Author Topic: How do you uninstall Windows Firewall?  (Read 25732 times)

Offline ExecutorC3

• Comodo Loves me
How do you uninstall Windows Firewall?
« on: July 05, 2009, 05:20:07 AM »
I want to remove all traces of Windows Firewall in Vista and to have also permanently uninstall as well and Registry Keys and files.  :-TU Would like a easy removal tool.

« Last Edit: July 05, 2009, 10:36:45 PM by ExecutorC3 »

Offline LeoniAquila

• Retired moderator
  • Comodo's Hero
Re: How do you uninstall Windows Firewall?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2009, 04:20:20 PM »
I have no experience from Vista, but I can tell from XP, that you can't uninstall the Windows Firewall completely. You can however delete some very essential things. E.g. you can easily delete the GUI by deleting the Control Panel applet, in XP simply called firewall.cpl (in C:\WINDOWS\system32). You can also delete the Windows Firewall Background Service by typing sc delete [name of service] in the Command Prompt. In XP the service name is SharedAccess, so you would type sc delete SharedAccess.

I don't know how this apply to Vista but it might be worth checking. :)

Offline Ringman

• Comodo's Hero
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2009, 02:45:03 AM »
Easiest way is "Disable" it.

Toggie

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2009, 02:54:03 AM »
I agree with the other posters. It's far to tightly integrated to remove completely. I'd simply stop and disable the service and have done.

Offline ElsieBuck

« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2009, 01:51:52 PM »
I agree with the other posters. It's far to tightly integrated to remove completely. I'd simply stop and disable the service and have done.

How? I bring up the services window and see lots of stuff listed, but not "Windows FireWall"

I have Windows 7 on one machine and XP on 3 Other Machines