Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 18, 2008, 06:02:57 PM

Login with username, password and session length

212222 Posts
24530 Topics
57711 Members

Latest Member: b.emmerich1

Search:     Advanced search | Tag Cloud
+  Welcome to the Comodo Forum
|-+  Desktop Security Products
| |-+  Comodo Internet Security - CIS
| | |-+  Virus/Malware Removal Assistance
| | | |-+  Is this an infection? I have no clue [Resolved]
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Is this an infection? I have no clue [Resolved]  (Read 1088 times)
psych1610
Global Moderator
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 849



WWW
« on: July 10, 2007, 09:39:15 AM »

Hey everyone, I wake up this morning and check my email to find two emails from "wil_fred1995 [ at ] yahoo.fr", claiming to be Wilfred Coulibaly from West Africa. In short, he is asking me for money I believe, although nothing has occurred yet. I'm almost positive it's a scam. Anyway, the curious part of the email was this sentence:

I am a members of forums.comodo.com that is where i got your contact email address,I would like you to Please permit me to apply through this medium for your co-operation and  to secure an opportunity to invest and do joint relationship establishment with you in your country.

It was the same exact letter for both emails from the same person.

I just wonder how this email got"forums.comodo.com" in there. I'm sure you guys didn't give away my info. Could the system have been hacked?? haha I doubt it, you guys are a security firm after all. So my only other option is to believe a key logger?? or my browser was hacked?? I'm sure no one in my house could do this at all and no one else has access so how did it wind up with this url? I haven't been to any unusual sites lately, nor entered my email address anywhere weird.

I use Nod32 antivirus for now with comodo firewall and BOclean and run weekly checks with spybot and adaware se pro as well as the antivirus. All scans have come up negative!

Please help, I'm very worried and I'd hate to reformat. I'll spare everyone the entire email.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2007, 10:10:51 AM by Soya » Logged

Please read the Forum Policy below before posting: 

http://forums.comodo.com/new_member_information/forum_policy-t1516.0.html

If you can't abide by those guidelines, please don't post.
Soyabeaner
Global Moderator
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7455



« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2007, 09:41:03 AM »

I don't think it's an infection, but scam spam.  Please see this:
http://forums.comodo.com/general_discussion_off_topic_anything_and_everything/harvesting_comodo_for_email_addies-t10471.0.html
Logged
psych1610
Global Moderator
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 849



WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2007, 09:45:43 AM »

Ahhhh thanks so much Soya that explains it all. I'll hop right on over and make my email address private. So sorry to even waste your time.

Logged

Please read the Forum Policy below before posting: 

http://forums.comodo.com/new_member_information/forum_policy-t1516.0.html

If you can't abide by those guidelines, please don't post.
Soyabeaner
Global Moderator
Comodo's Hero
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7455



« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2007, 10:10:22 AM »

If you don't know there's bound to be others in the same situation.  This thread may at least let them know.  Case Closed Smiley.
Logged
Tags:
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

SSL Firewall
Page created in -0 seconds with 19 queries.
Powered by SMF 1.1.7 | SMF © 2006, Simple Machines LLC
Seo4Smf v0.2 © Webmaster's Talks
Design by 7dana.com