that are connected.


This is my problem too.
The  Miscellaneous - Settings - logging - disable options are unchecked
Firewall - Firewall Behavior Settings - Alert Settings - set to "very high" alert - no logs at all for firewall

Defense+ logging seems OK
Been running since released and all else seems to be running very sweetly.

Thanks

Edit My apologies. It is working, but nice and quietly nearly all the time.   (:WIN)

Windows XP SP2 + all updates
Intel 3.0GB cpu
1.5Gb ram
Nod32
Spyware Terminator
Sandboxie - sometimes
« Last Edit: October 30, 2007, 10:26:50 AM by Stylus »

Offline adric

  • "Start every day with a smile and get it over with."
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
  • "I am not young enough to know everything. "
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #80 on: October 30, 2007, 09:46:50 AM »
Windows XP Pro 32bit + SP2 + Security fixes
SpywareTerminator 2.01.224
ProcessGuard 3.410
Symantec Antivirus Corporate Edition 9.0.3.1000
 
Train with Safe mode has stopped working for me. When I lauch apps that I haven't run before, I do not see any pop-ups and the application will not launch. All I see is an entry in the D+ log. I have to switch to Clean PC mode to be able to run the application. Any ideas how to get Train with Safe to start talking to me again?

If I do not use Clean PC Mode and manually add the application to the computer security policy, it still is not allowed to launch. Train with Safe states that "every action of the unknown executable files are alerted to the user".  It worked that way in the beginning, but has now become silent. I'm more or less forced to run in Clean PC mode.

! Paranoid Mode no longer gives alerts either.

Al

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: October 30, 2007, 12:07:35 PM by adric »

Offline pykko

  • Computer Security Testing Group
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
    • Intr-o lume plina de virusi, ai un prieten
Re: Latest BETA (3.0.10.238) fails DirectX Keylogger Test
« Reply #81 on: October 30, 2007, 12:20:23 PM »
Previous BETA blocked all AKLT 2.5 tests, but 3.0.10.228 now fails when running DIRECTX test.

New beta no longer gives me a BSOD during shutdown after running the keylogger tests. No abnormalities so far running other apps after running keylogger tests as reported in this thread:

http://forums.comodo.com/cfp_beta_corner/cfp_309229_beta_bsods-t13169.0.html;msg97834#msg97834

Al


It fails to me also. You can see the screenshot. Defence+ is set to Paranoid mode as seen in the screenshot also. I receive a pop-up that AKLT wants to access the keyboard, I choose Block but it fails.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Ragwing

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3498
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #82 on: October 30, 2007, 12:24:56 PM »
Windows XP Pro 32bit + SP2 + Security fixes
SpywareTerminator 2.01.224
ProcessGuard 3.410
Symantec Antivirus Corporate Edition 9.0.3.1000
 
Train with Safe mode has stopped working for me. When I lauch apps that I haven't run before, I do not see any pop-ups and the application will not launch. All I see is an entry in the D+ log. I have to switch to Clean PC mode to be able to run the application. Any ideas how to get Train with Safe to start talking to me again?

If I do not use Clean PC Mode and manually add the application to the computer security policy, it still is not allowed to launch. Train with Safe states that "every action of the unknown executable files are alerted to the user".  It worked that way in the beginning, but has now become silent. I'm more or less forced to run in Clean PC mode.

! Paranoid Mode no longer gives alerts either.

Al

May I ask why you use two HIPS?
If I don't rember it all wrong, ProcessGuard is much like CPF3.


Ragwing

Offline adric

  • "Start every day with a smile and get it over with."
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
  • "I am not young enough to know everything. "
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #83 on: October 30, 2007, 12:25:07 PM »
I uninstalled and reinstalled the BETA. Train with Safe Mode is talking to me again. I'm afraid to change any of the entries in the D+ Computer Security Policy for fear that I will silence T&S again like I did the last time by changing a custom policy to a trusted application. I'll let the testers see if they can break it like I did.  :)

Al

Offline wolfmei

  • Computer Security Testing Group
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 21
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #84 on: October 30, 2007, 12:39:06 PM »
when Enable Defense+ the cpu load 100% (:AGY)


AMD Athon64 X2 4200+ 2GB RAM

Windows xp sp2

avast 4.7.1043 home edition

Offline adric

  • "Start every day with a smile and get it over with."
  • Global Moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
  • "I am not young enough to know everything. "
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #85 on: October 30, 2007, 12:40:04 PM »
May I ask why you use two HIPS?
If I don't rember it all wrong, ProcessGuard is much like CPF3.


Ragwing

No reason, PG was there first. :) I will eventually uninstall it once D+ is up to par. I used to have HIPS enabled with SpywareTerminator, but I turned it off again because I didn't think it was that great.

Al
« Last Edit: October 30, 2007, 12:41:35 PM by adric »

Offline muse2u

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #86 on: October 30, 2007, 01:38:49 PM »
I have run into the same situation as Ragwing. At CFP startup, auto or manual, i get a virtual machine error. If I respond to the error, CFP shutsdown. If I ignore the error window, CFP continues to run and appears to function normally. I did not install CFP in Safe Mode and to the best of my knowledge I do not have any keyloggers running. Ragwing was not clear on which unnecesary Win sevices he turned off as part of his debugging process, but I have been running my Win with minimum services for years. I am running Windows XP Pro SP2 with Norton Antivirus. Disabling NAV does not appear to resolve the issue. I ran the CFP 'Diagnostic' tool (not yet sure what that is all about', and it determined CFP was installed properly. Does the beta have a code logging feature that would identify its reason for concluding it's running in virtual mode?

Offline Averno

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • BSEE - (WISP)
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #87 on: October 30, 2007, 01:55:22 PM »
I want to report problems with the logging facility, I get an error that names problems with the SQLite

If I turn off logging, it stops.

Maybe this function is still anavailable?



System Pentium III - 512 RAM Windows XP SP2 NOD32 v2.70

Everything else, works perfect for me, with the exception of the Manual Update, but that it might be related to the updates server. Not the software itself.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Ragwing

  • Comodo's Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3498
Re: CPF 3.0.10.238 BETA 32-Bit Bug Reports
« Reply #88 on: October 30, 2007, 02:06:38 PM »
Ragwing was not clear on which unnecesary Win sevices he turned off as part of his debugging process, but I have been running my Win with minimum services for years.

I disabled all unnecessary PROCESSES, not SERVICES, but anwyays, here we go.

These were the only running processes:
alg.exe
svchost.exe
svchost.exe
svchost.exe
lsass.exe
services.exe
winlogon.exe
crss.exe
smss.exe
System
System Idle Process

A total of 11 processes.

I'll list all services that I have set to automatically running(which was running at the installation of CPF3).

Application Layer Gateway
Cryptographic
DCOM Server Process Launcher
DHCP Client
Distributed Link Tracking Client
DNS Client
Event log
IMAPI CD-Burning COM
Logical Disk Manager
Plug and Play
Protected Storage
Remote Procedure Call(RPC)
Security Accounts Manager
Shell Hardware Detection
System Event Notification
System Restore Service
Task Scheduler
Themes
Windows Audio
Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing(ICS)
Windows Management Instrumentation


Ragwing

Offline Surfer56

  • Comodo Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • Google
Some bugs in 3.0.10.238
« Reply #89 on: October 30, 2007, 02:25:23 PM »
I found very serious bug :
1) Some programms can access Internet over System Idle Process and COMODO doesn't asks about it. See Attachment #2
But it happens sometimes, I can't reproduse it.
2) Bug with updating - see attachment #1


PS Sorry for my English
PSS where I can find FAQ for new testers like me ? :)

[attachment deleted by admin]
A64 3000+ 939 Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
1024 Mb RAM
x700 256 Mb Pro Sapphire
200Gb ATA-100 Seagate
Win XP SP2 Pro Corporate 32-bit
---
50 cent & 2pac fan =)

 

Free Endpoint Protection
Seo4Smf 2.0 © SmfMod.Com Smf Destek